We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Reception - Magical and Enchanting Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Stevensville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding Reception - Magical and Enchanting Experience”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

All aspects of service and management of this facility were simply outstanding. From the parking/valet attendants to the front desk management staff, the quality of service provided was beyond excellant. Loews provided a never to be forgotten experience!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MOB10712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAnnapolis, Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
WOW!! Thank you! We will certainly share your sentiments with our team. I truly appreciate you taking the time to leave such a heartfelt comment. We are constantly looking for ways to provide memorable experiences and I am so pleased that we were able to contribute to this very special day! Holly is our expert Wedding planner and I know she planned this event as though it was her own. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    323
    136
    55
    37
See reviews for
258
405
35
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portsmouth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Excellent facilities, clean rooms and fantastic service. Nicely located near for eating out in town or the outskirts. Parking is expensive. The only gripe was the internet connection was a rip off fee. A hotel such as this, should be providing internat access for free. I was on a business course. The food and refreshments were 5 star.
The rooms facing the atrium would get noisy I suspect, as there are a few conferences ongoing during the day.

The free golf buggy runs are great . For a tip, the cool drivers will drop you off around downtown to explore. Loved Annapolis.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turbotravellerturbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAnnapolis, Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Thank you for your balanced review. We partnered with eCruisers to provide our complimentary shuttle service for the hotel well over a year ago. The drivers are cool and can usually zip you around and give you as much or as little Annapolis scuttlebutt as you would like. They appreciate tips, but hopefully didn't make you feel like you had to tip. And yes, our Chef is the best!!
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, va
Level Contributor
283 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Why do I continue to stay at the Loews when visiting Annapolis? Two reasons, location and dog friendly. The cons are that the rooms, even those listed as deluxe are only standard hotel rooms. No larger than a Hampton Inn room and smaller than Homewood. we stay to go to either the boat show or to attend concerts at Rams Head. One of the Pros is that they do supply robes and have nice products in the bath. The rooms can be noisy, in the front there is the traffic in the back construction and in the middle weddings. The issue is that, for the location this is the best value. I have to give kudos to the valet/bell staff, a young man name Chris was more than helpful to us when we had room issues. I also love that dogs are accepted and made to feel at home. I will continue to stay here unless I discover a b&b in the area that will take dogs.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We paid quite a bit more (I think $224) for the regular price, but it was worth it to be with our best friends who clicked for the NYE Living Social deal a bit more more quickly.... Still, our fifth floor room was terrific, with a lovely terrace, which we did not use sadly, given the winter weather. We went to the bar well before the festivities and loved drinks and their appetizers-- the crab dip was especially delicious. We have enjoyed this hotel before on New Year's, and the area restaurants are great, but reserve early. Very walkable to all the shops, sites, Naval Academy, Statehouse, St. Johns College, and eateries. However, being dressed up, we did appreciate the Loew's shuttle-- an extended golf-cart with plastic windows. The drivers were so nice, we hardly waited and they picked up and delivered us to the door. This time we didn't go to the spa--previously we thought it was fine-- not high end, but very convenient with skilled (and chatty) staff. It was fun to see the same verison of my spa robe in the closet, earned during a previous visit. It is a favorite memento. The bed was awesome, though my friend found the pillows a bit hard and high. Prefer Marriott's strategy-- with several pillow options. A highlight were greeting the well-mannered canine guests milling about (and their owners). Still we left ours at home, knowing we'd have more fun without them. As for breakfast, yes, it is standard hotel buffet, but the fresh fruit was ripe, and the food was replenished regularly, with plenty of Starbucks coffee, and no one rushing us to leave. I thought the scrambled eggs were tasty, and appreciated that the hotel allowed our friends staying through Living Social the opportunity to join us in the lounge on our floor, which was more intimate and less chaotic than the main restaurant. All in all, we will probably come here again.

Room Tip: 5th floor. This hotel does not have a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SRSvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Like Sher1234, my wife and I took advantage of a Living Social NYE deal to stay at the Loews. Overall I was incredibly impressed, but in the interest of full disclosure, we did receive free parking, free breakfast at the restaurant, and two food/drink vouchers.

Our room was excellent for a mid-luxury hotel. While we did not get a room with a "historic" view, it was roomy with modern amenities. Their coffee machine was a Keurig, which was a genius touch (why don't more hotels do this?). Our stay would never be confused with staying at the Ritz, but compared to some of the other major chains I've stayed in for business trips the room was better. Two exceptional aspects: the bed was very comfortable. I have a bad back but slept better than I have in a long time; I woke up at 7:30 feeling refreshed after a long night. Second, the bathroom is large and the shower is actually quite nice. Unlike many hotel showers, the shower head gave a nice, massaging stream which made for a relaxing shower.

As for the food, the one major complaint I have is what gave this review a four star. We went to the Weather Rail for a drink before dinner (which we had in Annapolis) and it was horrible. The beer was overpriced, which was expected, but the service was abysmal. We sat at a small table right in front of the bar, but we saw our waiter once in the hour we were there. Guests from a wedding in the hotel came in and took over for a bit, but there was not enough of them to justify ignoring us and the tables around us. We would have drank more but since we never saw a server, we didn't get the chance. Really really bad experience.

We ate breakfast at Breeze, but as Sher1234 noted it was free and not worth the normal cost (about $15 a person).

Overall a great property with an incredibly friendly staff (save the absent bartender). It is a 10-15 minute walk to the waterfront and there are some good off-the-beaten path places to eat and drink within a 3 minute walk. I would certainly stay in this property again

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigeyedfish82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We got a great offer of $169 a night through Living Social. Included room, valet parking (usually $32), bar and/or restaurant coupon for $38 for liquor or food, bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries and free breakfast for two.

This hotel is in a great location to tour Annapolis. They also have a free shuttle if you don't want to walk. The room was very nice, comfortable beds. The view was not great - we looked out over the roof - but we did not spend much time in the room.

The exercise room here was well equipped, and fortunately we did not partake of too much drink the night before (New Years) and were able to make use of it!

The breakfast was average. I would not have paid $15 for it (regular rate for buffet). They had bacon, eggs, panacakes, sasuage, cereal, pastries, etc. The eggs tasted powdered.

The bar area was pretty nice, but prices were typically higher hotel prices. There were no events here New Year's Eve. However, we already had plans with friends downtown and it was a beautiful, warm night, so we enjoyed the walk.

Would definitely stay here again, but would check Priceline or Living Social for a deal before paying full rack rate.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sher1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Hotel room was ok, just OK. Cleanliness was above average, service was good. My only complaint was the noise. They had a wedding in the central function room and the rooms all around me we rather noisy until the morning. bathroom was clean and outfitted with the usual run of the mill fixtures. Location was nice, about 1/4-1/2 mile to the waterfront and shops. Value, overpriced in my opinion but I guess for the area that's the norm.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room that isn't adjacent to the function room. If you can ask for a room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vortex1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.7 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.4 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
843 reviews
2.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Annapolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Annapolis Hotel

Property: Loews Annapolis Hotel
Address: 126 West St., Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Annapolis
#1 Business Hotel in Annapolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Annapolis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps away from the Chesapeake Bay, Loews Annapolis Hotel welcomes you with warm charming guest rooms and luxurious suites decked out in nautical style. Enjoy the comfort and outstanding service of the Chesapeake Bay's favorite choice among Annapolis luxury hotels. In the surrounding area, Loews is your most welcoming port. The premier hotel facility in this charming resort town, the Loews Annapolis Hotel offers a variety of unique suites, meeting spaces, and excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Annapolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Annapolis
Annapolis Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing