We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than expected”

Emily Dickinson Museum
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Open for tours from March to mid-December, the birthplace of Emily Dickinson is registered as a National Historic Landmark.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Much more than expected”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

At first glance at the small house I had not the highest expectations, but the life of Emily Dickinson was much more interesting than I expected. Type guide really added a lot of life to the tour. Felt as if I know more about Emily Dickinson and life in that Era. As well as opened me to the poetry that was created by Emily Dickinson. Tour was a little under two hours. Cute, modest, and week worth the time.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    48
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vonore, Tennessee
Level Contributor
875 reviews
512 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 998 helpful votes
“The docents are extraordinary”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Yes, it's interesting to see the home and grounds where Emily Dickinson lived and wrote. We especially look forward to the restoration of her bedroom. It was some what interesting to see her brother's home next door (although it's pretty decrepit and it's musty smell was problematic for a young girl on the tour). But the real draw is the tour discussion--with a very knowledgable and enthusiastic guide who combines ED's life story with her writings. We had Casey, but I understand from others that the guides in general are all great.

There are a couple of handicapped parking spaces right at the house. There are few steps and there are plenty of opportunities to sit while listening.

Don't miss the displays of the "main characters" in the admission office. We did not have time for the audio tour of the grounds, but we intend to return another time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Torte_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Why Else Visit Amherst?”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

This trip was my second visit to Amherst, and each time I went it was with the specific purpose of visiting Dickinson's home. This most recent visit was phenomenal! Our guide was so informative. She really knew her stuff. I believe she said she was a retired dean from Amherst College.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TNixon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ronkonkoma, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Poetic Exploration”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

A trip to Amherst would not be complete without a visit to the Homestead and Evergreens. These two homes are staffed by tour guides who help you explore and understand the life of Emily Dickinson. The guides are knowledgeable and use quotes from Miss Dickinson's letters and poems to help the visitor appreciate the impact the homes had on her life.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niantic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A lovely morning with Emily”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

After too long a delay in visiting a favorite poet's birthplace, this retired English teacher and her obliging husband arrived yesterday in Amherst for a tour of the home of Emily Dickinson, now a museum. What a rewarding morning it was! Our very knowledgeable guide Jane willingly and graciously provided us with insight into this enigmatic woman's relationships, family and friends. Skillfully reading from selected poems, Jane helped to "flesh"out the elusive Miss Dickinson.
Emily's signature white morning dress, on display just outside her bedroom, indicated her tiny physical stature, but could never foreshadow her gigantic place in the world of poetry. This museum is a must-see in the charming college town of Amherst.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yankeefans95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emily Dickinson Museum also viewed

 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 

Been to Emily Dickinson Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing