We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Annapolis Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed over July 4th holiday and I feel we got a good deal for our deluxe double room. The lobby is really nice, valet service is super quick. The restaurant had great food but was understaffed for the holiday rush. The trolley goes right by the hotel so you can either ride it (free) or easily walk to all the shops, etc. No complaints!
We've stayed at the Weston in Annapolis too and I prefer the Loews.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    302
    122
    52
    33
See reviews for
231
364
34
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Annapolis bills itself (on the Maryland website) as the most dog friendly town in Maryland. I think that is actually true! After a rather disappointing morning of sightseeing along the western Chesapeake Bay shore, it was time for lunch in Annapolis. The Loews' location, away from the hubbub of the City Dock area, was welcome, and our boxer, Izzie, was quite happy to relax with us on the Loews' patio. She was welcomed profusely. Her chicken breast was cooked perfectly ($4) Lunch was an uplifting experience after our inhospitable experiences in the bay towns.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dnoveau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnGeneralManager, General Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hello, and thank you for the feedback about your stay - indeed, Annapolis is a very pet friendly town, and "Loews loves pets"! We host a spectacular Canines & Cocktails event the last Friday of every month on our WEST patio. It's a great time, and it supports the local animal charities. Maybe you can join us sometime! We look forward to welcoming you and Izzie back soon....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I were there for 3 nights including the 4th of July. We were able to get a table by the window in the West restaurant and watch the 4th of July parade while eating dinner... a fun treat and slice of Americana!! Our stay at the Loews was very nice and it is a great location for an easy walk to the City Dock to watch the fireworks as well as shop and dine on Main Street. The self parking was very convenient. Our room was ready when we arrived. We will definitey stay at the Loews again the next time we return to Annapolis. For $152 a night (before taxes) we thought it was very reasonably priced for the quality and location. P.S. There is an atrium with rooms that open around it. If there is an event there on a Friday or Sat night in the ballroom adjacent to the atrium I am guessing these rooms could be a bit noisy. We were fortunate to be in a hallway off the atrium so our room was very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StarCityTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had been to Annapolis before, but not overnight, so we wanted to come back with our dog because it is such a dog friendly town. We thought this hotel was awesome. We were able to get an early check in and went up to the room. We were in the room for a short time when there was a knock at the door...one of the employees brought us a doggie "goodie bag" which our dog loved! The hotel staff made us feel welcomed and were very friendly (not just to us, but also to our dog). The bed and the pillows were out of this world, so comfortable! The room could have been a little cooler (we had the temperature all the way down, but it was really hot out). The only negative thing (I hate saying negative because it was very minor) bout the room was the temperature of the refrigerator. It barely kept things cold and there was no way to adjust it. The room could have also used a microwave, but those are just minor things. We also really liked the fact that we could take our dog directly outside to do her business without going through the lobby area. The town is just incredible! We loved the fact that our dog could go in almost every shop The outdoor dining was great, every meal we had was terrific. We also loved the free trolley service that ran in a loop around the town. We went to the Commodor lounge (I think that was the name of it) for breakfast and really enjoyed everything they had....great scones and they even had diet coke for me since I don't drink coffee in the morning. We will definitely be back and are already planning a trip in September. We will be staying at this hotel and will be recommending it to family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beagly66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Checking in was a breeze, the room was clean and up to date. They even had plush robes in the room and a night light in the bathroom. The floor I was on was quiet!! This is the first time in a long time that I stayed in a place where the walls weren't paper thin. The bed was comfortable and had an assortment of pillows of different firmness so you can most likely find one you like. The staff I met were friendly and helpful. The bar is a bit more pricey than you'd expect at a happy hour time of weekday. I would definitely stay here again. Well within walking distance of the state capitol and all the restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesertCreatures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I'll begin with what was enjoyable. The hotel is pretty, especially the common areas and well situated to walk to the main sites and water ways in Annapolis. The room for slightly north of $200 a night was sufficient. You will be neither disappointed or blown away by it. Service however was another story. We sat in the bar for a good 20 minutes before we could even place an order. It was July 4th and they did apologize the hotel was only moderately occupied and they were clearly understaffed. When they arrived, the cocktails were quite nice. I don't suggest paying for the upgrade to the Commodore Lounge, unless you are staying with a large crowd. The lounge did not provide cocktails, as it does at other Loews. It provided an ok breakfast of cereal, pastries, coffee and juice. But for the $25 cost, you could have a truly great breakfast at one of the nearby cafes. The lounge is also tiny and most of our party had to stand during breakfast as it was jam packed. Lots of other little minor annoyances, in room coffee machine not working etc. If you paid $125 a night, you would probably not care, but the service was definitely not what you would expect from a place that bills itself as a high end property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaPeery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnGeneralManager, General Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the the time to provide feedback regarding your stay - the service issues in the Bar can, and will be addressed, and our sincerest apologies for the miscues. Your feedback regarding the Commodore Lounge is insightful and useful, as we commence our meeting space and guest room renovations later this year. Thank you for choosing Loews for your Annapolis visit, we hope that we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I always enjoy this hotel in the center of the historic area, No I didn't loose my expensive glasses and blame the hotel as did another reviewer, The banquet faciluty was top notch the bar was cozy, we had lunch at the restaurant and was very pleased with the food. A short walk down the cobbled stone / brick road and we are at Ego alley and all the great tourist traping one would expect but on a more upper scale.

Room Tip: Spend the money and get a suite, alot of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psinned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnGeneralManager, General Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback about your stay! We're happy to hear you enjoyed the suite, and the space and views it affords. We appreciate your loyalty to Loews, and look forward to welcoming you back soon....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.5 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
Historic Inns of Annapolis
#3 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 923 reviews
0.7 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#6 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Annapolis
0.1 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 774 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Annapolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Annapolis Hotel

Property: Loews Annapolis Hotel
Address: 126 West St, Annapolis, MD 21401-2802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Annapolis
#1 Green Hotel in Annapolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Annapolis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps away from the Chesapeake Bay, Loews Annapolis Hotel welcomes you with warm charming guest rooms and luxurious suites decked out in nautical style. Enjoy the comfort and outstanding service of the Chesapeake Bay's favorite choice among Annapolis luxury hotels. In the surrounding area, Loews is your most welcoming port. The premier hotel facility in this charming resort town, the Loews Annapolis Hotel offers a variety of unique suites, meeting spaces, and excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Annapolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Annapolis
Annapolis Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing