We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice a bit noisy”

Barking Dog Bar & Grill
Ranked #11 of 47 Restaurants in Amesbury
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good choice a bit noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Came here with husband sister in law and nephew on a Thursday night. This is rather noisy if you want some peace. But good food huge portions including desserts. Service was rather slow but they have a large menu choice and an extensive dessert menu surprisingly. Would come again definitely.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosettastone57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    37
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great pub grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We frequent this establishment, for good reason. The food is well prepared and delicious. It's a great place or families as they have favorites for my son, corn dogs, fries and the like. Their sandwiches are great, the mac and cheese, everything I've ever had there has been super.

I did have one occasion to go a couple of weeks ago and had a new server. He wasn't at all friendly or good at what he does. Fortunately, the food was superb as usual. I hope not to have him again, as he was rude and inefficient.

We will keep going back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
176 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good solid family fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Affordable, well prepared, delicious American fare is what you will find here in a nice, family atmosphere. Enjoy!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ragtop_rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
106 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Bad food. No atmosphere.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

If you're just looking for a quick beer and a sandwich, I guess it's not that bad, but the food is pretty boring and lacking in flavor.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Food-Nature-Culture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The local restaurant that I bring guests to when I want to enaure they get a delicious meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

We discovered the Barking Dog a few months ago and have been there at least a half dozen times. So far we have brought 3 different couples with us on different occassions and all were equally as happy with the selection, food quality and service. This has included a culinary instructor and a restaurant GM, who have returned themselves. The shrimp app is something different and tasty; I am always happy with the haddock and beef selections; and the cinnamon bun sundae is fantastic! The beer selection is good (they even have Chimay on tap which is unusual) and they have fun drink specials all the time (loved the peep martini at Easter). Get the sangria sampler if they have it! I am always happy with the service!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanna1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barking Dog Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Barking Dog Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing