We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing stay in Annapolis” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Annapolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Annapolis
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
New Mexico
Level Contributor
451 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Disappointing stay in Annapolis”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

While visiting Annapolis for an event we stayed two nights at this Courtyard, the first one we'd tried. I expected better from the Marriott name - maybe other Courtyards are different? The furniture in the room was dilapidated in appearance, with chipped edges on the veneer. Under the console was a mini-worktable, a very awkward working space, and a desk chair that could not be raised to a comfortable height. The bathroom was tired; no exhaust fan, and a shower that got up to lukewarm at best. (If you need a hair dryer, look in the closet for the black bag!) The sink space was very cramped for two people and there was no shelf to store your toiletries bag. The towels were flimsy and thin. The worst was the cheap, slick toilet paper - bring your own! The exercise room had no TVs working on the treadmills, and no water in the cooler. When we asked for the missing luggage rack, it was delivered - two hours later. Next time we will try another hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purmamarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenae M, General Manager at Courtyard Annapolis, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
My staff and I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I understand you were dissapointed with the overall age and appearance of the guest room.

We will be renovating the hotel beginning 4/10/13. All guest rooms will undergo an overall refresh. I hope that you will afford us the oppurtunity to serve you in the near future.

Thank you,

Shenae Moulden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    93
    50
    16
    8
See reviews for
82
83
10
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Had a nice stay when we visiting Annapolis 10-miler. The front desk staff were all very friendly and helpful. Are only negative experience was with the quality of the bistro food & service. We stood at the counter waiting for 5 minutes while the staff member sorted cups without acknowledging us. When I asked to be helped, I got a snippy response. It turned out that the strawberries we bought were as rotten as the service and my bagel was still frozen.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelobsession
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenae M, General Manager at Courtyard Annapolis, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
My staff and I appreciate you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am pleased that we have provided you with a great stay and hope you will come back again.

Thank you,

Shenae Moulden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

The Courtyard by Marriott in Annapolis is probably one of their older Marriot facilities or appears that way by the condition of their rooms. The staff were pleasant and very helpful. Their breakfast bistro did not look appetizing so we ate out the two days we were there. It is located about 7-10 minutes from the Harbour, so it is conveniently located.

Room Tip: Rooms located in the back and on third floor are extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenae M, General Manager at Courtyard Annapolis, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. My staff and I greatly appreciate you adding your experience on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Courtyard Marriott has quickly become our preferred hotel whether it's for an overnight passing through or a vacation spot. We recently stayed in Annapolis' Marriott and the hotel was clean, room comfy and most of all great customer service. Our obey complaint was we could only get one lukewarm temperature for the shower. We checked out and shared our feedback. Moments later when we went to pay for our coffee, muffin and fruit up, we were told it was on the house and another sincere apology was offered. THIS is customer service at its best!

AAA discount made this a very reasonable stay.

Room Tip: I Woukd guest checking water temp and pressure before settling in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojosmojo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenae M, General Manager at Courtyard Annapolis, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
My staff and I appreciate you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am pleased that we have provided you with a great stay and hope you will come back again.

Thank you,

Shenae Moulden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

When away from home, I cannot think of a better place to stay. We spent a week in a Courtyard when my dad died last year and received the best service treatment imaginable ne'er the circumstances.

The staff at the Annapolis CourtyRd provided the same level of service and I will stay Courtyard I travel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamweaver227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenae M, General Manager at Courtyard Annapolis, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. My staff and I greatly appreciate you adding your experience on Tripadvisor. Please accept my sincerest apology concerning the spa. Our spa jets were in operable during your visit with us. The jets are now up and running. Thank you again for the wonderful feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bellmore, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Seriously, hire a handyman. Ice machine, broken. Back door, broken. Courtyard, weeds everywhere. Nice apology notes taped up, signed Management (way to be personal! What manager is afraid to put their name on it?). The fact that they haven't made any efforts to fix anything during my four day stay means either they can't run the building, or they don't care about details. Could be a very nice place.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JBBlanchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

I think this Courtyard must have been a Marriott update to a building that belonged to another chain previously. It should be noted that the lobby was clean and inviting, and that the desk clerk who registered us couldn't have been nicer.
We prefer to stay at hotels in the Marriott chain because we prefer their beds and always get a good night's sleep. Not this time. The bed was much too soft - couldn't even get a restful nap. The bathroom was tired. The hallway was worn, and had no air conditioning.
This hotel is a short drive out of downtown (the one with the downtown location/Pussers bar is the Annapolis Marriott Downtown, not the Courtyard0,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoolMom4398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Annapolis
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Annapolis
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Annapolis
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Annapolis

Property: Courtyard Annapolis
Address: 2559 Riva Rd, Annapolis, MD 21401-7401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Annapolis
#6 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Annapolis 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Annapolis hotel is located in historic Annapolis Maryland in the suburbs of Washington DC. The hotel is situated less than five miles from the United States Naval Academy and the Maryland State House. Additionally, Courtyard Annapolis is just a short distance from the Annapolis City Dock providing easy reach to a number of water and seaside activities. Furthermore, the hotel is just 20 miles from the Baltimore-Washington International Airport (BWI). Designed for the business traveler, yet inviting for all, this Marriott Annapolis hotel knows what is important to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Annapolis Courtyard
Annapolis Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing