We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best way to eat seafood at home without cooking it yourself” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lobster Barn

Lobster Barn
Ranked #2 of 46 Restaurants in Abington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best way to eat seafood at home without cooking it yourself”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

My family has been loyal to Lobster Barn for the past few years, since it was recommended to us. We've loved seafood, but as my parents have aged, the duty of cooking it has become too much of a burden. Enter Lobster Barn, who'll cook steamers and lobster for you, and you can choose exactly when to pick it up, so you have have a lobster/clam bake without much effort. The food is just fantastic. I trust them. Worth it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Find it you'll love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Was reccomended to try the Lobster Barn by a couple of people and a person that came into my work. What a super find!! Seafood lovers paradise! It seems like it is family owned and you can get any seafood anyway and any substitutions and as many condiments and sides that you want with a smile. Fresh fesh fresh especially the frying oil. And the staff is o so funny. We got a fishermans platter and were going to share. It came with french fries and onion rings and we asked for extra onion rings instead of french fries. No problem. Then one young employee said if you like them so much than get an extra side. How about a large. What a funny cutie pie. The place is a little funky to find, but the signage is good and once you find it you will definitely go back. Don't get into summer traffic and go down to the beach for seafood...try the Lobster Barn in little old Abington.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank talkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food was great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Ordered Steamers, Fried Oysters, Fried Whole Clams and Onion Rings...everything was cooked perfect and the portions were what I had expected. Keep up the great job!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JaxBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Arkansas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My Favorite Super Seafood year round-best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Open most of the year, this seafood place is awesome. It is not a sit down and eat restaurant. A take-out place (with weather permitting) picnic tables and serene backyard atmosphere, orders can be called in or placed as you arrive. My favorite....the lobster roll! There is a variety, though, to choose from, I have had the scallops, shrimp and haddock. All great- served with coleslaw and fries (or onion rings - my choice). You can purchase fresh seafood there as well. Cost is reasonable for the fresh seafood that the owners family, I believe, catch themselves. It is my favorite place to eat when I go home to visit - summer, winter, spring or fall!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank chris e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

The seafood plate for 18.99 is not worth it, everything tastes the same! The shrimp still have their tails on, the fries were hard, and everything was so breaded it was not appetizing at all.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carolyn3173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobster Barn also viewed

 

Been to Lobster Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing