We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Annapolis!! Location is Amazing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Historic Inns of Annapolis
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2010

My stay at this hotel was amazing! I was here for a weekend and everything went pretty smooth. The best thing about it is the location. Very centralized!! You can walk pretty much everywhere in the Downtown area. I went to visit the US Naval Academy and is just a few minutes walk! I will definitely be staying here again! The hotel staff was very friendly. I would say the only downside was that it was a bit expensive, but it was definitely worth all the money...plus all the other hotels in the downtown area were even more expensive! So I guess it wasn't that bad!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amframos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

958 - 964 of 1,157 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2010

We stayed at this hotel as it was built in 1720 and is on the state circle. Make sure you take a relaxer before driving this circle as it is barely wide enough for ONE car. Annapolis is great but it rivals Boston for a tough road system (thanks to the colonists). There are THREE inns in this Historic Inns setup. Two are on the circle and the Maryland House is on Main Street. You check in at the Calvert House and let them valet your car from here. Breakfast is at the Maryland House so we had to walk a couple of blocks for this. We stayed one night but wish it could have been more. The help is very nice and hustle to get the job done. In a sitting room at the Calvert there is a glass floor over what had been a greenhouse system in 1720. It was a fun stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sliphorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

I've stayed in a few places in Annapolis over the years and this is the nicest to date. The hotel is split between several historic buildings in the historic old town, clustered around the Maryland Senate House and other historic buildings. Only the main building has a reception/concierge, and I was in the Robert Johnston House, which was accessible to anyone with a room key for that building.

The room was spacious and full of character with quality furnishings (if they're not antiques they are reasonable reproductions) and drapes in keeping with the historic building. You are very close to Main Street, the Naval Academy and the City Dock with its restaurants and bars.

My only slight complaint would be if you get a room on the ground floor facing the State Circle you will get a little noise at night from foot and vehicular traffic. Other than that the place is lovely!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandyLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Walking distance to everything we wanted to see. The staff was super nice. We walked to the water in the morning to have our breakfast and watch boats come in and go out. Harry Brown's restaurant is right next door. All the local shops line the streets around the hotel. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aksja5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We had booked a room with 2 double beds on their internet site. When we arrived we were given a room, but when we got to it with all our baggage we noticed there was only one bed. So we dragged our bags back to the front desk and ended up being told by the manager on duty that there had been a computer error and there were no rooms with 2 beds available when we booked (several weeks earlier !). I couldn't believe that they had not contacted us at the time so we could have booked elsewhere and that they had not advised us on checking-in but just gave us a room knowing it wasn't what we had booked ! Given we didn't have any choice, we accepted the upgraded room with 1 queen bed (which was quite nice). The location across from the State House is excellent for visiting the town and the overall hotel atmosphere is quite nice.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

I had my wedding at the Historic Inns of Annapolis and had all my guests stay at this hotel as well. The staff of the Historic Inns made the event convenient, stress-free, and so enjoyable! The rooms are beautiful and clean. There is no reason to stay at any other hotel in the area! Every time I travel to Annapolis or any surrounding area I am definitely staying with the Historic Inns of Annapolis! The best and most convenient experience I've ever had with any establishment! I really just can't say enough!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnacitro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

husband and I stayed at the historic inns of annapolis for a vacation that included touring DC. The location of the hotel couldnt be better, within close walking distance of restaurants, shops, visitor center the naval academy and easy to get to the highway. Our room initially worried us, on the first floor in front of elevator and facing the street( all no no's in our book ) but we decided to give it a try and it was the quietest room and the best sleep we have had in a hotel in a long time. We were in the robert johnson (?) building and it is really well insulated or something b/c it was silent. We had a standard room w/ queen bed and it was spacious enough, not huge but typical size. Monstrous flat screen tv made my husband happy. included bkfst was excellent,choice of eggs benedict w/crab cakes..doesnt get any better than that. We are frequent travellers and were very pleased. We had just come from a four day stay at an Inn on the eastern shore and this was a much better sleep.We actually extended our stay. We drove to New Carrolton station and took the train to DC most days. Very easy. Hotel is spread over 3 buildings on different streets so a little confusing at first but easy to figure out. Staff (especially Ali at front desk and Mike in the restaurant) were all super nice. We were lucky and even got on street parking. It was the days after the boat show so the area was a bit quiet. We toured DC during the day and returned to Annapolis for dinner. Galway bay pub is a great place for casual food w/great salads. The 2 sushi places were both very good and for a fancy dinner O'learys was outstanding. Overall a great hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhodeIslandLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.5 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
1,282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#8 of 21 in Annapolis
870 reviews
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
3.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Inns of Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Inns of Annapolis

Address: 58 State Cir, Annapolis, MD 21401-1906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#7 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#9 Business Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range: $121 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Inns of Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History comes to life at the Historic Inns of Annapolis. Located in downtown Annapolis, the Historic Inns of Annapolis comprise three unique hotels - each one with a storied past and significant place in American history. Perfect for a family vacation or a business retreat, the inns exude charm and class that have attracted guests for generations. From guest rooms to banquet rooms, we have all the space you need for the ideal getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Historic Inns of Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Inns Of Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Historic Hotel Annapolis
Annapolis Historic Hotel
Historic Inns Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing