We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good service”
Review of Lord Jeffery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lord Jeffery Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Amherst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We spent a recent weekend at Lord Jeffery's Inn. It's perfectly located and we were able to walk to most of the "town of Amherst." We had a double suite, which was beautifully done with traditional furniture, comfortable beds, and a big bathroom / shower. The staff was friendly and the one time we called housekeeping, they were incredibly prompt.

The multiple fireplaces in the public areas gave a warm touch, literally and figuratively, to these areas.

We're hoping to come back in the fall!

Room Tip: Second floor double suite had a great view to the roofdeck and fireplace as well as an open common...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vsm321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for choosing the stay at The Lord Jeffery Inn during your most recent visit to Amherst. We also thank you for your feedback regarding your stay, and sharing “insider” travel tips with our future guests.

We look forward to your next visit this fall – it is the best time to be in New England!

Cheers,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 508 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed here two nights in January 2013. The room was nicely appointed, the staff very friendly and helpful, and my two meals (breakfasts) were excellent. The location was ideal for exploring the town of Amherst or Amherst College.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Lord Jeffery Inn during your most recent visit to the area. I hope that you were able to enjoy one of our many fire places and cozy common areas during this very frigid January. We hope to see you again on your next visit, when you’ll be able to experience all that the Inn has to offer!

Best,
Amanda Malone
Catering Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Recently I have been traveling to the Northampton/Amherst area for business and am delighted to have found the Jeff. It is well located and a fantastic property. I look forward to many more stays here for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaltaireGlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

I’m so glad to read your complimentary review of The Lord Jeffery Inn, and to hear that you are looking forward to staying with us again in the near future. Thank you for choosing The Lord Jeffery Inn.

See you again soon!

Best,
Amanda Malone
Catering Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Although I was only in town for one night I am so glad I spent it at the Lord Jeff! Everything has been beautifully renovated but still kept in the style of the original inn which has a perfect central location adjacent to the Amherst campus. There is a large room off the lobby with a roaring fire and the New York Times, and a friendly and helpful staff. While the restaurant is pricey - I wandered in after a long day to find a delightful women behind the bar who mixed the perfect amount of a tarragon-pear syrup into my Prosecco. She was wonderfully attentive with just the right amount of chattiness!

My room was lovely, had a gas fireplace, a view and a large bath. All was sparkling clean! The mattress was one of the best I have ever slept on!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Lord Jeffery Inn on your most recent visit to Amherst, and for your favorable review. I am happy to hear that you are pleased with our renovations. I hope that next time you visit the Inn, it will be for pleasure instead of business, and that you’ll be able to enjoy the luxurious bedding for longer that one night.

Victoria, whom you met, and our “mixologist” you could call her, is amazing at pouring the perfect cocktail for our guests that seems to match exactly what they are in the mood for. Her specialty drink menu changes regularly and you can always find infused liquors with the most unique flavors.

We look forward to accommodating you again soon.

Best,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Had a great stay at the Lord Jeffery. The staff was super helpful and overall awesome. My room was really unique and I really loved the terrazzo floors, white porcelain and shiny metal fixtures in the bathroom. I would love to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MR_Smith_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

We also would love for you to stay longer – next time! Thank you for choosing to stay at the Lord Jeffery Inn, and for your positive feedback on your recent visit. We agree that the fall is a great time to be in New England, and especially at the Inn. Warm cider or cocktails in front of 30Boltwood’s fireplace lounge? We hope you were able to enjoy that too!

Cheers,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I loved our room and didn't want to leave. The bed was comfortable and bathroom large. It was cold upon arrival but heated up quickly, in December. I thought it was a very good value for the room and location, right by the middle of downtown Amherst.

Room Tip: I always ask for a quiet room, away from elevators, ice machines and children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winziggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We recently stayed at the Lord Jeffrey Inn over the New Year's long weekend and had a great time. The renovation includes hard floors throughout, tasteful contemporary decor with quality bed linens, and a great restaurant/ bar. Many of the rooms have working gas fireplaces.The staff is extremely helpful and pleasant. Any request was met with a smile - including my request to switch rooms which included a viewing of two new rooms from which to choose. We also enjoyed the library with fireplace and the other fireplace/ seating nooks to read and enjoy cocktails and appetizers from the restaurant. On top of it, the inn offers great weekday Triple A rates that made the visit a real value.

Room Tip: We switched to a third floor room. While it did have a sloping ceiling, it did not hamper our stay a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanBrookline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
1.3 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
476 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
6.9 mi away
Hotel Northampton
Hotel Northampton
#2 of 4 in Northampton
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
925 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Jeffery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Jeffery Inn

Address: 30 Boltwood Ave, Amherst, MA 01002-2344
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price Range: $174 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Jeffery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Amherst College campus, the historic Inn is completely updated to offer modern amenities including wireless Internet and fitness center. Each room includes LCD HD TV & private baths. Local farm-to-table cuisine is featured at our full service 3 meal a day restaurant and bar, 30Boltwood. The library, rooftop terrace and exterior gardens offer unique settings for relaxing or socializing. Ample function space can accommodate 2 to 200. The Inn is dedicated to environmental sustainability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Lord Jeffery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Jeffery Hotel Amherst
Lord Jeffery Inn Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing