We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Pet-Friendly Inn”
Review of Lord Jeffery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lord Jeffery Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Amherst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Racine, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and Pet-Friendly Inn”
Reviewed September 30, 2006

I'm always looking for great places to stay when traveling solo with my dog and this place is wonderful. Right on the Common (a nice, dog-friendly park in the middle of the town of Amherst) even though the street traffic can be a bit busy. Perfect location for walking around Amherst (also quite pet-friendly) and checking out the local sights, like the Emily Dickenson Homestead - which is well worth a visit, even if dogs aren't allowed in. At the Lord Jeffrey Inn, our room was lovely and comfortable and on check-out, the hotel sales manager invited my dog into her office for a treat.

  • Liked — pet-friendliness in such a classic, well-appointed atmosphere
  • Disliked — parking
  • Tips/Secrets — ask at the shops you visit if your pet can come in with you - often they can
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanscotfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Guest Services at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2015
Thank you so much for your positive feedback about your stay. However, this review from 2006 contains information about our pet policy that no longer exists. Please be advised that we do not allow pets at the Inn. For more information, please visit our website.

Thank you!
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    83
    26
    11
    14
See reviews for
205
122
24
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 2, 2006

Had my wedding reception here last summer. No complaints on the Inn, rooms, or food. The food at the reception turned out way above our expections. But really disliked the upper management, specifically: innkeeper, wedding/event planner, and the financial director. Very poorly managed and unorganized. Think twice about having your reception here!! I have heard similar opinions from others as well.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
124 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2005

Traditional inn with all the pluses and maybe minuses for some folks that means.Great location,very pretty,near restaurants and shops and with its own good restaurant and also more informal "pub" on site.Food excellent.Clean and comfortable.Staff maybe could be a bit more friendly and just the hint that perhaps the wedding trade is what they really prefer here.Overall,I liked it and would stay again for a day or two and would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dongola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 4, 2005

While planning our trip to Amherst, I was a bit apprehensive about booking a room at the Lord Jeffery Inn, considering the comments I found on this website. However, I was in the area looking at colleges with my son, and the Lord Jeff was highly recommended by Amherst College, so I decided to take my chances. I am happy to say that I was nothing but pleased with our room, the staff, and our overall experience we had at this lovely New England Inn. Not only were the rooms darling, the restaurant was great, and the staff--both front desk and dining-- were so welcoming and helpful. I would return without question. Excellent place! Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2005

We have just returned from a weekend at the Lord Jeffery Inn. I would not recommend staying here because we felt unwelcomed by the staff. We were there for a wedding. The desk staff were callous and rude even to the point of harassing to the bride and groom, and their guests. One desk staff member even tried to harass the bride right before their ceremony started. They seemed unwilling (or unwanting) to accomodate their guests. They never greeted their guests with a good morning, good afternoon, or a good anything. Someone should tell them that they are in the hospitality business and that hospitality should always be extended to those visiting.

The Room itself felt old and dirty. Our's was on the 3rd floor, down a long hallway, next to the room that held the copier. Not very homey! Although the room was large, the air condition was not adequate for its size.

Public spaces were nice. There was a comfy seating area in the foyer. 4 white rocking chairs were placed on the porch lending a perfect respite after strolling the Amherst area. The outdoor tented area that the wedding reception was held in was quite beautiful. And thankfully, the catering staff was wonderful.

The Inn is located in a nice location of Amherst. The Saturday farmer's market was right across the street.

With some personnel changes and a few updates, the Lord Jeffery Inn would be a much better place to spend some time. Until then, Avoid it!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank jeffmylene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2005

Not a good place. Great Location and the possibilites of the buiding are great, but the carpet was so dirty you couldn't tell what color it was originally.

Small beds, small bathrooms. The breakfast was "New England" with maple syrup, especially all over the table. Not recommended.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank VillaSantAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2004

Good old Lord Jeff, we stayed recently and were sad to see the rooms at the Jeff looking so unloved. This inn should be the flagship of the Amherst College experience and needs an overhaul. The rooms are haphazard, shabby, worn and poorly decorated. Public spaces are better, but still sad. Staff is very good and generally things run smoothly.
The food is ok, but can be uneven. The inn is ideally located in downtown Amherst but resting comfortably on its over-rated laurels.

Helpful?
13 Thank Ginevre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
1.2 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
6.9 mi away
Hotel Northampton
Hotel Northampton
#2 of 5 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
7.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Jeffery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Jeffery Inn

Property: Lord Jeffery Inn
Address: 30 Boltwood Ave, Amherst, MA 01002-2344
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Jeffery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Amherst College campus, the historic Inn is completely renovated and offers modern amenities including wireless Internet and fitness center. Each room includes LCD HD TV & private baths. Local farm to table cuisine is featured at our full service 3 meal a day restaurant and bar. The Library, Rooftop Terrace & exterior Gardens offer unique settings for relaxing or socializing. Ample function space can accommodate 2 to 250. The Inn is dedicated to environmental sustainability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Lord Jeffery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Jeffery Hotel Amherst
Lord Jeffery Inn Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing