We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lodging experience in Amherst, MA”
Review of Lord Jeffery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lord Jeffery Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Amherst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I did a spur of the moment trip to Amherst, MA, and walked into the LJI. I thought the place was great. Convenient to everything downtown, Amherst College, classic rooms, ethos of service... couldn't say enough good things about the Inn.

Room Tip: Room 311 is a funky but traditional (multi room) room... great for a couple. (TV could be a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcgonaglej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whgecomm, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Spur of the moment trips always turn out to be the best kind - and we're thrilled that you selected The Lord Jeffery Inn for your stay! Amherst is a great location for a weekend getaway, rich with dining options, culture, and things to do. Thank you again for visiting, and for your insider tips to other travelers who might be joining us.

Best,

Amanda Malone
Catering Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 494 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

The location is great. The fact that they have parking is a wonderful thing.

The property is historic, but it has been rennovated to have standard hotel rooms. So, it's more of a small-ish hotel than an Inn.

We had the King room - and it was quite nice. The bathroom was large. The eco lighting system was funky. Our lights went off with no warning, even though our key card was in the little slot to signal that we were home and the lights should be working. The a/c went off in the middle of the night, again - not sure what that was about, because we had the key card in the slot. Those are just really minor blips, so no big deal.

The bed was ok. Not super comfortable, but not awful.

The noise is a problem. Every single step or sound from the room above us was heard - LOUDLY - in our room. I could hear the drawers to the dresser being opened and closed above us. I was up until 1:30am - because the people upstairs were up, and walking around. It reminded me of my first apartment, with the elephants upstairs.

The staff was excellent, and felt my pain. I would probably try a different place for our next visit. For the price of the room ($220/night), I think we could still stay in town at a different Inn.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor if noise bothers you. A fireplace conducts noise between rooms, so I would opt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMWDEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whgecomm, General Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear JMWDEL – Thank you for choosing to stay at the Inn during your most recent visit. We very much appreciate you taking the time to provide such constructive feedback and I personally appreciate the kind words you had regarding the service provided by our staff.

The expectation we set for ourselves is that each guest who stays at the Inn, be provided a seamless and flawless experience. I would like to personally apologize for the challenges you encountered with your room during you visit. Please feel free to drop us a line to let us know what room you stayed in so we can have our maintenance team evaluate the Entergize System in order to make sure it is working properly.

Should you find yourself returning to Amherst, and would like to stay at the Inn, please feel free to reach out to me directly. I would be more than happy to assist you in choosing accommodations that you will find more to your liking. Again, thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Robert Reeves
General Manager
The Lord Jeffery Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Lord Jeffery sits in the middle of Amherst just off the common and aside the campus of Amherst College. Recently renovated, the LJ feels like a luxury inn w/ a lovely outdoor space w/ an open fire, and inside a relaxing, soothing oasis of charm and upscale hospitality.

Our room was light, bright and very comfortable. Service was attentive, and although not the low cost provider in the area, we've been able to negotiate very fair rates. Parking is easy, the location is perfect, the bathrooms are elegant w/ perfect lighting, and we felt very well taken care of. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbie_Vorhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whgecomm, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you for visiting The Lord Jeffery Inn, Mr. Vorhaus. We're pleased to hear your positive feedback regarding our renovations and your recent stay with us. We hope that you'll have the opportunity to visit us again soon!

Best,

Amanda Malone
Catering Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

If you are in Amherst to drop a child at college, your first option is to stay at the Lord Jeffreys for convenience. Now although this hotel is reasonably priced for its location, it does not live up to the expectation for personal service and charm that you would expect from a New England Inn. The rooms are smallish though tastefully decorated and the bathrooms are really embarrassingly small. Housekeeping does not do a thorough cleaning job, and the restaurant is pretentious and overpriced. Having said so, there is really nothing majorly wrong with this place. There is just a missing spirit which renders bland and dull what could otherwise be a very memorable experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the sun rooms with double beds for some extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nino r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whgecomm, General Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Dear Nino,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Amherst and for providing a personal review of your experience. I am always very appreciative of the guest who takes the time to share their constructive feedback. Guest comments such as yours are instrumental in helping us to constantly improve our service and accommodations as we make every effort to provide the best possible experience to all of our guests.

I was disappointed to read that the interactions you had with our staff fell short of your expectations. Providing personal, engaging and exact services are just some of things we take a tremendous amount of pride in here at The Jeff. While we recognize the inner beauty of the Inn since our renovation, we do fully understand that it is the staff that provides the heart and soul to the building. I can say with great pride that the team has done an exceptional job in meeting this expectation since our reopening, as witness by prior reviews, but unfortunately we failed to do so for you and your family during your stay. For that, I am sincerely apologetic. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if there are additional issues you would like to discuss with me personally.

We do recognize that one of the unique features about being an historic inn is that each room is distinct in its offerings. No two rooms are alike and while some of our accommodations do have smaller bathrooms, there are other room types within the Inn that do offer larger, more spacious accommodations. Should you find yourself returning in the future to visit your child and you wish to stay with us again, please feel free to contact me directly before making your reservation and I will personally assist in finding the right room that can satisfy all your needs.

Again, thank you for your review and I hope to see you again during your next visit to Amherst.

Sincerely,

Robert Reeves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We recently had our wedding reception and rehearsal dinner at the Lord Jeffery Inn and both were exquisite. We booked the Inn because we loved the character of the New England Inn. The staff (Chef Dino, Jeff, Amanda, Jennifer, Rachel, Stephen) were wonderful and could not have been more lovely and wonderful to work with. They tended to our every need and made sure our wedding reception was perfect, which it was! Our guest room that night had champagne and chocolate covered strawberries for us, the perfect way to end our wedding day. Housekeeping even came in and refreshed the room for us after the bridal party got ready in the room. Our guests are RAVING about the beauty, food, and staff. Everything from the food, staff, rooms was wonderful!
BRIDES: If you want a stress free, exquisite, stunning wedding reception venue do not look anywhere else. From the beauty of the historic Inn, to the amazing staff, to the delicious food you could not ask for more or find a better place. THIS IS THE PLACE FOR A WEDDING!

Room Tip: We stayed in the double double on the ground floor, the room has a wonderful view of the property an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tekla83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Called for reservations, the staff provided the best possible pricing options and selections which allowed me to select the best room/rate combination to suit my needs.

Upon arrival the staff was very helpful and ensured that all our needs were met, exceeding our expectations both with the accomodations and service. Stephen was extremely helpful and we can't praise him enough. The rest of the staff were equally skilled and will make sure you are completely satisfied with your stay.

Since the Inn was recently remodeled, the entire site is immaculate. It's conveniently located next to downtown Amherst and only a block from Amherst College.

We had planned on staying for one night while visiting Amherst College. We liked it so much we stayed for two!

Room Tip: The rooms that have a sun room are especially nice, with views of the patio and garden behind the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gman1868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whgecomm, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thank you for your great feedback on your experience with The Lord Jeffery Inn, and thank you for choosing to stay with us! We'll be sure to pass on your praise to Stephen and the rest of the team.

We're happy to hear that you are pleased with all the renovations; during the planning process, we knew that we wanted to stay true to our historical roots (the Inn was built in 1926) but also offer the modern luxury that today's visitors seek!

We hope that you'll stay with us on your next visit to Amherst College!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the hotel while visiting area colleges. The renovations to the Inn are well very well done, maintaining the character of a New England Inn while adding all of the amenities. The room and the bathroom are very tasteful and spacious. Parking was just behind the Inn, though walking through the Inn is a bit of a maze. The restaurant was a surprise in that it was very modern in a traditional space, with a seasonal and upscale menu. Overall, the service was very good. The very friendly front desk staff showed us how to get to the schools, as well as the best places to eat and shop. Amherst is a charming town and staying at the Lord Jeffrey made it even nicer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAK1040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whgecomm, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Lord Jeffery Inn during your visit to the area's schools. We hope that she has her sights set on Amherst so you'll be able to visit us more frequently over the next four years! 30Boltwood's menu is constantly changing with seasonal flavor; we're happy you had an opportunity to experience it. With so much to see and do in this area, each family weekend will be unique.

Best of luck to you and your daughter with her school search!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
1.3 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
471 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Northampton
Hotel Northampton
#2 of 5 in Northampton
443 reviews
7.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Jeffery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Jeffery Inn

Address: 30 Boltwood Ave, Amherst, MA 01002-2344
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price Range: $172 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Jeffery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Amherst College campus, the historic Inn is completely renovated and offers modern amenities including wireless Internet and fitness center. Each room includes LCD HD TV & private baths. Local farm to table cuisine is featured at our full service 3 meal a day restaurant and bar. The Library, Rooftop Terrace & exterior Gardens offer unique settings for relaxing or socializing. Ample function space can accommodate 2 to 250. The Inn is dedicated to environmental sustainability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lord Jeffery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Jeffery Hotel Amherst
Lord Jeffery Inn Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing