We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Flag House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Annapolis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flag House Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Annapolis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“Lovely home away from home”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Totally impressed with Flag House Inn...the attention to detail, excellent advise for how to spend our time, where to eat and outstanding directions was priceless. Not only were the hosts full of interesting conversation but helpful with bags, storing our bikes and endless information. Their B & B has off street parking, a real necessity in Historic Annapolis. Our room was spacious, 5 Star clean but a wee bit noisy on the street side with the trash company picking up very early and cars driving by. Might suggest a room on the back side.
Thanks to Charlotte and Bill for helping us create special memories on this mini-trip.

Room Tip: Consider a room on the south side for less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindawtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
It was great having time to spend talking with both of you each morning at breakfast and throughout the day. One of the best things about being a B&B owner is having the time and the knowledge to help guests like you find the places they are looking for or suggesting places a guest might not already know about. Biking in Quiet Waters is one of those well kept secrets but so easy to do from our driveway. We definitely would love to have you stay with us again next time you find yourselves passing through Annapolis. As I often tell guests "I can provide a good bed and a good breakfast but I can't control garbage pick-up in the city." :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    31
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
86
253
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I very much enjoyed our recent stay at this wonderful inn. The hosts were very helpful and congenial, and made us feel very welcome. Our only regret was due to time constraints we could have not stayed longer, since I had not been back to Annapolis since I was a small child and was eager to relive some childhood memories as well as introduce the area to my husband... We love Annapolis and this inn!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maura s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We certainly enjoyed meeting you and having some NC guests (our old stomping ground) with us. Time does fly when you are having fun and hopefully you will both be able to get back another time and be able to spend more time remembering your childhood days in Annapolis and at USNA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

From the moment we arrived, we knew this B&B was a good choice. Bill greeted and helped with the bags and the car (a bit tricky parking). There is off street parking, a real plus for Historic Annapolis. Charlotte provided a thorough explanation of everything we might want or need. Although not large, our room was complete with all amenities. Breakfasts were excellent. Bill and Charlotte are charming, full of information and recommendations. The B&B is within 5 minutes of the harbor, across the street from the Naval Academy-you couldn't ask for more.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
You have found one of the best things about our inn - it is right across the street from the Visitor Entrance to USNA and a one minute walk to the waterfront and all the sights and sounds of Annapolis. We enjoyed meeting both of you and your friends while staying with us. So happy that you were able to make it home before the hurricane hit and that you did not sustain any damage. We, too, were lucky in that out power stayed on even though we had lots of rain and over 50 mph wind gusts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
2 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I graduated from USNA and always wanted to stay at the Flag House Inn; finally was able to do so and I had a wonderful time. Perfectly located outside the main gate of USNA and a block away from the town center, anyone visiting would have an amazing time. Dining, sightseeing, city dock, water taxis, and touring the Academy could not be more convenient. The Inn iteself is perfect...with just the right amount of hospitality and privacy! Price comparison is right on the mark as well! Thanks for a great trip!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawaiii2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
We are so pleased that both of you enjoyed your stay with us. Glad you were able to get on a flight back to your home before the hurricane hit the east coast. We are always pleased to host USNA graduates who have walked by our home many times during the "four years by the bay."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Our daughter is a Midshipman at the Naval Academy and the Flag House made our weekend visit so convenient. Bill and Charlotte were wonderful hosts, our room was very comfortable and breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BWard48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
It was great getting to know you while you were here with us. So happy you were able to get to the All Hallow's Eve concert at USNA. It was a busy weekend for your daughter but a wonderful time for you to see what life at USNA is really like. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurley, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

One of the best. Super hospitality, great convenience, wonderful breakfast, very comfortable room. Recommend it to all our friends and classmates. Call early before your intended date as this B&B seldom has vacancies. Don't think about it, do it. You will be more than satisfied with the value of your reservation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frogman299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thanks for your kind words. It was wonderful having both of you with us as you celebrated your class reunion weekend. Looking forward to 2017!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Flag House Inn for a short weekend getaway. It is perfectly located in historic Annapolis. If you have a decent arm, you could literally throw a baseball and hit the visitor's entrance to the Naval Academy. It is in the historic district, and only a short walk to the docks, boat slips, shops and restaurants. Parking is free and off the street, which is a big plus in the historic area which has limited parking. Our room was not huge, but is was clean and had everything we needed, especially since we spent most of our time out and about. Charlotte & Bill were great hosts, very friendly and knowledgeable of the local area. I would caution that if you have an issue climbing stairs for whatever reason, you may want to discuss the room choices with the owners, since the stairs are steep and narrow (hey...it's an old house!). If you want to see old Annapolis and/or visit the Naval Academy without worrying about the logistics, you should certainly check out the Flag House Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USAFReb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thanks for your kind words. When we purchased Flag House Inn 16 years ago we knew that we had a great location with free on site parking. The rooms may not be extra large but the location can't be beat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.2 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.2 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#1 of 21 in Annapolis
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
843 reviews
1.0 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
816 reviews
3.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flag House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flag House Inn

Property: Flag House Inn
Address: 26 Randall St, Annapolis, MD 21401-1720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Front and center in the National Historic District, Flag House Inn is one of the largest private homes near the waterfront. Originally two Victorian townhouses, Flag House was restored in the early 1990's, acquired on-site parking, and now combines the privacy of an inn with the friendliness of a bed and breakfast.The large front porch, flying the state or national flags of guests, greets you with swings and teak benches. The guest entrance opens onto splendid interiors filled with original naval and nautical art and memorabilia, fine paintings, antiques, and reproductions. Flag House offers five welcoming and comfortable king or twin bed guest rooms, including a two-room suite, each with private bath and cable TV. Enjoy a large, hot breakfast before setting off for the day to explore this beautiful and historic neighborhood. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flag House Hotel Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing