We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful as Always...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
East Coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful as Always...”
Reviewed December 10, 2009

The service at Loews - Annapolis is impeccable and the location can't be beat! Just a couple of blocks from historic downtown Annapolis, this hotel provides convenience and luxury. From the wonderful, cheery greeting from the valet guys to the genuine welcome by the front desk staff, this was a very enjoyable trip. I have had the privilege of staying here prior to this last visit and as always, the service, attitudes, and helpfulness of the staff remain consistently wonderful. Our bartender, Martin is always quick with a smile and good story to kick off the weekend. He is a terrific and very personable guy and we always appreciate the excellent service he provides. He has even given us some tips on "non-touristy" things to do around town, which turned out to be excellent recommendations. Our valet, Kobe is also an asset to this hotel, as he is quick and efficient in everything he does... retrieving the car, helping with bags, or just a simple opening of the front door after a long day out and about in Annapolis... and always again with a big smile for all he encounters. Thank you Loews for once again showing others what an A1 hotel is all about! You have a great staff and they should be commended on a job well done!

Cindy Hudson

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALWashingtonDC, manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2009
Ms. Hudson:
I appreciated your letter last year and to now, I am pleased to see you returned and had another great experience!! You were very kind to highlight in both specific staff members like Martin that truly make the difference. We have a great team and they genuinely go out of their way to ensure all of our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. The privilege is ours!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    348
    141
    60
    40
See reviews for
290
436
37
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
baltimore
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2009

Everything from the friendly valet service, to front desk, to food and beverage was spectacular. We were only there for a short stay to celebrate an anniversary, and we had stellar treatment from the staff. John Waldbillig was helpful in making us feel welcome and special for the weekend. He gaves us great recommendations about things to see while we were visiting. I often do not get a chance to get specific names while travelling but he was exceptional!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camden24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALWashingtonDC, manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Our proximity to downtown is ideal - under 5 minutes to walk - But, truly our team makes the experience special. JW, normally behind the scenes providing support to the front lines was clearly caught in action on the front line! He like the rest of the team will go out of their way to genuinely ensure each guest has a positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

I had the opportunity to stay a few nights at the Loews Hotel in Annapolis for a business meeting last month. Its decor has a nautical theme which is a bit over the top, but certainly fits with Annapolis and the nearby Naval Academy.

LOCATION -- The location is great for getting to restaurants and tourist attractions (including the capitol) on foot. The concierge in the lobby is extremely knowledgeable, helpful, and friendly. You should have no worries about taking a taxi or shuttle from the airport and being there without a car.

LOBBY -- The lobby area is nice, very high ceiling, conducive to visiting.

FRONT DESK -- The front desk staff were professional, but slow-moving. I saw at least one guest give up on waiting in line for information. The staff had no clue about ameneties that should be given to a Loews Gold member (e.g., free wifi, room upgrade if available).

MEETING ROOMS -- Our meeting rooms and catered food were lovely. The fresh fruit looked and tasted like it just came from the Farmer's Market.

RESTAURANTS -- I ate in one of the restaurants and found the food VERY good, quite sophisticated. Pricey, as in most hotels.

ROOM SERVICE -- The room service was lightning fast and food as promised. The staff who delivered it were uniformly courteous and quick.

GUEST ROOMS -- The guest rooms are adequately furnished. Nice work area. Wifi for a fee. The bathrooms were immaculate and very well-lit.

SPA -- There is an in-hotel spa. It's not what you think of when you envision a spa...i.e., it's not a large facility where you can hang out and relax for an afternoon. Instead, it's a small urban facility for scheduling a facial or massage. They have a few treatment rooms, but no common areas to speak of, no locker room, no place to hang out in a robe with your slippers on and drink tea, no jacuzzi, etc.

EXERCISE FACILITY -- Is on the second floor, among the guest rooms. Not tiny, but not huge. All of the equipment was in working order, which is surprisingly rare.

ISSUES -- If you get cold easily, I do not recommend this place, unless it's summer. The hallways were FREEZING cold. The front doors were often propped open by the bell staff, and if we needed to leave a door to the ballroom open, WHOOSH, frigid outside air was whisked in as if we were in a wind tunnel. The heaters in the guest rooms took hours to heat up a room. The bedding is beautiful white cotton, but strangely there was no down comforter, only a thin cotton blanket and bedspread. I was at first excited to see a box of additional bedding in the closet, but then disappointed to see that it contained only another small thin cotton throw blanket and pillows. Brrrr......

Also had an issue with noise from the motors of the elevators. If you're a light sleeper, don't take a room within 30 feet of the elevators, especially on the upper floors, or you'll be disturbed by the irregular stop/start and whirring noise of elevator motors 24/7.

Overall, the Loews Annapolis is a fairly nice place. It's comfortable, clean, and well-located. There are some issues, but they are not insurmountable.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vallelunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALWashingtonDC, manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2009
I appreciate the time you took to detail your experience. Yes, we absolutely make every effort to provide a uniquely local experience. We have a great property as you have noted. From public areas, meeting facilities to the great service and Award winning Chef - we strive to make every experience a positive memory. I also appreciated your constructive comments. I don't leave my front door at home wide open in the winter and we won't at the hotel either!! Next year we are also planning to upgrade the bedding package...Thank you again and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

The rooms were definitely nice, and extremely large. However, I get the feeling that this hotel was trying to market itself as an upscale luxury hotel. This wasn't really the case. The bathroom was small and plain, and had a rack over the toilet that look like it cost $10. The bellhops were just in the way, and, as always with most hotels, the parking was a rip off at $22/day. The location was great, and the bed was comfortable. Internet was also expensive at $10/day. I would stay here again if I could get the same deal, but probably not if I had to pay their regular market rates. Oh, and there was no pool, which was disappointing on some rainy days.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanders16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richboro, PA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2009

I had to respond to the last review of the Loews indicating it was rundown and the bedding, etc. was outdated.

I stayed here in September for 3 nights. We had a corner suite that was nothing but COMFORTABLE!. The maid came twice a day, morning and evening, to clean and freshen the room, the towels. She always offered fresh and complimentary water. There was not a charge for the waters that were left.

The bedding was wonderful. The linens were of higher quality, but I do have to say that the towels could have been a little more luxurious.

The staff always said hello, offered to help, gave great restaurant recommendations. The valet secured a cab to us one night for dinner. He even gave us HIS card to call so that he would arrange a cab back to the hotel.

In conclusion, the hotel was not in disrepair or outdated. The staff, cleanliness, and room made for a great few days' escape.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank len10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

Remember the days of 4 dollars for a bottle of water in your room? Charge for local calls? Hallways that smell like ashtrays? All that and more is still available at this aging hotel. Even the "down" button on the elevator did not work. I had asked for a king but was given two double beds. Bedding not up to current standards. Very overpriced for the rooms available. Go for the Westin down the street!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Navytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

We stayed at the Loews Annapolis Hotel 4 days, 3 nights during Labor Day Weekend. We didn't know what to expect as we had never stayed at a Loews Hotel, nor had we ever been to Annapolis. We ended up being quite happy with our selection overall and Annapolis was a lot of fun, we definitely plan to return.

Hotel - overall, it was excellent. The lobby was lovely and the check-in process was smooth and efficient. We arrived much earlier than expected (10 am) and were given our room right away which was great. The person at the desk was very courteous and very helpful. She provided us with a local map, a list of recommended restaurants, and we couldn't have asked for more.

Our room was very comfortable, faced the front of the hotel and was well appointed. Comfortable king sized bed, spacious room, and nice amenities in the bathroom. Everything was in excellent condition and the room size was very comfortable. Robes were provided in the room, and everything was very clean. The room even had a small refrigerator which was very convenient so that we could keep a few beverages and stuff in it. Coffee maker and coffee/teas were also in the room although we did not use them. Also, the Loews is a pet friendly hotel, however, I didn't see any dogs in the hotel. We did see tons of dogs everywhere in town. We like dogs and all animals, so it was fine with us.

One of the hotels very close to the middle of town was the Marriott, however, we found it to be a bit overcrowded and loud so we're not sure what it would be like to stay there. We were glad that our hotel was not overcrowded, nor was it noisy. Although our windows faced the front of the hotel, at night, it was quiet and very peaceful. No traffic noise, etc. However, if you want to be right smack in the heart of it all, the Marriott definitely provides that.

Neighorhood - After we checked in, we decided to head straight to the downtown area. It was about a 5-7 minute walk and there were a lot of restaurants along the way. We ate breakfast, lunch, dinner at a different restaurant every day and there was a good variety to choose from. The only concern that we initially had was the first day. When walking from Loews straight to the downtown area, we saw some folks that were just sitting on the benches at the bus stops, and loitering around the neighborhood. We were initially concerned that they would solicit us, etc., but being New Yorkers, we acclimated to this very quickly and saw that we were not in a "dangerous" area nor did anyone solicit us. As a matter of fact, they greeted us with "good morning, etc." as we walked by. There was really nothing to be concerned about. The area seems to be undergoing a gentrification of improvements but nothing more overall.

We typically went out to breakfast, stayed out all day, and walked back to the hotel around 10 pm-ish and never had a worry or concern.

Activities - We found lots to do in Annapolis. There's a lot of little shops, water tours of the Chesapeake Bay, sailing, bus tours, horse and carriage rides, guided tours of the Naval Academy, you can visit the State Capitol, art galleries, etc.

Restaurants - plenty of restaurants and ice cream shops. Pussers was one of our favorites, however, a restaurant called Maria's (sicilian) was the worst Italian food that I've ever had. Perhaps it was an off night for the chef, but it was pretty awful.

Overall, Annapolis was a great getaway and we will definitely be returning to Loews. The hotel had everything we needed and we had a great stay there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CQ_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALWashingtonDC, Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2009
Thank you for your detailed commentary on our hotel. We have a great team and love to hear when our guests truly enjoy their experience. Come back and bring your dog!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.5 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.7 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
878 reviews
2.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
2.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Annapolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Annapolis Hotel

Property: Loews Annapolis Hotel
Address: 126 West St, Annapolis, MD 21401-2802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Annapolis
#1 Business Hotel in Annapolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Annapolis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps away from the Chesapeake Bay, Loews Annapolis Hotel welcomes you with warm charming guest rooms and luxurious suites decked out in nautical style. Enjoy the comfort and outstanding service of the Chesapeake Bay's favorite choice among Annapolis luxury hotels. In the surrounding area, Loews is your most welcoming port. The premier hotel facility in this charming resort town, the Loews Annapolis Hotel offers a variety of unique suites, meeting spaces, and excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Annapolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Annapolis
Annapolis Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing