We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bridal shower”
Review of Lord Jeffery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lord Jeffery Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Amherst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“bridal shower”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We had my daughter's bridal shower here and I stayed at the Inn. Staff was very helpful, the sun room was beautiful and the Inn was clean and comfortable. We had vegetarian meals that were delicious and the service was incredible. It was like stepping back in time with modern conveniences. I would recommend the Lord Jeffrey Inn in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Claire,
Thank you for choosing The Lord Jeffery Inn to host your daughter’s special event! We’re honored that you selected the Inn as the location to host her special day, and are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience, start to finish. Best of luck with the rest of the wedding plans! Perhaps we’ll see you back in a few years for a baby shower?

Cheers,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    83
    27
    11
    14
See reviews for
208
122
24
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We were visiting Amherst as part of a college tour of Western New England. I chose the Lord Jeffrey for it's proximity to several colleges, and why not stay in a classic New England Inn when you are in New England. The Lord Jeffrey was a pleasant surprise. The common spaces are elegant and spacious. The lounge with a fire burning was the perfect place for a libation after several walkabouts around college's. I booked a suite thinking the teenage daughter and I would need some space as we spent our days together and we both agree we had more space than we needed! A lovely large bedroom, a very pleasant sitting area with two queen anne chairs by the large windows looking down on Amherst college from which I sipped coffee and watched the most beautiful sunrise in the morning. It was all we needed but we also had a small living room with sofa and television! The service was professional but friendly. We had two meals in the Boltwood Restaurant, a fast lunch and a leisurely dinner. Both were superb. Gourmet food beautifully presented, nothing ye olde inn about it. A great stay, and if all goes well, an inn I hope to return to again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosiesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you choosing to stay and dine with The Lord Jeffery Inn on your recent visit to Amherst. Fingers crossed that Amherst will stay on the top of the application list, and you’ll have the opportunity to visit us again over the next few years. We appreciate your positive remarks on our interiors, staff, and cuisine, and thank you for sharing those remarks with future travelers and college tour families.

Best of luck with the rest of the tours and the application process! We hope to see you again soon.

All our best,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
146 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Or maybe the only place…in this small town.
An amazing inn with all the accommodations,a classy atmosphere and warm friendly staff.
Next to Amherst campus.Your top choice if you are visiting the college.
Free wifi.Great common room.Enjoy a coffee and read your newspaper next to the fireplace.
I loved it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IoaMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
“The place to stay,” with a bold “THE.” We love to hear this, and that you enjoyed everything about your stay! Isn’t the library a great space for coffee and the paper? On any given Saturday morning, you can walk into the library and have all the seats full, but still remain so quiet! We happy to see our guests enjoy all the different spaces the Inn has to offer to them.

Thank you again for all of your remarks; we look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to the area.

Cheers,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This Inn has a classic feel and right on the campus on Amherst College. Everyone was warm and friendly. It had a few too many antiques for my teenager's taste, but I found it very comfortable. Breakfast was a little more involved then I would have liked and the coffee in the lobby, while a nice touch, was cold. That and an unannounced visit from housekeeping took our review down a notch, but otherwise this is a lovely place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathymommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Kathy,
Thank you for your positive remarks on our interiors, as well as for your constructive feedback regarding your experience during your stay. We appreciate your commentary, as feedback such as yours helps us pinpoint areas that may need improvement. We’ll be sure to review our procedures and practices with our front desk and housekeeping teams to be sure we are giving our guests the best service possible.

Thank you for visiting The Lord Jeffery Inn. We look forward to serving you again in the future (this time with hot coffee!).

Cheers,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
213 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This hotel is adjacent to Amherst college, and is a beautiful brick Federal-style building. All the employees were extremely friendly. Room was small but lovely, with a large comfy bed, free wifi, huge shower in the very updated and clean bathroom. The furnishings in the public areas and in the room looked quite updated and fresh. There is a huge outdoor fireplace in a courtyard on the back side of the hotel...I did not see it at night so not sure if they have it going in winter or only in spring/fall.

Because the building is old and rambling a bit, my room on the 3rd floor required an elevator ride and then 3 steps down followed immediately by 5 steps up! Kind of weird, but something to ask about if you have mobility issues.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jd068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for staying with The Lord Jeffery Inn on your last visit to Amherst, and for leaving a review for future travelers. We appreciate your positive remarks on our interiors. As an Inn that was built in 1926, we have many of the unique qualities being a historic inn. One of which is that each of our rooms has distinct characteristics. No two rooms are alike, some having unexpected stair cases like the room you reference in your review. Upon your next visit, please feel free to talk future with our front desk agents, who will be more than happy to personally assist you and your guests in finding the right room that can satisfy all of your needs.

We will look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

It was snowing when we arrived and the fireplaces were going at this charming, plush inn. The energy-efficient inn was just that, all rooms climate controlled individually which included also classy recycle bins. The inns gym was clean and spacious. Dining at the inns restaurant, 30 Boltwood was a complete gourmet experience. The extensive cocktail menu is also not to be missed with the windows looking out to the picturesque town square, to which the inn is walking distance to downtown. The staff was gracious and very accommodating. With my AAA this was a reasonably priced stay for someone like myself on a part-time budget. Look forward to my visit again next month.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lpvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your complimentary remarks on our interiors and cuisine. We are very proud of our Silver LEED Certification, making the Inn one of only two properties in Massachusetts to receive this level of recognition. Thank you for noticing! We also look forward to your next visit.

See you soon.

Best,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I had long wanted to stay at the Lord Jeffrey inn and I was not disappointed in any way! We were in Room 316 a queen suite and what a charming spot to spend 3 nights. Fireplace, cozy sitting room and bedroom and a lovely bathroom. The staff were outstanding in the inn and in their restaurant 30 Boltwood. Thanks to Andrew and Alenjandro for wonderful dinner service. The food at the inn is outstanding: creative and delicious! Not a negative thing about our entire stay; highly recommend; and can't wait to return. Better than ever imagined,

Room Tip: The queen suite in 316 is cozy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bagwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your complimentary review of our interiors, service staff, and cuisine! We will be sure to pass your positive remarks on to the staff that you mentioned, as well as share with our Executive Chef. Thank you for staying and dining with us – as well as for the recommendations to future travelers. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. We will look forward to the next one!

Cheers,

Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
1.2 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
455 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
168 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
6.9 mi away
Hotel Northampton
Hotel Northampton
#2 of 5 in Northampton
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Jeffery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Jeffery Inn

Property: Lord Jeffery Inn
Address: 30 Boltwood Ave, Amherst, MA 01002-2344
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Jeffery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Amherst College campus, the historic Inn is completely renovated and offers modern amenities including wireless Internet and fitness center. Each room includes LCD HD TV & private baths. Local farm to table cuisine is featured at our full service 3 meal a day restaurant and bar. The Library, Rooftop Terrace & exterior Gardens offer unique settings for relaxing or socializing. Ample function space can accommodate 2 to 250. The Inn is dedicated to environmental sustainability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Lord Jeffery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Jeffery Hotel Amherst
Lord Jeffery Inn Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing