We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OVERPRICED SO-SO HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I was looking for a nice romantic hotel to celebrate our 40th anniversary and was taken in by the Deluxe King at Loews Annapolis MD. The pictures presented doesn't reflect the actual room and even the window view was deceptive. I paid $400.00 per night for a room with a two window view: one that had an overlook of an abandoned playground and the other, a housing project. Granted, the hotel has little control over environments outside of its parameter but the price for the room was way over the top for what you actually got. To this point, go to their website and read the description of each room from standard to king; you will see that all are 300 sq. ft. Luckily, the night Manager (Jason) was very accommodating and understanding and gave me an "upgrade" to a standard room. He did adjust the rate where I paid only $189 and I'll tell you, the standard was much better than the Deluxe King - same size and exact layout. The only difference was two beds instead of one king. The staff was wonderful and helped me out of this problem. My only problem is that the "Deluxe King" series ought to be re-categorized as "standard upgrade" (because of the bigger bed) and charge only $200 instead of $400. There is no way that the Deluxe King qualifies for a rate more than twice the amount of the standard because of a bed. Granted, the Deluxe King also comes with "free Continental breakfast" but for the price, you can save lots of dough with the standard and get a great breakfast two blocks away. The hotel overall is just OK, staff was marvelous, value for King: poor.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Joseph O, Thank you for providing feedback about your stay. We are extremely happy to hear our staff, including Jason, was helpful and accommodating, as attentive service is always a top priority. We sincerely regret you did not feel your initial experience provided sufficient value, as we work hard to ensure competitive rates given the level of service and quality we provide. We appreciate your comments and want to let you know our rooms will undergo renovations late this year and into 2014. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back when our room renovations are complete. Please contact us to discuss your stay in more detail at 410-263-7777, and ask for Barbara McMahon, or Jennifer Howie.

Sincerely,
Barbara McMahon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,250)
There are newer reviews for Loews Annapolis Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

835 - 841 of 1,250 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I are from the surrounding area, but wanted a nice relaxing night to celebrate our first wedding anniversary after spending the day out and about in Annapolis. Loews Annapolis was at the top of my list as I have been here before and it was a great experience. The rooms were nice and roomy, the hotel itself is beautiful, and it is close to downtown, while still being tucked back in a quiet area. It's a little pricey, but the amenities and wonderful staff make it worth it. We told the front desk staff that we were there for our anniversary and they sent a bottle of really nice champagne with chocolate covered strawberries to our room. I would definitely travel to another Loews chain if it is as nice as the Annapolis location!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kkerr02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear kkerr02, Happy anniversary to you and your husband! We are so happy you returned again to Loews Annapolis and enjoyed your stay! We’re excited you enjoyed the spaciousness of our rooms and overall design of the hotel, as well as the amenities and location. Cheers to you – perhaps we can help you celebrate future anniversaries, or simply escape the hustle and bustle of the city for a relaxing Annapolis weekend anytime! Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed three days at this Loews property. Overall very good experience. Good location. A few blocks to waterfront. We arrived late afternoon. Suite was not ready but only took about 10 minutes. Got comped on drinks while waiting and when we got to rooms they delivered bottle of wine and snacks. Rooms were clean and beds were great. Service was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADKer51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear ADKer51, Thank you very much for taking the time to share feedback about your stay with us. You are right about our location being steps away from the many treasures Annapolis offers. We’re happy you were pleased with the rooms and service and hope you will stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

From making the reservation to leaving the garage everything was wonderful! Leanne Mounts helped me with making a reservation and was absolutely sweet and wonderful! We arrived fairly late in the evening and had absolutely no problem getting checked in and settled into our lovely room. Service was wonderful from the houseman to the parking attendants. We asked for a rollaway bed and it was delivered within minutes, As we were leaving, the garage attendant called us by name....a very nice touch! We were thoroughly impressed and satisfied. We would DEFINITELY come back and recommend it to anyone traveling to the Annapolis area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Beth A, We are delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay so much! We appreciate you taking the time to let us know what made your stay exemplary – throughout every interaction, we want our guests to have an easy, comfortable, authentic experience. We can’t wait to let our staff know of your compliments, from reservation and check in, to parking and more. Thank you for recommending us, and we would love to welcome you back to Loews Annapolis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

For anyone who travels with their pet like we do, you know it can be a challenge to find a hotel that accepts pets and also doesn't charge a ludicrous additional fee! My husband needed to attend a conference held at the Loews Annapolis. Most conferences are not held at pet friendly hotels, so I was very pleasantly surprised that they are not only pet friendly, but to an extreme! The staff is very welcoming to pets, give out a VIP bag with bowls, bags, food mat, etc upon check in, and they only charge a $25/stay pet fee! They have an outdoor dining area that has water bowls by the tables so you can actually eat a nice meal without worrying if "fido" is barking in the room or car! Very recommended hotel for the pet owners as well as non!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jollypirate4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Jollypirate4, Thank you very much for taking the time to offer feedback about your stay. “Loews Loves Pets,” indeed! It is a pleasure to welcome guests and their furry friends, and we’re so happy you and your pets felt welcomed. Thank you for recommending Loews Annapolis, and be sure to look for pet-friendly Loews properties in many cities! We would love to welcome you back if your travels bring you to Annapolis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Loews is always a good choice, with an accommodating staff and very comfortable rooms! Although not on the water, the hotel is in a great location, easily walkable to lots of restaurants (but be sure to eat at WEST at least once!), shopping, and sites to see. The free trolley is just across the street if you don't feel like walking. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BirdieBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear BirdieBaker, we appreciate your feedback. We’re excited to hear you enjoyed the comfort and feel of our guest rooms, our location, and staff service! We’re so happy you had the opportunity to try WEST restaurant and its Chesapeake-inspired flavor. We hope to welcome you back to Loews Annapolis during future trips. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night for a wedding in May. The hotel is very nice, but the customer service is lacking. We arrived after check in, but our room was not ready. We had to get ready for the evening wedding in an area the bellman found for us. I wish I remembered his name, because he was one of the good employees. He actually commented that it wasn't a good day at Loews. A big party had just checkout and they were behind. At the wedding we heard that a couple of guests had to find places to get ready for the wedding, because their rooms weren't ready either. That is to be expected if you arrive before check in, but after check in is unacceptable. The front desk took our phone number and told us they would call when our room was ready. Even though we were attending the wedding and couldn't of come back to get our room until later anyway, they never called us. When we returned we did ask why we never received a phone call, but the front desk couldn't answer that. When we arrived back at the hotel that night we went to the bellhop and asked for our luggage to be brought up. We gave him the ticket and he said he would bring it up. Twenty minutes later it still hadn't arrived. We went downstairs to ask (wanted to go to the bar) and he said, I didn't know what room you were in...REALLY???? A walk across the lobby to the front desk could of told you considering our name was on the claim ticket we gave you. He then had the biggest attitude. When we checked out the next day one of the managers was wonderful, she apologized to us and gave us a credit for one of our meals. Again, it was a nice hotel, but our experience would of been better maybe on a different weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear travelmommaryland, We are sorry to hear about your recent experience. Providing the highest level of customer service and attending to our guests’ needs graciously and promptly is our top priority. Your experience was not reflective of what we strive to offer. Thank you for letting us know about the bellman and manager who took steps to create a positive experience for you. We would appreciate the opportunity to regain your confidence – and we would like to discuss your experience in further detail. Please contact us at 410-263-7777 and ask for the General Manager, Barbara McMahon, or ask for Jennifer Howie.

Sincerely,
Barbara McMahon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.5 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.7 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#8 of 21 in Annapolis
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
882 reviews
2.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Annapolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Annapolis Hotel

Address: 126 West St, Annapolis, MD 21401-2802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Annapolis
#1 Green Hotel in Annapolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range: $184 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Annapolis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps away from the Chesapeake Bay, Loews Annapolis Hotel welcomes you with warm charming guest rooms and luxurious suites decked out in nautical style. Enjoy the comfort and outstanding service of the Chesapeake Bay's favorite choice among Annapolis luxury hotels. In the surrounding area, Loews is your most welcoming port. The premier hotel facility in this charming resort town, the Loews Annapolis Hotel offers a variety of unique suites, meeting spaces, and excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Annapolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Annapolis
Annapolis Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing