We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Historic Inns of Annapolis
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Accomodations”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had an enjoyable two night stay. Checking in was easy, valet service great, room clean and comfortable. Quick walk to Main St and water. Maid service was outstanding. This was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear GeoffreyH:

Thank you for posting your feedback about your recent stay at the Historic Inns of Annapolis. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the valet service to be great and the maid service to be outstanding. I am so happy to have earned a rating of 5 from you!

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    286
    100
    58
    58
See reviews for
215
533
38
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Room 317 in the Governor Calvert House was quaint and romantic. The only issues we encountered were the iron cord kept retracting so we could not use the iron and one of the lamps did not work. Also, the bed was extremely uncomfortable and the pillows were lumpy. We did not get a good night sleep. Since we were there only one night, it was not worth reporting. We had been here four years ago and stayed in the Robert Johnson House. I do prefer the Governor Calvert House.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Robin G:

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. While I was glad to read you found the Governor Calvert House to be a romantic venue, I certainly wish you would have let us know about your discomfort with the bed; we would have done our best to alleviate that or perhaps provide a different room.

I’m happy you enjoyed your stay overall and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
373 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We wanted to be in historic Annapolis. The Maryland Inn, one of 3 properties in the Historic Inns of Annapolis, and located on Church Circle, turned out to be perfect. Check-in is several blocks away at the Calvert House, on nearby State Circle. Our room (#400) on the top floor was VERY spacious, although looking at floor evacuation plan, all rooms were not as spacious. The bath, however, was quite small, but very well appointed. Our queen size bed was comfortable and the linens very nice. There was no in-room coffee, but plenty of free coffee & tea in the inn's lobby each morning. Plus, there was even a Starbucks in the Inn basement (accessed from the street)!

The location was perfect. There was a self-park garage 2 blocks away so no need to valet park and an ample loading/unloading zone outside the inn. There is an elevator, but still some stairs to access the "first floor and elevator". Our room was actually on the 3-1/2 floor so there were several stairs to reach it from either the 3rd or 4th floor elevator stops. The Naval Academy, the Maryland State House and all historic places plus restaurants and wine bars were all within walking distance. Our A/C was fairly noisy and cooled "relatively" well, but otherwise a great place and a great stay.

Room Tip: Study floor map or inquire when reserving since some rooms are very spacious, but some are much smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaroonDawg67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear MaroonDawg67

Well, I could start by saying “Gig ‘em” but I lived in Austin and followed a team of a different color. Regardless, I want to thank you for the detail of your feedback and tell you how pleased I was that you so enjoyed your stay and found our location to rank a "5."

You did a great job noting that our rooms come in a variety of sizes and pointing out a parking option for those who chose not to use the convenience of the hotel valet parking service. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights in the charming, historic Maryland Inn. The hotel was clean, affordable, and the staff members we encountered were friendly and helpful. We especially liked its location--close to everything. My husband liked having coffee available to him in the mornings.

Room Tip: Rooms away from elevator and ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Jane Y:

Thank you for your feedback about the Maryland Inn, one of the buildings comprising the Historic Inns of Annapolis. I was delighted to read that you found our hotel to be clean, the staff to be friendly and helpful, and, most especially, that your husband enjoyed the morning coffee!

We are glad you stayed with us and look forward to being your hotel of choice for future visits to Annapolis.

Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Best value in Annapolis. Close to most things you're interested in. Friendly, helpful staff, knowledgeable about the area and dining options. Rooms are not palatial but comfortable with a decent view. Free internet and coffee in the morning. Great concept and nicely done.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Bill P:

Thank you for completing your Trip Advisor feedback. I was glad to read you found the Historic Inns to be a great value and that you found our staff to be “friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable.” We absolutely strive for that type of response and I am glad to hear we succeeded for you.

We appreciate your feedback about your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying at the Governor Calvert House in Annapolis, Maryland recently. At 58 State Street, you're under the shadow of the Historic Maryland State Capital across the street, the lit dome one of the city landmarks over the harbor.

The room we were in was nice, 2 double beds, firm, nice pillows, decent enough bathroom, a TV. No Microwave, Coffee Maker, or Refrigerator: this was very much like staying over at that posh Aunt's house from the other side of the family, the hoidy-toidy one with the nice guest room. A nice smell about it. No "hotelly" distractions, a nice feel to the entrance lobby, but modern conveniences like elevators and air conditioning were added in and available. Different than the usual. And my wife and I appreciated it.

The relatively recent discovery of an old heating system known as a hypocaust has been unearthed below the foundation line... and made visible via a solid plexiglass floor of a room used for providing coffee and Danish in the morning. The lower level has illumination showing the intricate method by which heated air was generated for the original house. This was the same method used by ancient Romans to heat baths, so there's some intrinsic tangental historic merit to the property besides the aspect of being a house belonging to the Governor Benedict Leonard Calvert family.

Back to the room, the windows are old school sash windows in keeping with the character of the building, and since the weather was mellow, we opened one for some fresh air. We discovered the (heavy) windows needed some service and I reported this to the desk the next morning. No complaints about the very quiet room we had. (see photos).

Location is excellent as you can well imagine, just around the corner from Main Street and walking distance to many of Annapolis' attractions including the harbor, the Naval Academy, etc.

Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blitzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Blitzin:

Thank you for providing your feedback about your recent stay with us. I really enjoyed your commentary about the Historic Inns’ relative to the “posh Aunt” of our childhood – we all had one, right? Anyway, you have a great perspective on some of the features that differentiate us from an “off the shelf” property. We are unique, and are different, and very much enjoy being so.

Thank you for your patronage and comments; we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester MA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We went to Annapolis for a wedding and stayed in the Robert Johnson house. While the occasion was wonderful, I was really disappointed in the overall hotel experience. We booked two rooms and asked for a cot to be put in each one. No one ever said they would charge extra for this much less to the tune of $15 a night. This might have been fine, but one of the rooms was too small to even put the cot up - you literally had to crawl across the cot from the bed to get to the bathroom. They also hit you up for valet costs - $24 a day because there really isn't an alternative. Our three night stay ended up costing us about $1200 even with the discount for the wedding. Finally, I left my very expensive glasses under the bed - we have called three times now to see if they will send them back - at our expense - and no one has bothered to return our calls. I would never stay there again nor recommend the hotels to anyone else.

Room Tip: The rooms are all so small I couldn't really recommend any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeanDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear DeanDD:

Thank you for your feedback and for the detail of your comments. I apologize that you were not told of the extra charge for a cot in the room; I have confirmed with our reservation center and our front desk this is part of our normal disclosure if it is requested as is the valet parking. We will continue to reinforce this process with our agents. We review our valet parking pricing and it is competitive with the local downtown market.

I confirmed with our Executive Housekeeper that he spoke to a member of your party regarding the glasses; I am sorry you called three times with no response.

I appreciate your comments. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.5 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#1 of 21 in Annapolis
1,144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
816 reviews
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Inns of Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Inns of Annapolis

Property: Historic Inns of Annapolis
Address: 58 State Cir, Annapolis, MD 21401-1906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#7 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#9 Business Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Inns of Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History comes to life at the Historic Inns of Annapolis. Located in downtown Annapolis, the Historic Inns of Annapolis comprise three unique hotels - each one with a storied past and significant place in American history. Perfect for a family vacation or a business retreat, the inns exude charm and class that have attracted guests for generations. From guest rooms to banquet rooms, we have all the space you need for the ideal getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Historic Inns of Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Inns Of Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Historic Hotel Annapolis
Annapolis Historic Hotel
Historic Inns Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing