We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PHENOMINAL CATS”
Review of Phat Cats Bistro

Phat Cats Bistro
Ranked #3 of 47 Restaurants in Amesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: A unique brick building w/tin ceilings set within a neighborhood. Formerly an appliance store, there is a cut out in the wood floors where the lift use to be to bring items up from or down to the basement.
Salem, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“PHENOMINAL CATS”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Heard about Phat Cats from some friends. We tried to make a reservation but they were booked, but since there are so many restaurants in Amesbury, we showed up to see if we could get in, and luckily they squeezed us into a cozy little corner. The wait staff is top notch, very friendly. It has a dual vibe, which is very cool... depending where you sit. It can be quaint and cozy in the front of the restaurant, yet open and fun in the middle toward the bar. EVERYTHING from the wine to the dessert was AMAZING! The freshest ingredients combined in such eclectic pairings left my husband and I wanting to order more, just to try something else. After drinks, apps, dinner and dessert... we still ordered a "Mac and cheese" to go... because we had heard it was the best around..... this is no lie, holy moly CRAZY GOOD! Again another review I hate to write, for fear of never getting a seat again... but this place has it all, the food, drinks, staff, atmosphere.... (super clean to boot) with a VERY reasonable price tag surprisingly!!!!! Can't wait to go back :) LOVED IT!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2theT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    17
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Point Arena, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Long time lovers of Phat Cats Bistro!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Paul and Christine's hard work and dedication have made their restaurant hands down the best in the area! They consistently give their all to great fresh food, drinks and desserts! Not many restaurants where the owners attention to quality control is done so well! If you want something special, have a dietary requirement, or just want to tweak/change an item on the menu, let them know and with a friendly attitude they usually do special requests quite well. This popular restaurant is typically quite full, reservations are highly recommended! The bar atmosphere and drinks are great, early or late in the evening!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trippy0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best caterers!”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Phat Cats serves some of the best martinis in Town and they do the BEST catering! They catered an event for me recently, and the platters were piled with plenty of food for guests, and everyone remarked at how good the food was.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank ragtop_rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaurant in Town”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My husband and I have been many times.Chef/Owner,Paul ,does a nice job.Money for good food is always well spent.Christine provides a friendly hometown, intimate, atmosphere.Eating at the bar is fun.Tapas/Wine Thursdays are a great deal.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gcm1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Mediocre food. Don't even bother if you're a vegetarian”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We've been twice. The first time, we had the specials, and they were decent. We came back, and were thoroughly disappointed. The menu is very limited in scope and it never changes. Service was okay, food tasted bland. Not going back.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Food-Nature-Culture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phat Cats Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Phat Cats Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing