We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Timonium, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't stay here”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend trip, we got the romance package. The service was ok, room was clean, location is great, however the price is not worth it. I understand Annapolis is an expensive town, but this place nickel and dimes you every way possible. And there deceitful about it too. When they say free breakfast they mean a subpar continental breakfast, $23 a night per parking, $10 for wifi. If you're going to spend this much for a hotel, you may as well spend it someplace nice, not Loews.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsAnnapolisGM, General Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We regret to hear that you did not feel your stay provided good value. We realize overnight parking can be costly, however we do our best to ensure our rates are competitive for the area. We also understand how important in-room internet access is and we are excited to announce that we will be offering complimentary Wi-Fi starting in June. We appreciate your feedback; please let us know if you have any additional concerns or questions regarding your recent stay.

Warm Regards,
Gavin Philipp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    328
    138
    56
    37
See reviews for
263
415
35
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
183 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for a couple of nights during a conference, nice room, great front desk service. the gym was also a nice size and overall the stay at the hotel was very pleasant and the service was very good. If I am in the area in the future I would stay at this place again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Michel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsAnnapolisGM, General Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We're ecstatic that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, Michel. We strive to provide the best possible service and we're delighted that you had a positive experience with our Front Desk. We thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Annapolis the next time you are in the area!

Warm Regards,
Gavin Philipp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. Patrick and the staff handled every request promptly and professionally ! Rooms were clean and comfortable, the location was very convenient. The valets were awesome and courteous, retrieving our car multiple times daily, in very cold weather.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abacosbound_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsAnnapolisGM, General Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
It's wonderful to hear that you received the 'royal' treatment you deserve! Providing helpful, attentive service is our highest priority so we are ecstatic that you found our staff to be prompt and professional during your recent stay. We thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Annapolis soon!

Warm Regards,
Gavin Philipp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed at the Loews Annapolis hotel recently and was extremely satisfied of how helpful and professional the valet and front desk staff was. The valet, Jason, went above and beyond when explaining parking options and hotel procedures. It's always wonderful to pull up and be greeted by such a professional and helpful valet. After Jason took our bags out of the car he informed us that he would meet us in the lobby to assist with taking our bags to the room. The biggest wow factor was how he recognized (because of my shirt) that I was from Oakland.He then began to talk to my son and I about the recently acquired trade for the QB Matt Flynn. I felt like I could have talked to him forever! Kudos to the manager for recognizing such great talent and putting him as the first thing you are greeted with at the Loews Annapolis.The front desk was also very efficient and helpful explaining the Annapolis area. The room was standard and worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobbyS563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsAnnapolisGM, General Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, Bobby. We appreciate your positive feedback regarding our staff and will be sure to pass along your compliments to Jason! We strive to make our guests feel as comfortable and welcome as possible and we're thrilled to hear about your experience upon arrival. We hope you and your son will come visit us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Gavin Philipp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

As other reviewers have said, the parking attendant was awesome. Then we stepped inside....they said that our reservation was a wait list for a king-size bed (not true). When we said we would go elsewhere, incredibly a room with a king because available. My husband and I are still suffering from the pillows made from cement. Never again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmjyflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsAnnapolisGM, General Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We sincerely apologize for the mishap you experienced upon check-in. We know how important room types are when traveling and are deeply sorry for any distress this inconvenience caused you and your husband. We strive to provide proactive, attentive service and appreciate your feedback so we can enhance our processes and overall guest experience.

Warm Regards,
Gavin Philipp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for a conference at the USNA. The hotel is well-situated, and about a 20-minute walk from the Naval Academy. The outside presents a very pleasing and welcoming feeling, and this continues as you enter through the front door. The bellmen and front desk staff are very friendly and professional and the main lobby is nicely done, with plenty of seating, light and atmosphere. The front desk is easy to access from the front door and not far out of the way. The room we had was a pretty standard hotel room, with two beds, coffee maker, tv, bathroom, etc. It was clean and had good full-length mirrors for getting ready, etc. The main reason I rank this hotel lower is that the beds are past their prime, with worn center spots, so no matter how much you toss and turn or try to move to one side, you end up in a pile in the middle. Its time for this hotel to replace the beds! The beds are also really small, definitely two full size beds in the room, as opposed to two queen size beds. The other furnishings were a bit tired, but still looked nice and functioned well. We had an interior room, so you have to keep your curtains closed at all times or you risk being seen by all the other guests with interior rooms as these windows look into a big glass-domed area with clear views of the other rooms. So, I would suggest asking for an exterior room. Also, the windows in the interior rooms don't open, so no way to get fresh air.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trufflestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsAnnapolisGM, General Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed our location and newly renovated lobby. We understand your concerns about our guest rooms and are happy to announce that they are in the process of being renovated as well. New bedding and updated furniture will be some of the highlights of our new look. We thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Annapolis to experience our new and improved décor!

Warm Regards,
Gavin Philipp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

From the second you pull your car up, the Loews takes care of everything. The valet was very helpful and called a bellman over immediately to assist with our bags. The lobby has multiple seating areas and is very modern, with tall ceilings. The checkin/checkout process was simple and easy. We ended up with a room on the Club level and it was great. Very clean, bed was comfortable and with all the amenities one would expect in a Loews. By being on the Club level you also have access to a free continental breakfast in the morning. Our floor was very quiet, so it was easy to get a good night's sleep. The hotel is just down a little ways from Rams Head Tavern, so if you're going to a show and want a place to crash, this hotel is for you. It's also only about a ten minute walk to main street to check out the shops, restaurants and bars in the harbor area. The Loews also has a great restaurant on site called the West Kitchen and Tavern. The food was very good and on a Friday night, the bar area was PACKED!

Special thank you to front office manager Kristine Liwanag and also the nice male manager at West Kitchen and Tavern (didn't catch his name) for switching our room. We came during a hockey convention and they were gracious enough to move us to a quieter floor. Thanks again!

Room Tip: ask for club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsAnnapolisGM, General Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We're ecstatic to hear about your pleasant experience during your recent stay. We're happy you enjoyed your club level guest room and were able to stop by WEST Kitchen & Tavern's bar. We will be sure to pass along your kind feedback to our staff and look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Annapolis upon your return to the area!

Warm Regards,
Gavin Philipp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.7 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.4 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
2.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
2.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Annapolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Annapolis Hotel

Property: Loews Annapolis Hotel
Address: 126 West St, Annapolis, MD 21401-2802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Annapolis
#1 Business Hotel in Annapolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Annapolis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps away from the Chesapeake Bay, Loews Annapolis Hotel welcomes you with warm charming guest rooms and luxurious suites decked out in nautical style. Enjoy the comfort and outstanding service of the Chesapeake Bay's favorite choice among Annapolis luxury hotels. In the surrounding area, Loews is your most welcoming port. The premier hotel facility in this charming resort town, the Loews Annapolis Hotel offers a variety of unique suites, meeting spaces, and excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Annapolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Annapolis
Annapolis Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing