We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great museum in a great town”

Emily Dickinson Museum
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Open for tours from March to mid-December, the birthplace of Emily Dickinson is registered as a National Historic Landmark.
East Granby, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great museum in a great town”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

After wanting to go here for a while, my boyfriend and I absolutely loved the tour. It was very interesting and their tour guides are excellent. The price was very cheap and they have a charming little gift store as well. We were able to make it to the garden unfortunately, but I would love to go back and explore the town a little as well.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jvancour93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    50
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good history tour”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

If you are an Emily D. fan, don't miss the museum. I took the 90 minute tour, and there really isn't 90 minutes to see. However, our guide was truly passionate about Emily and her work, reciting appropriate poetry as if it were his own. Don't expect super-polished restoration in the brother's house -- it's more like you are sneaking into an old, boarded up mansion down as a kid -- but you will love the stories and intrigues of the family

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dickenson comes alive”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I was amazed at how much is preserved from Emily Dickinson's house and her brother Austin's house next door. But the real attractions are the very knowledgeable guides who give the tours. Marianne Wald led our tour and she not only quoted Dickinson's poetry at length, she quoted her letters at length. There's a great demonstration of how Dickinson composed her poetry, her word choices, her odd punctuation, etc. Although she lived from 1830-1886 her poetry was very modern for its time. And because she was a mysterious and reclusive person, naturally, you want to know more about her. I loved seeing her white "house dress," the simple dress she'd wear even to garden. White, because it was easy to boil/wash--there were no colors to run. Go for a visit because it's fascinating.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Roz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monson, MA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Emily Dickinson Museum: A Genuine Visit to the Poet's Life”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

For insight into Emily Dickinson's life and times, a tour through the home where she lived many years is invaluable. Tour guides are very interesting and knowledgeable. Seeing Emily's white dress alone is worth the trip - she was very tiny. Walking in her garden is a good experience that you will relive when you re-read her garden poems. I have been four times, usually with visitors or friends, and have always discovered new and enlightening things about Emily's life and family.

Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely Historic Home”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The tour was relaxed and informative. It gave a lot of insight about the poet who happens to be one of my favorites. Amazing to go into her actual bedroom with the furniture intact to see where she did so much of her writing. Great info about the family history and dynamics and how her work was eventually published. Would highly recommend.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank peggydill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emily Dickinson Museum also viewed

 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 

Been to Emily Dickinson Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing