We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maryland Inn...Old...Creaky....FUN! Perfect location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic Inns of Annapolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Historic Inns of Annapolis
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
160 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Maryland Inn...Old...Creaky....FUN! Perfect location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

There's just something special about staying in a really old historic hotel. Sure the floors creak and there may be 20 coats of paint on the door, but the idea of actual Presidents having slept in the same building over 150 years ago is just too cool (for some of us).
That said, the Maryland Inn delivered on modern comfort and ammenities along with being perfectly located.

A bonus, there is a modern Starbucks in the dark stone basement.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R&G-Opine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear R&G-Opine:

Thank you for your feedback. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and took delight in some the idiosyncrasies that go along with being the oldest continually operating place of lodging in the state of Maryland! I’m also glad you enjoyed and took advantage of the updates we have provided to the Maryland Inn over time.

With 130 reviews under your belt I certainly yield to your sense of perspective and look forward to welcoming you back again soon so we can earn a “5” and not a “4.”

Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    284
    100
    58
    58
See reviews for
213
527
38
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Delaware, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Annapolis is a favorite destination for a weekend or just meeting friends from D.C. or Baltimore for dinner. Historic Inns of Annapolis has great rooms in the heart of the city, an easy and enjoyable walk from the harbor, restaurants, St. Mary's Church, the Academy and St. John's. Try to stay in the Robert Johnson House, the rooms are comfortable, well maintained, historic, and convenient to the main shopping and dining district. Walk out the door and the Governor's Mansion is to your left , the Capitol rises above you across the narrow street, and the Chesapeake Bay is in sight on your right. Found the staff to be super friendly, it's a working colonial town with tight streets, neat houses, state government, two colleges and lots of visitors all competing for scarce street parking spaces so use the valet service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear BestyP:

Thank you for your feedback. I was so happy read how much you enjoyed your stay and to read of the great summary of things you visited while you were with us. I’m sure you enjoyed walking around the Historic District and finding how easy and close everything was.

We are very proud of our hotel and of our team, and will continue to make the efforts you saw during your stay so that we continue to earn a rating of 5 from all of our guests!

Thanks for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

So this place has a ton of character. Annap is a lovely destination and we loved our stay here. The service is great in this hotel. Everyone hustles and makes the very best of the logistical hurdles of a hotel located on a crowed traffic circle in a crowded town. The hotel is dated in many ways but what would you expect for a historical inn. That said, it is all clean, well kept up and very comfortable. AC was very noisy in our room but it put out huge amounts of cold air. Location of hotel could not be better. Close to everything. Nice bars and restaurants nearby and walking distance to all the places you want to go in Annapolis. Its not plush but it is comfortable and historical. Dont hesitate to stay in any one of their hotels.

Room Tip: Tip the valet guys out front well, they earn it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TodUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear TodUSA:

Thanks for your feedback and for your many positive comments about our ambience, cleanliness, great air conditioning, and an energetic group of associates who make it happen for our guests!

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to wowing you again on your next visit so we can earn a rating of 5 from you.

Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Oh my ... think again before you stay here. We stayed in the Robert Johnson House; overpriced, not adequately stocked with toilet paper, broken window pane, box spring stained with black smudges, door had to be slammed shut, bed against the door ... I could go on and on. Stay at a hotel that was built in your lifetime!!! Being in the historic area is not worth the price of this hotel.
Side note, the staff were very nice but again think again and before you decide to stay here.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThinkAgain5858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear ThinkAgain5858:

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you encountered several issues during your stay. I will copy your feedback to share with my staff so that we can work to correct the issues you described. Your experience is not typical of most of our guests and we will work to regain your goodwill. We appreciate your feedback. In spite of the issues you encountered I was also pleased that you took time to comment on the quality of our team. Thank you.

We hope to be of service to you at some point in the future.

Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anoka
Level Contributor
157 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

You will have no pool or exorcise room. You may not even have a person at a desk at your hotel. But you will have a good nights sleep in a VERY comfy old style plush bed. at a reasonable price. If you wish to park your car in their garage it can be a little hassle if your not at the Inn that has the garage. We just parked on the street by our hotel and had no issue. Our street had a nice walk to the harbor and PLENTY of places to eat and shop as you walk the three blocks or so to the harbor. The room we had was comfortable cool and had a living room with a pass through bath to a bedroom. A ton of room and a beautiful view of the dome on the state capital right outside our bedroom window.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Gov. Calvert house and had a room that had windows on two sides of the building and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDeuker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear SDeuker:

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor. I was pleased to read that you found the Historic Inns to be as you expected and that we offered a cool and peaceful respite in a great location to your walks in and around downtown Annapolis.

We very much appreciate your business and your feedback, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This inn is 1 block from the US Naval Academy and 1 block from the historic area of town. Perfect location. The service was warm, friendly, and very professional. Our room on the 3rd floor as beautifully appointed and perfect for us. We enjoyed the jaccuzi after a night on the town.

The inn, built in 1864, is decorated with a keen eye for color, a sense of warmth, and pieces of the time. There is a sense that time stands still when you close the front door.

My husband and I are planning on a return trip!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear DonnaG:

Thank you for your feedback. I was delighted to read that you so enjoyed your stay, found the hotel to be warm and our staff to be professional. You are absolutely correct about the great location we have in the heart of Historic Downtown Annapolis.

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

A friend and I kicked off a friends' getaway with a 1-night stay at the Governor Calvert House.
I chose Historic Inns, in part because they offer "double double" rooms. Not many B&Bs and historic inns in the Annapolis area have them. Our reservation was for a double double in the Robert Johnson House, but on our arrival, reception offered us a comparable room in the GCH at the same rate. We checked in on a sweltering afternoon, and even though the RJH is very close, we were happy to stay in the a.c. for a bit and go right upstairs to our room, instead of up the street.

If you are a history buff, you'll enjoy the GCH. It's full of Annapolitan atmosphere -- colonial furnishings, vintage photos, and nautical prints and paintings. The inn has an additional attraction in the form of the archaeological excavation and artifacts that are on display in 2 of the public areas.

Our double double room was nice. The beds were really comfortable, linens clean. Aside from 1 or 2 things missed by housekeeping (one of the bathroom lights not working; somebody's old hairpin on the desk), the room was very clean and comfortable. It overlooked the atrium/courtyard and was quiet the night we stayed (a Monday, no event in the atrium). Be forewarned: the toilet flush sounds like it's jet-propelled. Caught me off guard and made me jump the first time. My friend and I laughed about it, but we agreed that it could easily terrify a small child, so parents, be prepared. Also, we weren't thrilled about being awakened shortly after 8:00 am by the housekeeping staff knocking at the door, even though checkout wasn't until noon. If you want to sleep in a little, be sure to use the "Do Not Disturb" sign.

The reception and the valet staff were excellent! Amiable, knowledgeable and entirely professional. They were able to recommend restaurants, and to tell us what would be closed or open on a Monday evening.

Valet parking was worth the additional fee. Bonus points go to the valet staff who remained cheerful despite the extreme heat! We didn't need the car until we left Annapolis the next day. We walked to a waterside restaurant in Eastport for dinner, and the next day strolled and shopped along Main St. and Maryland Ave. We were able to stow our bags with reception so we could enjoy Annapolis for a couple of hours past the checkout time.

I would definitely stay with HIA again and have already recommended the GCH to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrivingScooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear DrivingScooter:

Thank you for your diligence in posting to TripAdvisor; your 49 reviews and status as Senior Contributor attest to that. Having said that, you comments were all the more gratifying to read. I am sorry that we knocked on your door early and will share that and the other guest room comments with my team so we can continue to improve.

I was delighted that you recognized the efforts of our valet team and that you felt we had earned a rating of “5.” We will continue to work to do a great job.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.5 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Inns of Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Inns of Annapolis

Property: Historic Inns of Annapolis
Address: 58 State Cir, Annapolis, MD 21401-1906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#7 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#9 Business Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Inns of Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History comes to life at the Historic Inns of Annapolis. Located in downtown Annapolis, the Historic Inns of Annapolis comprise three unique hotels - each one with a storied past and significant place in American history. Perfect for a family vacation or a business retreat, the inns exude charm and class that have attracted guests for generations. From guest rooms to banquet rooms, we have all the space you need for the ideal getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Historic Inns of Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Inns Of Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Historic Hotel Annapolis
Annapolis Historic Hotel
Historic Inns Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing