We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Calvert House a fun trip back” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic Inns of Annapolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Historic Inns of Annapolis
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Calvert House a fun trip back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Enjoyed staying at the Calvert House during a wedding weekend trip. Room was nice. Bed was squeaky, yet comfy. Close proximity to Main Street and the fun of downtown. Parking was a little complicated, but the Valet wasn't too expensive. Would return again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vsreed24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear vsreed24:

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed yourself and found our location and quality of room to be nice. I hope the wedding was a great success!

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Annapolis. Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    284
    100
    58
    58
See reviews for
213
527
38
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Our party of four stayed at the Governor Calvert House for two nights, and we all agreed there couldn't have been a better place to stay in Annapoplis. Centrally located right on State Circle, we seniors easily could walk to all the historic sights we wanted to see and pass charming shops and restaurants along the way. All the staff members we met were enthusiastically courteous, charming and very, very helpful. Though on the small side compared to a big modern hotel chains, our rooms had much more historic and decorative charm, with thick comfortable mattresses and big fluffy pillows, and they were clean, cozy and quiet. Great coffee and pastries woke us in the morning, and hot apple cider and fresh fruits were available all day and all night. The entrance and lobby have 3 soft and cushioned seating areas to make one feel at home ... we could "hang out" and chat or sit alone and read into the wee hours - So much nicer than a cold and cavernous hotel chain. The free shuttle was a big bonus for us since we wanted to dine at restaurants which were not in our immediate area. Just say "Yes" to Historic Inns of Annapolis!

Room Tip: At first I was given an interior room - very nice, but I find this type room very claustrophobic and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysMovinOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear AlwaysMovinOn:

Thank you for your feedback. You’ve done a great job summarizing many of the great attributes of the Historic Inns of Annapolis. We will continue to strive to provide this same experience to all of our guests and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Visited this property for a conference in September. Obviously it is old but is very clean and well maintained. It is very centrally located and walkable to Main Street shopping, the Naval Academy and the harbor. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrRodE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Mtownmac:

Thank you for your comments during your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read you found the Historic Inns to be clean and well maintained, and that our location suited your needs. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
163 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a group of hotels. The one that we stayed in was the Robert Johnson. the other hotels in the groupmay offer more amenities
Pros: location,cleanliness
Cons:
the front desk is at another hotel which is inconvenient
This is the first hotel I have ever stayed at that charges you for a fridge to store medication in
There were zero amenities. One day there was coffee downstairs the next day there was not
The rooms were loud. We could hear the people walking above us constantly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dsgandlcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Dsgandlcf:

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that our website and perhaps verbal conversations with our reservations team was not more clear that we are one hotel consisting of three physically separate buildings and that we were inconsistent in getting coffee out in the lobby of the Robert Johnson. We will work to correct these issues. I appreciate your feedback on the medical need for refrigerators; we will revisit that structure.

I was glad to note that you enjoyed the location. We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We visited Historic Inns of Annapolis Md on Oct 13 2012 into the 14th. We stayed in the Maryland Inn. What a gorgeous place and convenient to the city. The staff and stay was superb. The only thing needed was the door had a gap on the bottom that let in too much lite from the hallway. Easy fix with a sweep added on the door. Room 318

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scalescop057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Scalescop057:

Thank you for posting your feedback about your stay on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to hear that you found our location to be very convenient and that the Maryland Inn made a great impact on you. Thank you for the suggestion on the door sweep; I will share that feedback with our Chief Engineer. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at the Robert Johnson House for the Annapolis Sailboat Show and it was perfect. The staff was wonderfully polite, it was absolutely clean AND we were upgraded to a suite. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a visit to Annapolis.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Susan L:

Thank you for posting you comments on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you were able to visit Annapolis during the Sailboat Show. It is truly a wonderful time to be here. I am glad we did such a great job for you. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Mike Radike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
297 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at the Calvert House on business. It was excellent and would not hesitate to recommend it. The staff was very pleasant and efficient. Our room was quite good, spacious & clean. Check out the room where the continental breakfast is served...the floor is glass revealing the ancient foundation below.

Two issues to point out...The air handler in our room ran constantly and was annoying. There was no way to turn it off. Also, if you drive, parking is $24/night! We took the shuttle, so it wasn't a problem for us. Street parking is very limited.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 911Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear 911Visitor:

Thank you for your feedback. I was glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the accommodations and staff to be pleasant. Thank you for your feedback on the air conditioner; I hope you had an opportunity to report this while you were here so that we fixed it. Thank you as well for your note on the valet pricing; we routinely shop other hotels and parking garages in downtown Annapolis and are confident we are priced appropriately.

Thank you for your business; we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.5 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Inns of Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Inns of Annapolis

Property: Historic Inns of Annapolis
Address: 58 State Cir, Annapolis, MD 21401-1906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#7 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#9 Business Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Inns of Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History comes to life at the Historic Inns of Annapolis. Located in downtown Annapolis, the Historic Inns of Annapolis comprise three unique hotels - each one with a storied past and significant place in American history. Perfect for a family vacation or a business retreat, the inns exude charm and class that have attracted guests for generations. From guest rooms to banquet rooms, we have all the space you need for the ideal getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Historic Inns of Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Inns Of Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Historic Hotel Annapolis
Annapolis Historic Hotel
Historic Inns Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing