We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding, Clean, Friendly, Quaint”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Historic Inns of Annapolis
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding, Clean, Friendly, Quaint”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Governor Calvert House was amazing. We rented two double bed rooms for the weekend for ourselves and children. We were there for a wedding. First, upon arrival we were greeted at our car by the very friendly valets. From the moment we entered until the time we left, everything was first class. Check-In was quick, friendly and with a smile, rooms were ready even though we were early getting there. The room was immaculate and very pretty over looking the inside court yard. Our bed was so comfortable and lots of pillows, which we love, the pillows were great!!!! We hate those thin, flat pillows. Down comforters that were so soft, best beds and pillows ever and we travel a lot!!!! Bathroom was also very clean!!! The town itself was so pretty and clean, people so friendly, they actually say hello, so you can hear!!! The Maryland Inn, where we had breakfast was beautiful. The server, Gaber, was extremely friendly and very informative about the area. We had dinner the first night at Carrols Creek Cafe, right on the water and saying the food was fabulous, service outstanding, atmosphere incredible, still does not do it justice. A perfect weekend with friends and family. You absolutely need a weekend get away to the fabulous Historic Inns of Annapolis, lots of shopping as well all within walking distance.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are great!!! The bride and groom had 30 rooms blocked on all floors all loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear KathyP:

Thank you for your feedback; it is very gratifying to read that many of the “behind the scene” efforts that we engage in daily certainly paid off for your stay, as they do for so many of our guests. I was very pleased to read that everything came together and will share you feedback with our team. We have already recognized Gaber at our Staff Meeting and I have personally thanked him; we will show him this feedback.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    293
    100
    60
    58
See reviews for
222
544
38
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have stayed at all three of the Historic Inn locations multiple time and have never been disappointed. I've spent many short weekends with them, but it was a no-brainer when I would be in Annapolis for an extended period (14 days). The service is perfect, the location couldn't be better, and the fact that the history is so rich makes the stay that much more fun! Will continue to stay with them every time I go to Annapolis.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but not very large most of the time. If you want a large room, call and ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear MollieM:

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor! I am so happy that you got to spend some time with us; I hope you got some time to relax and it wasn’t all business. I am proud of the service our team provides and happy you noted the various historical aspects of our hotel and the City.

We appreciate your loyalty; we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

A one night anniversary trip...check in fast and easy and with a smile...assigned to room 407, a corner unit...well appointed, clean and charming...this hotel is in the perfect location for an Annapolis stay...we had a wonderful dinner at the Lewnes steakhouse followed by a walking pub crawl thru the downtown area...Drummer's Lot pub is on premises and is cozy...Peanut the bartender is friendly and makes a good cocktail...we look forward to returning in the spring...highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royalpiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Royalpiper:

Thank you for your feedback. What a delight to hear that you were so pleased with the Historic Inns on such an important occasion as your Anniversary! Thanks for recognizing our bartender, Peanut. He has been pouring great drinks in the Drummer’s Lot Pub for nearly 30 years and we look forward to him doing the same for many years to come.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you back in spring. Take care and have a great weekend.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Very nice queen room at the Governor Calvert House, overlooking the garden. Spacious room with sofa and chairs. A little noisy with several events in the garden below, but they were quiet by 10pm so that was fine. Nice to have coffee and pastries in the morning in the lobby.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Pat S:

Thank you for putting your comments on TripAdvisor. I was glad to read you enjoyed your stay in the Calvert House and that events in the hotel quieted down as they should have. It was great that you were able to take advantage of our “grab and go” pastries and coffee.

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Hill, Maryland, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here this past weekend. The inn is beautiful and we loved the way it is decorated.
I fell in love with their King bed with pillowtop. It was like sleeping in a nest. :-) Hotel is within
walking distance of dock and all the local shops. Can walk to numerous restaurants and or bars. We would stay again and we recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: choose the room with the king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Kelley M:

Thank you for posting your feedback; it was great to read you had such a great night’s sleep and found our location in the middle of Historic Downtown Annapolis to be great. I was also pleased to see on your ratings that we did so well in several different areas.

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Our son chose the Historic Inns out of many locations in the DC area for his wedding. We stayed in the Governor Calvert House which was also where the ceremony was held. If you like historic areas then this is for you, with the state capitol building, the harbor and the Naval academy right there within walking distance as well as great restaurants serving up Maryland seafood. Although we did not have enough time with all the wedding festivities, there are many little shops in the area. Our room was decorated in period pieces and the staff was very attentive. Thanks for making our son's wedding a memorable one!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Larry G:

Thank you for your feedback. I was glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us and that your Son’s wedding went so well. You are correct in nothing there are a number of things to see and do in Annapolis and our location is excellent as a home base for anyone who wants to walk about the downtown Historic Area and take in the sites.

We appreciate that your Son and Daughter in Law chose us for their special day and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,


Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayreville
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Once again, the Lord Calvert Inn became our home for the October Sailboat Show, and it was even more appreciated due to the downpours and cool temps. It's charm and cozy atmosphere inside and its proximity to the harbor definitely made it the perfect location. In addition, the continental breakfast allowed us to leisurely prepare for the day, without having to go out in the rain for coffee and treat. The staff consistently over the years is very professional, friendly, and helpful, and seeing management on site assures that its high standards are being maintained. There are also excellent restaurants within steps of the front door and the shops on Maryland Avenue are worth a visit. As always, we look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeisureTimeTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear LeisureTimeTraveler:

Thank you for your feedback. I am so happy you have stayed with us consistently over time and that we helped to brighten a rainy weekend. I did learn, however, that Sailors are not typically deterred by rain and that certainly seems to have been the case with you! I was very proud to read how well you felt we did for you. You must come see us at times other than Sailboat; Annapolis is great any time of year and with many different things happening at any given time.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.5 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#3 of 21 in Annapolis
1,185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
0.8 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
838 reviews
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Inns of Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Inns of Annapolis

Property: Historic Inns of Annapolis
Address: 58 State Cir, Annapolis, MD 21401-1906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#7 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#9 Business Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Inns of Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History comes to life at the Historic Inns of Annapolis. Located in downtown Annapolis, the Historic Inns of Annapolis comprise three unique hotels - each one with a storied past and significant place in American history. Perfect for a family vacation or a business retreat, the inns exude charm and class that have attracted guests for generations. From guest rooms to banquet rooms, we have all the space you need for the ideal getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Historic Inns of Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Inns Of Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Historic Hotel Annapolis
Annapolis Historic Hotel
Historic Inns Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing