We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST Wings!”
Review of Hangar Pub & Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hangar Pub & Grill
Ranked #28 of 115 Restaurants in Amherst
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“The BEST Wings!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Whenever we visit Amherst we always stop at the Hangar for their wings as they are the best! We prefer the boneless honey BBQ version and some BBC tall beers to go with it! The place is definitely a pub style restaurant and is very noisy and crowded but absolutely worth it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank account4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    38
    12
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great wings and ribs and brews!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

You don't go here for heart healthy food! You don't go here for a quiet romantic dinner! But if you are in the market for a big plate of cheese fries, for a nice rack of ribs or for chicken wings done well then you have found the right place. There is also an extensive selection of beers on tap.
As other reviewers have pointed out it is a relatively small space and can get a bit noisy on a Friday night but hey it didn't bother me and my son at all. Enjoy

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Panowizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Greasy, loud and crowded”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a place to go if you want to yell to be heard by those you are sitting with, be jammed in with lots of others sliding greasy wings down their throat and to coat your own arteries with a menu of fried food options. Often a long wait. Choices are limited. If you want to drink a lot and not have much conversation as well as have terrible food, this place is for you.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NancyW856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belchertown, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best wings around”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I used to frequent the Hangar on a regular basis due to their amazing wings. But this is more of a college hang out so the atmosphere tends to be a little more rowdy than me and wife care for anymore.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athol, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent pub food”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I've been going to this place for years. The food is always the same-great. Their specialty is wings but their ribs are too die for also. It's a typical sports bar and can get noisy and crowded. They also serve many different types of beer at reasonable prices. Buffalo wings are served in your choice of 5 different heats. I eat the medium ones and they might be considered really hot anywhere else. They also have many different choices on the wing and rib sauces. The skins are also great. The waitresses are friendly. It's located on (or adjacent to) the UMASS Amherst campus.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank apagnotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hangar Pub & Grill also viewed

Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 

Been to Hangar Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing