We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year's Eve-- too late for Living Social”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve-- too late for Living Social”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We paid quite a bit more (I think $224) for the regular price, but it was worth it to be with our best friends who clicked for the NYE Living Social deal a bit more more quickly.... Still, our fifth floor room was terrific, with a lovely terrace, which we did not use sadly, given the winter weather. We went to the bar well before the festivities and loved drinks and their appetizers-- the crab dip was especially delicious. We have enjoyed this hotel before on New Year's, and the area restaurants are great, but reserve early. Very walkable to all the shops, sites, Naval Academy, Statehouse, St. Johns College, and eateries. However, being dressed up, we did appreciate the Loew's shuttle-- an extended golf-cart with plastic windows. The drivers were so nice, we hardly waited and they picked up and delivered us to the door. This time we didn't go to the spa--previously we thought it was fine-- not high end, but very convenient with skilled (and chatty) staff. It was fun to see the same verison of my spa robe in the closet, earned during a previous visit. It is a favorite memento. The bed was awesome, though my friend found the pillows a bit hard and high. Prefer Marriott's strategy-- with several pillow options. A highlight were greeting the well-mannered canine guests milling about (and their owners). Still we left ours at home, knowing we'd have more fun without them. As for breakfast, yes, it is standard hotel buffet, but the fresh fruit was ripe, and the food was replenished regularly, with plenty of Starbucks coffee, and no one rushing us to leave. I thought the scrambled eggs were tasty, and appreciated that the hotel allowed our friends staying through Living Social the opportunity to join us in the lounge on our floor, which was more intimate and less chaotic than the main restaurant. All in all, we will probably come here again.

Room Tip: 5th floor. This hotel does not have a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SRSvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    323
    137
    55
    37
See reviews for
261
408
35
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Like Sher1234, my wife and I took advantage of a Living Social NYE deal to stay at the Loews. Overall I was incredibly impressed, but in the interest of full disclosure, we did receive free parking, free breakfast at the restaurant, and two food/drink vouchers.

Our room was excellent for a mid-luxury hotel. While we did not get a room with a "historic" view, it was roomy with modern amenities. Their coffee machine was a Keurig, which was a genius touch (why don't more hotels do this?). Our stay would never be confused with staying at the Ritz, but compared to some of the other major chains I've stayed in for business trips the room was better. Two exceptional aspects: the bed was very comfortable. I have a bad back but slept better than I have in a long time; I woke up at 7:30 feeling refreshed after a long night. Second, the bathroom is large and the shower is actually quite nice. Unlike many hotel showers, the shower head gave a nice, massaging stream which made for a relaxing shower.

As for the food, the one major complaint I have is what gave this review a four star. We went to the Weather Rail for a drink before dinner (which we had in Annapolis) and it was horrible. The beer was overpriced, which was expected, but the service was abysmal. We sat at a small table right in front of the bar, but we saw our waiter once in the hour we were there. Guests from a wedding in the hotel came in and took over for a bit, but there was not enough of them to justify ignoring us and the tables around us. We would have drank more but since we never saw a server, we didn't get the chance. Really really bad experience.

We ate breakfast at Breeze, but as Sher1234 noted it was free and not worth the normal cost (about $15 a person).

Overall a great property with an incredibly friendly staff (save the absent bartender). It is a 10-15 minute walk to the waterfront and there are some good off-the-beaten path places to eat and drink within a 3 minute walk. I would certainly stay in this property again

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigeyedfish82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We got a great offer of $169 a night through Living Social. Included room, valet parking (usually $32), bar and/or restaurant coupon for $38 for liquor or food, bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries and free breakfast for two.

This hotel is in a great location to tour Annapolis. They also have a free shuttle if you don't want to walk. The room was very nice, comfortable beds. The view was not great - we looked out over the roof - but we did not spend much time in the room.

The exercise room here was well equipped, and fortunately we did not partake of too much drink the night before (New Years) and were able to make use of it!

The breakfast was average. I would not have paid $15 for it (regular rate for buffet). They had bacon, eggs, panacakes, sasuage, cereal, pastries, etc. The eggs tasted powdered.

The bar area was pretty nice, but prices were typically higher hotel prices. There were no events here New Year's Eve. However, we already had plans with friends downtown and it was a beautiful, warm night, so we enjoyed the walk.

Would definitely stay here again, but would check Priceline or Living Social for a deal before paying full rack rate.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sher1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Hotel room was ok, just OK. Cleanliness was above average, service was good. My only complaint was the noise. They had a wedding in the central function room and the rooms all around me we rather noisy until the morning. bathroom was clean and outfitted with the usual run of the mill fixtures. Location was nice, about 1/4-1/2 mile to the waterfront and shops. Value, overpriced in my opinion but I guess for the area that's the norm.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room that isn't adjacent to the function room. If you can ask for a room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vortex1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talleyville, Delaware
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

A modern hotel with a great location for naval and government business. A bit of a walk to the downtown restaurant and shopping district but they have a shuttle service that will get you there and accepts phone calls for pickup. The state house and court house are only a couple of blocks away.

The room was clean, the HVAC system was quiet and the wireless worked better than most hotels. Very comfortable bed. The bathroom was a bit small but everything worked. Good shower. There is a massive construction project going on behind the hotel so if you are a late riser, then make sure you request a room on West Street. The elevator system is a little noisy on the concierge level.

The Breezes restaurant is a little pricey but the food is excellent. Very unusual and tasty breakfast options. If you are on a business expense account, then the prices in the restaurant and bar are affordable. If you are touring, then everything seems a little excessive BUT then again, this is Annapolis.

Every staff member we came in contact with was friendly and helpful, from the parking garage to the restaurant. They all made eye contact and inquired about our needs. It's a small thing but it makes a difference. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for the West Street side if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SearchLite99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

Advantages:
Amazing buggies to downtown (for a gratuity) with friendly & helpful drivers
Classy, included breakfast
Chilled towels and water in excellent gym
Good TV
Concierge
Hotel shop

Disadvantages:
Indoor windows in some rooms
Pay for car park
Excessive tipping

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkiehannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

We checked in on Friday the 9th of December for just one night. We had previously called to add a note to the reservation to defeather the room due to allergy. Upon check in, the receptionist added that "from a third party reservation site" they aren't able to access special requests. When I told her we actually called the hotel directly to add the request she was like "oh yeah I see it now". Check in was polite and quick, and they had little yummy chocolates to enjoy during the process.
When we got to our room, there was still feather down bedding. We called housekeeping and they only took about 15 minutes to come to the room to switch them for hypoallergenic.
We ordered room service which by most standards was reasonably priced and was large portions. The room itself was quite large and felt private, with windows overlooking some trees. The bathroom was also very large for hotel standards. The room and bath were quite clean. The bed was very comfortable as was the temperature of the room. The heat/AC unit worked terrifically. They provide guests with in-room Keurig coffee maker and an assortment of K Cup drinks to choose from and a mini fridge. The location of the hotel was terrific and there is a local shuttle which operates from 10:30am-10:30PM that will take you anywhere in downtown Annapolis. They provide you with the direct number for the shuttle at check in or the valets can also arrange the ride for you. It was terrific to not have to drive around town on a Friday night and try to to find parking. The valets were quick and friendly.
There were a few negatives to the room and stay. The first of course was the lack of attention to a serious allergy with the feathers. The second was that the walls were so paper thin that we could hear the people in the room next door talking, and also their alarm clock going off in the morning. For some reason we were called by the front desk at 6:45AM (after being out until midnight!) with our "wake up call". Though they addressed me by name (so we know it wasn't a wrong room number) we had not actually requested a wake up call at all. The water pressure in the shower was pathetic but luckily there was a "massage" setting on the shower head so I was able to get enough pressure to wash the shampoo out of my hair.
All in all not a bad experience, but if I had to stay in Annapolis in the future I might try another one of the hotels.

Room Tip: Request or reserve a room on the exterior of the building. There is an atrium in the center of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.7 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.4 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
2.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
2.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Annapolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Annapolis Hotel

Property: Loews Annapolis Hotel
Address: 126 West St., Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Annapolis
#1 Green Hotel in Annapolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Annapolis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps away from the Chesapeake Bay, Loews Annapolis Hotel welcomes you with warm charming guest rooms and luxurious suites decked out in nautical style. Enjoy the comfort and outstanding service of the Chesapeake Bay's favorite choice among Annapolis luxury hotels. In the surrounding area, Loews is your most welcoming port. The premier hotel facility in this charming resort town, the Loews Annapolis Hotel offers a variety of unique suites, meeting spaces, and excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Annapolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Annapolis
Annapolis Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing