We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food you'll find noone else close by”
Review of Haflinger Haus

Haflinger Haus
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Adams
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, German, Austrian, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Voted Best of The Berkshire's in 2013 and 2014, the Haflinger Haus is a restaurant, tavern and inn located in Adams, MA in the beautiful Northern Berkshires.From Wiener Schnitzel and Kasespatzle to Grilled Salmon and NY Strip Steaks, we are bringing the best of Austrian and American cuisines to the Berkshires. Our menu features some of Austria's most delicious foods, like authentic Wiener Schnitzel, Gram's authentic Hungarian Goulash, and Spatzle (little delicious noodles) along with Classic American and Continental dishes. Our Tavern features its own menu as well as great beers on tap, bottled beer, and great Martinis, specialty drinks and cocktails. The Inn features 6 unique and tastefully appointed rooms. Five have private bath.
Adams, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food you'll find noone else close by”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I have eaten here a handful of times and each time the food was outstanding. It's something different, yet very food. Don't expect the traditional food menu most restaurants have. I have tried different things each time, and have not been disappointed yet. Drinks were served in a timely fashion and were very tasty. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    33
    4
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adams, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food but prepare to wait (for a long time).”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Though I live in Adams for almost 2yrs now, never really pay attention there's an Austrian restaurant in this B&B. Not till when I tried to search where to go for my birthday dinner last night. Thought I would give this a try. It's a thus night, one of the three dining rooms seems to be seated almost fully so we were brought to another dining room where there were already 2 other tables of customers. There was only 1 server that night but he took our orders and served our drinks within an acceptable time frame. From there onwards, the waiting game begins.... About more than 15mins for our bread, another 20mins or so for appetitzer, another 30mins or more for main entrees. Total waited for more than an hour to receive our entrees. I almost wanted to just settle the bill without waiting for the entree anymore. Lost my appetite by the time they serve the main. But I would say the food is very good. It's just the slow kitchen service was a disappointment.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yisymail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaflingerHaus, General Manager at Haflinger Haus, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Yisymail.

We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the length of time you waited to dine. You mention you dined on a Thursday night and we are wondering, did you make a reservation?

You mention only one server was on that nigh, however, we had five servers on that night plus the bartender who covers the hi top tables in the bar as well as the customers who choose to eat at the bar. So in reality, that's six servers.

Finally, we are not a fast food restaurant. Nearly all of our dishes are prepared to order and there is a statement on our menu explaining that. The menu explains that if you are in a particular hurry, please ask your server which entrees can arrive sooner. Spending a little over an hour for a dining experience seems reasonable in a fine dining restaurant, In the future, check out our Tavern menu where pub-typed food is available and can be prepared faster.

HH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food, make an evening of it.”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I don't normally review after the first time at a restaurant. But i can make an exception. The food was very good! everything ordered by our group of 5 was enjoyed.

Now for the negative, We didn't get served our main course for 2 hours. Our server took our order pretty promptly after we arrived (6PM). (Drinks almost as we sat down). Then we were served our soups within about 10 minutes of placing our orders. From now on we waited. It was only ok because we came to celebrate a birthday and had no rush needed. as the clock started ticking closer to 8PM we decided to ask the waiter if this is normal practice because we were liking what we had so far but really don't see waiting 2 hours for our meal if we were to return. He gave us an excuse but promised our food was next. We enjoyed it and i know we would have at least humored the desert menu if we hadn't already spend 2 1/2 hours there. It seemed to me they had plenty of staff since almost every table had a different server. So we really don't know what to expect in the future.

We will try one more time because the food was truly that good and the atmosphere fit our needs. But another 3 hour meal and we will have to pass, we live 30 minute away so this was a 4 hour adventure. disappointing.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rogbert690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaflingerHaus, General Manager at Haflinger Haus, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear rogbert690:

Thank you for the feedback and kind words regarding our food and atmosphere at the Haflinger Haus.

I would also like to apologize for the long wait between your appetizers and entrees. To answer your question, this is not a normal wait time for our customers. We try our best to time service according to our customers wishes, although we are not a fast-food restaurant (everything is cooked to order). While not an excuse for the evening you visited us, I can say we were taken by surprise with the amount of walk-in customers and there was indeed a backup in the kitchen between the hours of 6-8.

As you stated, I do hope you give us another try so we can not only exceed your expectations for our food and atmosphere but also for service.

Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to your visiting us again.

HH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenox, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A fine experience”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

It was a snowy New England winter's night and everything, other than the roads, was perfect.

We stuck with the Austrian classics; Werner Schnitzel as an entree. We began with a wonderful Austrian Chicken soup, almost a consume with cut up crepes served piping hot as is needed on such a night. The "Haus" salad and the main course came at just the right intervals and everything was hot and tasty. Finished up with chef Schmidt's Austrian Chocolate cake.

The man who put together the kitchen an menu, Chef Gerhard Schmidt is an old friend from his days as owner of Lenox's Gateway's Inn. He has a much deserved international reputation though he does not run the kitchen.. I don not know the actual chef's name, but bravo!

The check was also a pleasant surprise, downscale in the upscale Berkshires, 20% less than we expected. A little bit shy on appointments and decor but just the same: Highly Recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Most Excellent”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Who would of thought you would find fine Austrian dining tucked away in the hills of the Berkshires in Adams. Excellent meal from appetizers to dessert. Not to mention the skilled bartender. Comfy place. Great hangout too. Everything was great but the goulash rates the highest on any list I could make of best food ever. Dinner menu had steaks and american cuisine too but I'm still working my way down the Austrian page. Would highly recommend to anyone who appreciates great service, great food, and great places that take care of their customers and are serious about providing a perfect experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haflinger Haus also viewed

Adams, Berkshires
 
New Ashford, Berkshires
Williamstown, Berkshires
 

Been to Haflinger Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing