We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a favorite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barking Dog Bar & Grill

Barking Dog Bar & Grill
Ranked #10 of 47 Restaurants in Amesbury
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always a favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

This is our go-to restaurant in town. We are usually able to get a seat quickly. The food is good, prices are good, service is good, drinks are always changing on the martini menu. You can be very satisfied with appetizers and a salad or go for a full dinner selection. Nice variety on the menu.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gonefishing2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    37
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
83 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We got off I95 to find a place to eat and ended up here after the place we were seeking was closed for lunch. We expected a bar with mediocre food and found that nothing could be farther from the truth. A bar it is, but the food is far from mediocre. It is freshly prepared and the menu is fairly extensive. The chicken salad sandwich was superb as was the portebello mushroom sandwich. The cost is very reasonable for the quality. Less than $9 for each sandwich.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RadarGuyCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great local pub and dining with local fare and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

A really fun and family friendly pub and restaurant, I highly recommend the Barking Dog. They have a very good pub and dining menu at reasonable prices! I love the staff here! They are friendly, attentive and terrific! This place is also central to beautiful downtown Amesbury attractions and shops. Really a great little place to stop in for a yummy meal and relax!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyReeding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
148 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“VERY DISAPPOINTING”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We have gone to the Ale House, a sister company, many times and love it and saw that The Barking Dog was rated well on Tripadvisor so we decided to try it. What a major disappointment. Upon entering it was east to see that this place is dirty- way too much dust and unswept floors.
The waitress, who was also the bar tender was wonderful, helpful and friendly. The luncheon menu was limited. The BLT was thrown together with the skimy ingredients all on one half of the sandwich.
I would consider this more of a bar than a pub or restaurant . It can not hold it's own against the Ale House. I will stick to the Ale House in the future.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Drakesisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atkinson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Over priced for a Bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

My wife drags me there for her favorite meatloaf, but I have gone through the menu that has 1/3 of the items listed as "new" after going for a year. I've pretty much given up. They claim to have a wide selection of Martinis but they charge $11 for them! and the bar has failed in the last three visits to be able to make the wife a French Martini. Stick to something from the Tap if you go. Maybe burgers are a safe bet. never tried them. There's got to be better dining in Amesbury

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodieNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barking Dog Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Barking Dog Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing