We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay $20 more and stay downtown.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Annapolis
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights over the weekend. We had booked the first night as part of a block rate for a wedding, but we came in to town a day early and arranged reservations for that night. Billing has been a nightmare. They generated 2 separate bills for each night and placed all of our room charges on each bill. So we paid for room service 4 times for 2 meals. (That were not good). I arranged for the staff to deliver a $40 honeymoon package to the couple. It did not arrive - at all! The bill did, twice!!

I smelled mold through out the hallways and in the suite where the wedding party was getting ready. I read all the reviews and people are rating the hotel 4 stars, but most note the moldy smell. I don't want to sleep & breathe in a moldy, 4 star hotel.

The shower went from scalding to cold every few minutes and the hotel has "one time use remotes", because they want the appearance of cleanliness (but should consider mold abatement), but they should be called no-time-use-remotes, because they don't work.

If you know you will spend x on this hotel, just add a few extra bucks and stay at the nicer hotels downton. The ambiance of the city is better than the ambiance of the city's biggest bus stop, which is located right across the street.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Annapolis, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Brooke D, thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I was sorry to hear about the problems you had during your stay, please accept my apology. We take pride in delivering the best service to our guests, and I am sorry we failed you. We will look into the comments and will work hard to eliminate any problems are guests may have. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we hope you come back to see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Annapolis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 586 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife & I stayed here for a nights getaway in Annapolis. This has a great location right next to major roadways, it had a major mall and some chain restaurants (Red Lobster, Greene Turtle, Famous Dave's,...)in the same development.

I really enjoyed my stay, and I'm a picky person. The place looked and smelled great, it was clean and updated. The bar area looked beautiful, but we did not eat at the restaurant. The front desk staff were very easy and helpful. We sprung to stay on the club level, and really enjoyed that. The room was clean and updated with a modern feel. The Club Lounge was also nice with a great coffee/cappuccino maker fully stocked with both healthy and un-healthy snacks and drinks. Breakfast here in the morning was much better than dealing with the crowd downstairs.

There was an annoying wedding party that "overtook" the club lounge, letting their friends and family from other floors come in. On several occasions they would "stock up" on goodies and take back to their rooms, but fortunately the lady caring for the club lounge always handles things appropriately and kept the place clean and well stocked.

The indoor pool and jacuzzi were great, very clean and well maintained, the gym was also top notch. What a great Sheraton, will definitely come back with my little girl to enjoy the pool!

Room Tip: Spring for the club level to gain access to the convenient and wonderfully stocked Club Lounge.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brisby438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Annapolis, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear pmd8100, thank you sop much for all the wonderful comments! The staff loves to see how they shine for our guests and how we take pride in taking care of our hotel. We can't wait to see you when you come back to enjoy the pool!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a USA holiday. We had two needs: shopping at the Westfield which was across the road and a visit to historic Annapolis and the Academy which were nearby. We paid for a club room which was very good, had WiFi and breakfast and drinks etc.. in a special room on the floor. This was good value. The pool is small but ok and likewise the fitness suite. The staff are very nice. This is one of those could be anywhere places with little charm in its build. It does however do the job and was a comfortable and pleasant stay in a good location for what we wanted from a short trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Annapolis, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear David, thank you for all the great comments about our hotel and staff. We take pride in our hotel and our associates strive to be the best. I am glad you noticed all the nice amenities we offer and how the staff was so nice. We look forward to you coming back to stay again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Staff were always eager to correct any issues brought up. It would be better for hotel management to conduct a survey of the grounds or have each department verify their area is up to par. For example, when we arrived we the parking lot looked like 7-11 in Herndon Virginia with laborers loitering around drinking beer with empty beer cases littered around the car. Staff quickly fixed the problem but they were out their at least a couple of hours given the amount of empty containers.

I enjoyed the stay but felt it annoying to call and get a full compliment of towels and bathroom toiletries. A small issue but it only overworked the desk staff.

The hotel could use a better renovation. Poor quality work evidenced everywhere from floating hardwood floors in the elevator to missing trim around signage.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthernVirgin1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Annapolis, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear NorthernVirgin1a, thank you for taking the time to write the reveiw and giving us your feedback. We take pride in the hotel and and we apprciate you bringing issues to our attention. The staff takes pride in the hotel and are eager to please. Thank you again and we look forward to you coming back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This place can be somewhat variable depending on your neighbors and the condition of your room, maintenance wise. We stayed over our wedding anniversary and I called ahead to arrange flowers for our room. It took two calls to get this to work, but when we arrived the front desk manager had arranged flowers, champagne, and swan towels with rose pedals on the bed! Very elegant and completely complimentary-they would not allow me to pay for it.
The complimentary breakfast in our plan was quite adequate and efficient.
the elevators are notoriously slow, but they also make unusual sounds- can be unnerving if you pay attention to those things. the walls are thin, but we did not have any noisy neighbors. We did have some maintenance issues with a broken door latch and a leaking toilet, but overall we still had a great stay (I must admit that the flowers and champagne helped a bit).

Room Tip: Highest floor (6th) has no rooms above, but longest elevator ride- and it is a looong elevator ride...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Annapolis, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Rich809, thank you for all the wonderful feedback! We strive to be the best for our guests, and I was glad to hear we went out of our way for you on your anniversary! We look forward to you coming back next year or sooner!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in July 2013. A $10 upgrade to the Club level was a real bargain. Our room was not on the club floor, but breakfast (served by a very competent and attentive woman) was good, as well as evening snacks. The free shuttle into Annapolis was very convenient. We did have an issue with the front desk (several people giving conflicting info) about getting a return shuttle, but it did work out, and apologies were offered. To our surprise, a bottle of wine was delivered along with a personalized note. Much appreciated, especially because we didn't make a fuss about the inconvenience. Afterwards, we were even greeted by name as we came and went. I would surely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rabbit12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Annapolis, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Rabbit12, thank you for all the wonderful comments. We strive on giving excellent customer service and was pleased to hear the desk went above your expectations. We love to hear that our customers will be back, hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent 3 nights here and were really not happy at all. I used SPG points to pay for the room, so it would have been a good deal if the hotel hadn't turned out so poor. It wasn't one big issue that made it bad, but many small things that have all been mentioned in other reviews here such as the elevators being excrutiatingly slow, the soundproofing between rooms almost non-existant, and TV remote that didn't work until you pressed the button 5 or 6 times while changing tha angle and position of the remote while aiming it at the TV. The manager replied to a review on this site about this exact issue over a year ago and said it was being addressed, but it has NOT been corrected.

Additionally the room was worn out, the lighting was way too low, and probably worst of all was the incessant slamming doors. Every door of every room slams with a vengeance and shakes the walls of every room in the vicinity. It was like someone actually kicking the wall right behind the headboard when any door on the floor slammed shut. I can't even estimate how many times it woke us from a sound sleep over the 3 nights we were there.

We paid extra to be on the lounge floor and it was okay overall. The food was decent at breakfast and in the evening, however it was very irritating that the evening hours were advertised as 6-8 pm, but they did not replenish the food when it ran out. Each night they ran out of the hot items and dessert by around 7:30 and didn't bring more. I say if you advertise food from 6 to 8, have it available until 8pm. (They did not do the same thing at breakfast... they replenished items up until the closing time)

One thing that I did expect from reading a few reviews before the stay was an exceptional staff. I read multiple times how nice, professional, and helpful they are. Well, the opposite was true. They were not impressive in any of those area, instead being slightly unfriendly, not that proffesional, and to be honest, kind of weird overall. Just a strange group of people.

The last negative I'll mention was the pool. Not the pool itself since We never did actually get to swim, but the pool availability. When we checked in and asked about the pool we were told it was open until 9 pm. Sound good right? Well not until you finally get a chance to fit in a quick swim your last morning before checkout and put on your bathing suit, endure the elevator pain one more time, and trek all the way to the pool only to find the door locked and that it doesn't even open until 5pm! What the hell kind of hours are that for a swimming pool?

Now to be fair, there were some good things about the stay. So here is a list of those things: the room had a fridge and microwave which came in very handy; the TV size was nice, the free Internet was appreciated, the bed was extremely comfortable; and as mentioned, the breakfast in the club was pretty good.

So... based on the very reasonable SPG points rate that this room cost me, I really wanted to give this place a 3 rating. But I just can't, even at a good price, give this place an 'average' rating since it clearly is well below average. So I give this hotel a 'poor' rating of 2 out of 5 and we won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frank3355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Annapolis, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear frank3355, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We take this feedback very seriously and continue to work daily to be better. I am sorry you stay was not up to the standards we should have shown you, but rest assured we will learn from this and be better. Thank you for some of good comments as well. We hope that you come back to see us in the future if your travlel plans bring you this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
2.4 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
1,250 reviews
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Annapolis
2.9 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Annapolis
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Annapolis

Address: 173 Jennifer Rd, Annapolis, MD 21401-3043 (Formerly Sheraton Annapolis Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Price Range: $108 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located near the excitement of downtown and historic Annapolis. We are located within walking distance to restaurants and shopping at Westfield Annapolis Mall. In Downtown Annapolis enjoy attractions like shopping, historic attractions and waterfront restaurants. Guests can enjoy remarkable amenities like room service, 24 hour fitness center, sundry shop, indoor pool, Jacuzzi,complimentary high speed Internet and Annapolis Bar and Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Annapolis
Annapolis Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing