We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we booked!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Annapolis
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Booked the Sheraton 45 days ahead of a class for 2 of our employees for weekends in a row. The day after initially booking through Expedia we tried to change both reservations to 2 days instead of 3. This was not allowed even though when booking we could have chosen just 2 nights no problem. Now that they have your money, NO CHANGES ALLOWED. So even with 45 days to put us in the room we booked, the Sheraton Annapolis elected to put 2 men in a King room and not the Double that was booked. The Sheraton made no corrections when confronted at the desk and made no credit to the invoice for their screw-up. They just wanted to blame Expedia when clearly the Expedia paperwork shows a Double room. When Expedia was questioned, they blame the Sheraton Annapolis. Bottom line we will never use a Sheraton again nor will we use Expedia. Plenty of choices in Annapolis, do yourself a favor and avoid the headache.

Room Tip: What you book is not what you'll get and they will do nothing to rectify the problem.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Annapolis, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Dave B, I am terribly sorry about the room mix up, there are times this happens and we do everything we can to get the room requests right, please accept my apology. When using 3rd party reservation systems with prepaid reservations it can be difficult to change or cancel reservations because they are prepaid. The best way to book reservations is directly through the hotels for less confusion and the best rates. I hope this information is helpful to you and all other travelers. We certainly hope you reconsider stay with us again in the future and stay with Starwood hotels as we are a quality hotel and stive for great service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Annapolis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 586 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

Staff is exceptional and outstanding. We were greeted with smiles and welcomed with open arms. Felt like we were coming home!! Attended an event and the hotel went out of their way to provide quality service during the entire event.
The only downer was the quality of food served during the banquet, primarily the soup (Cream of Crab). The soup was scorched during preparation or holding, it had an obvious burnt smell and was still served. The Chef should have make the decision to NOT allow this item to be served! Quality comes first and banquets can be a challenge; however, the taste still remains in my mouth!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cndirector1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Annapolis, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you so much cndirector1, we truly love to hear feedback like this and letting everyone know what a great hotel we have! Sorry to hear about the soup and we will certainly fix that. We look forward to you coming back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I book this hotel frequently on priceline name your own price, usually I get a room for $76. The rooms are clean and the staff are very friendly. There is a work out room but several times I have gone to work out it is musty and the air condition is not on or operating efficiently. I have also been to the gym and no cups were available for the water fountain. The bathtubs are very slippery when wet and they really need to put a mat down before someone gets injured. Overall for the price good room, I wouldn't pay more.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheyenne16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Annapolis, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding our cleanliness and friendly staff. We take great pride in delivering excellent customer service. We take feedback very seriously and we use this to get better each and every day and will work on your suggestions. Thank you again and we look forward to you coming back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Basic amenities with a pleasant staff. Our stay was good. Nothing amazing but a decent place to stay. Room could have been cleaned better. Pills on the floor from the last guest and hair strands in the tub.

1  Thank Arik B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Daryl S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Annapolis, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Arik B, thank you for pointing out our pleasant staff, I was sorry to hear about the cleanliness of your room. This is not typical of our housekeeping deparment to miss this kind of stuff, pleas accept my apology. I hope as you travel back to this area you again choose us and I asure you a much better experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Clean quiet room. Close to historic Annapolis.(4 miles) No breakfast a minus, but did have a restaurant if you wished to pay. Right across the street from a huge indoor Mall if you run into a rainy day or just want to do some shopping. Several restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet location
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markzink13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Annapolis, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Markyz, thank you for taking time to post your great comments about our clean and quiet rooms. We also have a free shuttle that can take you to all these places. Our shuttle runs to a 5 mile radious. We look forward to you coming back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed for a hockey tournament/vacation. The room was clean and the hotel was remarkably quiet for a bunch of hockey teams running around. Free Starbucks coffee in the lobby makes for a great start to your day. The staff was very nice and helpful. The woman who helped me at the front desk the day we arrived deserves a promotion or a raise. She could not be anymore friendly or supportive in helping my family had everything we needed. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mfig303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Annapolis, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Mfig303 thank you so much for all the wonderful comments about our hotel. The associates take great pride in delivering a great experience friendliness and cleanliness! We certainly look forward to you coming back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband arrived for a relaxing stay for one night before picking my step-son up from college. We switched our first room because it faced the loud highway, and that was not problem. Bad part is there was an adjoining room. The adjoining room woke us up 6:15 AM with loud teen/young adults banging something loud, speaking loud...anything to annoy and be disrupted. Well, that was the end of our "relaxing" stay. We called the front desk, and that problem was diffused. Now that we were up, we decided to use the hot tub. I called to find out what time the pool area opened, and found out it opened 5PM!!! so much for customer comfort...(it was explained the lifeguard did not come in until 5? why can't the Sheraton hire an AM guard?).front desk people were very nice, polite and helpful..but it is these little things that are annoying and would make me choose another place to stay, like the Doubletree. Our room was clean, tv did not work well. The adjoining doors (if you should get a room like that, check out who is next door.

Room Tip: if you get adjoining room, make sure rowdy young people are not on the other side, get a room away f...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ConnieandAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Annapolis, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Connie and Anthony, thank you for the feedback, I am sorry about the noise you encountered. I am glad we were able to take care of it right away. Thank you for pointing out our cleanliness and freinedliness, we take pride in this! We hope you consider us for your future stays, and remember the other hotels only has an outdoor pool and are limited as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
2.4 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
1,249 reviews
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Annapolis
2.9 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Annapolis
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Annapolis

Address: 173 Jennifer Rd, Annapolis, MD 21401-3043 (Formerly Sheraton Annapolis Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Price Range: $111 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located near the excitement of downtown and historic Annapolis. We are located within walking distance to restaurants and shopping at Westfield Annapolis Mall. In Downtown Annapolis enjoy attractions like shopping, historic attractions and waterfront restaurants. Guests can enjoy remarkable amenities like room service, 24 hour fitness center, sundry shop, indoor pool, Jacuzzi,complimentary high speed Internet and Annapolis Bar and Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Annapolis
Annapolis Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing