We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above and beyond customer service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loews Annapolis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Above and beyond customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I arrived around 9:30 Saturday night ready to relax in a room we'd previously reserved. Upon check in we learned that we had actually booked at the Loews hotel in Washington DC (Apparently when I booked through Trip Advisor it took me to the sister site for the Loews hotel) and that due to the boat show there were no rooms available. Exhausted and befuddled we explained to the front desk staff that we were really looking forward to staying in Annapolis as it was a our five year anniversary. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. First, they suggested we head to the hotel restaurant and have a round of drinks on them while they canceled the hotel in DC. Then the manager (Jason I believe was his name) said that he would do his best to book us a room elsewhere.
We decided to have dinner in the restaurant since we had planned on walking the few blocks to downtown to eat after checking in. We received superb service and had a wonderful meal (the round of drinks didn't hurt either). I spent the better part of the meal calling neighboring hotels but had no luck getting a room in Annapolis-I had a feeling that the hotel manager likely wouldn't be able to get us a room given that everything was booked solid.
I jokingly said to my husband, " maybe we'll get lucky and someone will cancel at the last minute." He replied that at 10:30 at night it was unlikely. About 20 minutes later the manager rushes over to inform us that he'd gotten a last minute cancellation! We couldn't believe how our luck had turned around! They happily checked us in and shared in our excitement that we'd get to spend our anniversary in the place that we were married!
We headed up to our room, all the while proclaiming how helpful and courteous the staff had been thus far. Upon entering we saw a bottle of champagne and chocolates with a Happy Anniversary note attached. Our room was very comfortable and we felt very well taken care of. I only wish the staff were there the next day so we could thank them for their superb customer service.

Room Tip: i've also had a massage and pedicure at the spa prior to this stay and both exceeded my expectat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sduncan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear sduncan2, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay. We are absolutely thrilled you experienced our commitment to exceptional customer service, and that you were able to stay with us for you anniversary, returning to the place you married 5 years ago! We will share your very positive experience with our staff – they are a superb team who indeed go above and beyond every day for our guests to ensure they feel taken care of. Thanks for letting us know what a great meal you had at WEST! We’re so happy our team and our hotel could help make your anniversary special. Loews Annapolis would love to welcome you back, especially when our room updates are completed in early Spring 2014, and for many more anniversaries thereafter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    321
    133
    54
    35
See reviews for
251
401
35
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

From not keeping their word about room requests to managers who are arrogant, a park bench would be a better choice. Try the Westin, newer, friendlier and absolutely professional. After staying many years, the current managers are clueless about running a hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Businessalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraMcMahonLoews, General Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your review via TripAdvisor. I am so sorry for the many inconveniences with especially the reservation and room assignment. I understand that our staff currently is working with you for satisfactory resolution.

I am most interested in your situation as the new General Manager and would welcome a call from you. Thank you.

Barbara McMahon, GM
410-295-3295
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

The beds are pretty comfy, things are clean, staff is friendly. The location is great for anything you would like to do in downtown Annapolis. Furniture is newish and well tended. I chose a sixth floor higher-end (and more expensive) room, expecting a level of luxury I didn't quite get. The downside? They discontinued stocking the mini-fridges some time ago, but a warm fridge sits in every room. You have to pay for wifi, which feels medieval to me - I haven't stayed anywhere that charges for wifi for several years. The tub is shallow and the hot water slow. They didn't refresh the toiletries consistently. The included continental breakfast is a bit heavy on the boxed cereal and packaged pastries. It's not in any way a bad hotel, but I expected a lot more for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Leslie I, We sincerely appreciate your comments. We’re very glad you enjoyed your interactions with our staff and comfortable accommodations. We work hard to provide a high level of luxury and comfort. We are interested in discussing your stay in more detail. Please contact us at 410-263-7777 and ask for the General Manager, Barbara McMahon, or for Jennifer Howie. Additionally, the feedback about the bathroom experience is insightful, and we are sharing with our team for review. Regarding WiFi, we will be changing our provider and will be able to offer complimentary WiFi in the near future! We’re also delighted to announce we will undergo room renovations later this year and into 2014. As part of this, stocked mini bars are on the docket, but prior to renovations being completed, we are happy to stock a mini bar upon personal request from our guests. We hope we will have the chance to welcome you back again to Loews Annapolis.

Sincerely,
Barbara McMahon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Wife and I were in Annapolis for micro beer and music festival being held at naval academy stadium. Great location to walk to any area of town. Excellent service. Ate at restaurant on site (West Restaurant) on last night because of heavy rain. Nice surprise as food was delicious (crab dip, steak, crab cakes) and also had tremendous service. I would stay there again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msjohns208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear msjohns208, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. We’re thrilled you experienced excellent service from our team and enjoyed Loews Annapolis' location. We’ll pass your compliments on to the chef and staff at WEST. Kitchen and Tavern! We would love to welcome you again to Loews Annapolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
133 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We loved staying at this Loews hotel with our dog. The staff was extremely accommodating and friendly. Our dog was allowed everywhere in the hotel, the room was spacious enough for a large dog. The restaurant and bar has an outdoor patio where dogs are welcome, so you can eat and drink and have your puppy with you. Much of patio is covered so even a little rain will not be a problem. The location to downtown Annapolis was great also, just a short walk to lots of shops and restaurants. The city is pet friendly overall so a nice trip if you want to bring your pets. I thought room price was reasonable but they do get you for $20 per day for self parking.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, back of hotel is best, though you will not get much a view. If you want a view, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FranC-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear FranC-NJ, We appreciate your feedback, and we’re glad you and your dog enjoyed your stay! “Loews Loves Pets,” and we’re proud to be part of such a pet-friendly city. We’re also happy you enjoyed our location in Annapolis, and our restaurant and patio area. We hope you will come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I was looking for a nice romantic hotel to celebrate our 40th anniversary and was taken in by the Deluxe King at Loews Annapolis MD. The pictures presented doesn't reflect the actual room and even the window view was deceptive. I paid $400.00 per night for a room with a two window view: one that had an overlook of an abandoned playground and the other, a housing project. Granted, the hotel has little control over environments outside of its parameter but the price for the room was way over the top for what you actually got. To this point, go to their website and read the description of each room from standard to king; you will see that all are 300 sq. ft. Luckily, the night Manager (Jason) was very accommodating and understanding and gave me an "upgrade" to a standard room. He did adjust the rate where I paid only $189 and I'll tell you, the standard was much better than the Deluxe King - same size and exact layout. The only difference was two beds instead of one king. The staff was wonderful and helped me out of this problem. My only problem is that the "Deluxe King" series ought to be re-categorized as "standard upgrade" (because of the bigger bed) and charge only $200 instead of $400. There is no way that the Deluxe King qualifies for a rate more than twice the amount of the standard because of a bed. Granted, the Deluxe King also comes with "free Continental breakfast" but for the price, you can save lots of dough with the standard and get a great breakfast two blocks away. The hotel overall is just OK, staff was marvelous, value for King: poor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Joseph O, Thank you for providing feedback about your stay. We are extremely happy to hear our staff, including Jason, was helpful and accommodating, as attentive service is always a top priority. We sincerely regret you did not feel your initial experience provided sufficient value, as we work hard to ensure competitive rates given the level of service and quality we provide. We appreciate your comments and want to let you know our rooms will undergo renovations late this year and into 2014. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back when our room renovations are complete. Please contact us to discuss your stay in more detail at 410-263-7777, and ask for Barbara McMahon, or Jennifer Howie.

Sincerely,
Barbara McMahon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I are from the surrounding area, but wanted a nice relaxing night to celebrate our first wedding anniversary after spending the day out and about in Annapolis. Loews Annapolis was at the top of my list as I have been here before and it was a great experience. The rooms were nice and roomy, the hotel itself is beautiful, and it is close to downtown, while still being tucked back in a quiet area. It's a little pricey, but the amenities and wonderful staff make it worth it. We told the front desk staff that we were there for our anniversary and they sent a bottle of really nice champagne with chocolate covered strawberries to our room. I would definitely travel to another Loews chain if it is as nice as the Annapolis location!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkerr02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear kkerr02, Happy anniversary to you and your husband! We are so happy you returned again to Loews Annapolis and enjoyed your stay! We’re excited you enjoyed the spaciousness of our rooms and overall design of the hotel, as well as the amenities and location. Cheers to you – perhaps we can help you celebrate future anniversaries, or simply escape the hustle and bustle of the city for a relaxing Annapolis weekend anytime! Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.5 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.7 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
2.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Annapolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Annapolis Hotel

Property: Loews Annapolis Hotel
Address: 126 West St., Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Annapolis
#1 Green Hotel in Annapolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Annapolis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps away from the Chesapeake Bay, Loews Annapolis Hotel welcomes you with warm charming guest rooms and luxurious suites decked out in nautical style. Enjoy the comfort and outstanding service of the Chesapeake Bay's favorite choice among Annapolis luxury hotels. In the surrounding area, Loews is your most welcoming port. The premier hotel facility in this charming resort town, the Loews Annapolis Hotel offers a variety of unique suites, meeting spaces, and excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Annapolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Annapolis
Annapolis Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing