We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a few places to Zorb in the USA!”

New England Sports Park
Ranked #3 of 14 things to do in Amesbury
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The New England Sports Park is a place like no other. The park boasts the steepest and fastest snow tubing hill in New England and offers 6 lanes for snow tubing. There are currently 400 tubes that can be operated when the park is at full capacity. Two lifts service the hill - a conveyor belt lift that guests stand on and an old fashioned handle tow lift that allows riders to sit in their tube as they are pulled up to the top of the hill. Once at the top of the hill, guests are permitted to link up in groups and slide down together or ride solo. There is an onsite restaurant and bar (Crossbar Pub) which offers traditional pub fare including pizza, burgers, salads, appetizers, hot chocolate, cold beer and more. Looking for something fun to do with the kids during New Hampshire February school vacation week? The Amesbury Sports park has discounts and deals for winter fun! Military personnel get FREE snow tubing admissions with valid ID. The park features artificial turf fields which can be used for soccer, rugby, lacrosse, football, field hockey, and cricket. There is a full service function hall onsite. The private function room can accommodate up to 150 guests, or the entire facility itself can be rented for private outings. Relay races and obstacle course packages are available for team building outings, and snow tubing birthday party packages are offered for kids. Offsite catering is available to fit any budget.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This review describes my Zorbing experience at Amesbury Sports Park, MA.

Zorbing had been on my bucket list for about 5 years. We were finally travelling to a place that had a place to Zorb during the right time of the year -- Amesbury Sports Park, MA!

We turned up for opening time on a weekday in September. After paying $20 and signing the paperwork in the restaurant, you get your ticket to Zorb.

You then stand on a moving uphill walkway for what seems like forever in order to get to the top of the hill. (You're not allowed to 'walk' on the walkway, just stand). At the top, they instruct you to take off your shoes, which you place in a bag (The shoes then magically get transported to the bottom of the hill for when you arrive!).

After strapping you in (around the ankles, over the shoulders and around the middle), they open the gate and the Zorb sets in motion!

You hang on to handles over your head and go over and over approx. 20 times down the grassy track. There was a very 'g-force' feeling, so if you don't like roller-coasters, you probably won't like this!

At the bottom, you get out and put on your shoes and that's it! (You can pay for another turn, but I took a 'We'll see what it's like' approach and once was enough for me!)

I enjoyed it, but I think they could have made SO MUCH MORE out of it as far as marketing opportunities. It would be really great if they sold you a photo, video or T-shirt of the Zorbing experience. It was dead quiet when we went and the whole experience was a bit lack-luster and
anti-climatic.The staff also seemed a bit 'over it'. However, it was a nice facility and I felt safe during the experience.

If you found this review helpful, please click 'yes'.

Date of experience: September 2013
15  Thank lwew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"time slot"
in 2 reviews
"school vacation"
in 2 reviews
"snow tubing"
in 9 reviews
"whole family"
in 2 reviews
"few hours"
in 2 reviews
"tubes"
in 3 reviews
"blast"
in 5 reviews
"fun"
in 15 reviews
"windy"
in 2 reviews
Filter

20 - 24 of 42 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

Water tubing and crazy giant water balls attracted 4 boys, ages 12-16. It was a perfect place to take them on a hot day! They enjoyed making a tubing train, which helped them go faster! Of course they loved the giant water ball and would have taken multiple rides had the cost been a little more reasonable. We will also come back for winter tubing. A great area attraction!

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank Explorer599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This park has nice man made runs to tube down. It's a good place to go when the kids are bored especially on school vacations. They also tow you back up the hill which is a major bonus!

1  Thank Theresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We tried to go on February vacation (mistake!). An hour after the park opened we were put on a waiting list and told we could eat in the restaurant upstairs. Upstairs was mayhem with no place to sit and completely overcrowded! I'm sure this place is fun when it's not vacation but I would definitely stay away on vacation week. A complete bust!

4  Thank Bonblev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merry12343, Manager at New England Sports Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. MA school vacation week is our busiest time of the year, and we do our best to communicate wait times and peak times clearly to our guests. When the hill is at capacity, we invite guests to come inside so they don't have to wait in the cold. Typically, the quietest times to enjoy the Park are after 4 pm during holidays or vacation weeks, or during non vacation weeks - Thursdays and Fridays. Also weekend peak times are typically mid day, so first thing in the morning or after 4 pm are typically quietest. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The staff was friendly and the tubing hill was well-tended and fun, but the management during vacation week was problematic. Within an hour of opening, the park was extremely crowded. They tried to manage the crowds as well as possible, but by the time they temporarily halted admitting people , it was already out of control. Additionally, it took almost an hour before all the lanes were open and both lifts were running. They did offer an additional hour to everyone's admission ticket, but unfortunately, we couldn't take advantage of that. With small children, waiting 35 min in line for each run is just not reasonable. We ended up spending 48 dollars for two people to take 4 runs, spread over 2 hours. Disappointing.

I understand that this is a very busy week, but that is also expected during school vacation weeks. Planning and management probably should have planned for this better.

Date of experience: February 2013
3  Thank Fferffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merry12343, Manager at New England Sports Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our staff and tubing hill. We experienced record breaking attendance this week, which was far beyond any reasonable projections we could have made. We called in extra staff to respond to the demand and reacted as quickly as possible. We hope that you will return to visit another time and can experience our Park when we are not at full capacity. Our team is considering your comments as we strive for 100% guest satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New England Sports Park also viewed

 

Been to New England Sports Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing