We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Not a better place to stay in Annapolis!"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Annapolis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Georgian House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 25 Annapolis B&B and Inns
Derwood, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Not a better place to stay in Annapolis!"”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We have stayed in a number of the well-known hotels in the area but they could not compare to The Georgian House. Ann and Tom are wonderful hosts and we have stayed with them on a number of occasions. We are early risers and there is always a pot of coffee brewing when we wander downstairs. They have also been very accommodating with the breakfast schedule when we had early obligations at the Naval Academy with our son. Although our son graduated a number of years ago, we still like to visit and always try to stay at the Georgian House. The location couldn't be better and we have always had a wonderful night's sleep in their very comfortable beds. Don't miss this place if your travels take you to Annapolis, MD!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    3
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dingle, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

The Owners are fantastic. The room was perfect. We were a minute late for breakfast which was grand except for another couple that split the chairs as to accommodate his laptop which should have never been at the table. There was just enough chairs at the table for all the guests. Therefore, there was a split is couples due to his selfishness once he put his laptop away his wife did not move to be near her husband either. Ann apoligized for their rudeness and lack of table manners. The parking was just behind the home but you would never know due to being quite. I would definately reccomend this BnB. We will always stay here when in Annapolis.

Room Tip: I would advise arriving to Breakfast early to get a seat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonshyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wardj_9, Owner at Georgian House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Thank you and we look forward to having you with us again. Tom & Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We spent a recent Saturday night at the Georgian House bed and breakfast in Annapolis, MD. Yes, the house is old, has a lot of character and is in a great location to downtown, the rooms are nicely modernized, and the hosts -- Ann and Tom are friendly -- but the finer details that you would expect from a $230+ per night B&B are just not up to par.

First, when we entered our room-- the Samuel Chase Room -- which was comfortable but small (or "cozy" as the website says), we found there was no soap in the bathroom. Neither hand soap at the sink, nor bath soap for the shower. So before we did anything, we had to find Ann and ask for some soap. Next, later that evening, around dinner time when we returned to our room from touring the city to get ready to go out to a performance, we found our room permeated with the smell of a pan fried steak from cooking in the kitchen downstairs. Apparently, the ventilation in the kitchen is not very good, or some other unusual thing had happened, and cooking odors filled our room. Fortunately, the room has a small balcony and door, which we opened and ventilated the room. Later that evening when preparing to brush our teeth and go to bed, we found there were no glasses or cups of any kind in the room. By this time of the evening we were tired, in our pajamas and decided to not bother Ann, and just drank water using cupped hands. Next we hopped into bed to watch some TV on a small flat screen TV set and found that the reception of the TV channels did not work. Curiously, although when turning on the TV set it said Verizon FIOS, which is one of the best TV providers in the area, on every channel we explored the picture would pixellate, totally break a part and then go dark. So needless to say, we could not watch any TV.

Finally, the last two details that caught our attention occurred at breakfast the next morning. We were served a croissant-french toast with bacon, fresh warmed fruit, blue berry muffins and coffee and orange juice. Although the french toast and other dishes were good, the bacon appeared to be left-over from some earlier day, or time. It was an assortment of re-heated, broken pieces of bacon strips, clearly not freshly cooked that morning. And it was not what we smelled cooking the evening before. Then on a final note, we couldn't help but notice, with some reservation, that Tom, who played the role of server, brought us the plates of french toast, while attired in an old sweat shirt and jogging shorts. It kind of looked as though he was still in the process of exercising, or had just jumped out of bed in a hurry and pressed into duty.

I don't know about you, but when I spend time, and my money at a B&B in this price range, I expect to have a near flawless experience and to have the little things taken care of. That has always been one of the attractions for me and my wife of staying in numerous B&Bs around the Country. Warm and welcoming hosts, friendly talkative guests, unique settings, exquisite food and service, and attention to detail.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bswietlik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We spent one night at the Georgian House B&B in the Charles Willson Peale Room. The room was lovely, on the third floor and very comfortable. It was quiet, cool on a hot day and had it's own bathroom. The breakfast smelled wonderful in the morning and tasted even better. Parking was either on the street or in the city lot one block from the house. They give 50% off for guests of the B&B. The house is one block from the main street and within walking distance to the harbor. The owners were friendly and helpful. We would stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Ann & Tom welcomed us in to their delightful home for one short night (all
we could tag on to the end of a quick work trip to the US). Their Georgian house
is ideally located, not just to the centre of Annapolis but the all important car park (where we left our car). Also we got a massive discount voucher for the parking from Ann when we left! v handy

They made us feel completely at home immediately, the bedroom was beautifully and sympathetically decorated with a luxury en suite shower room. We also had a terrace/wooden balcony outside the room so we could sit out in the early evening before going out for dinner. The whole place was just simply comfortable and relaxing. We dinned at the best steak house in the region that night: Lewnes and the following morning we had a feast of a breakfast , prepared by Ann, shared with the other guests, who were from the US before venturing out to visit the amazing Naval Academy and museum. Great seafood lunch at Hell point on the harbour. Make your life easy and go stay there if you are coming to Annapolis, charming and v relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wandarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Hands down, the best breakfast I have ever had! The hosts were very sweet and accommodating. The parking garage is conveniently next door AND cheap! Our walk to and from the event we were attending was short and they really are in the center of it all.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilisse G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

The Georgian House B & B is perfectly located adjacent to but just a block away from the main street in Annapolis. Thus conveniently located but buffered from the evening's street life. Lovely home with elegant appointments, hosted by folks who know how to make you feel at home, while not intruding on your activities. Will stay there again soon.

Susan and Willard Whitson

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.2 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.2 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
0.8 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gibson's Lodgings
Gibson's Lodgings
#3 of 25 in Annapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgian House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgian House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Georgian House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 170 Duke of Gloucester Street, Annapolis, MD 21401
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing