We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Main Ingredient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Main & Market

Main & Market
Ranked #37 of 347 Restaurants in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Main Ingredient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Fresh, well prepared,attractively served food. Pleasant atmosphere and good service. Very good value - especially their specials.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    60
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband is a chef and we like to think of ourselves as foodies. It was delicious. I could have done without the hungarian mushroom soup it was more like dill soup. I had the traditional salmon salad and it was great and seasoned. They actually put salt on it! My husband had the milestone shrimp it was really really good shrimp was perfect! Large chunks of crab in the sauce with bacon and corn. And polentaYummy

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aleedol17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unpleasant booth”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Heads Up: Do not let this restaurant seat you in the booth directly in front of the front door!!! We went out for a Saturday evening dinner and were seated in this booth. Every time the front door opened or closed (and people were coming and going all night of course), there would be a blast of very cold air coming in and making us very cold, and our food was cold because of it. We told the waitress, she did apologize, but did nothing to rectify the situation, such as moving us elsewhere. She said she'd "monitor" the door - what does that mean and how could that help? We spent over $100 and were uncomfortable the whole time and felt it was an unpleasant experience. The food was good, the service was good (with the exception that they didn't take our complaiant seriously, or didn't care).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Baygirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
140 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Breakfast here ROCKS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

A trip to Annapolis would not be complete without a stop at the Main Ingredient. We love their breakfast. Kids loved the pancakes and my husband and I the eggs, bacon and breakfast potatoes. A visit would not be complete without a pumpkin muffin for all. These muffins are spectacular! Take some home!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank pvbmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Food is good, room is unremarkable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I had a very difficult time deciding whether this was a 3 or 4 circle rating; it certainly was not a 5. Don't get me wrong, the food is well prepared and tasty, and the menu is varied and interesting. But I just don't understand the ratings people have given the restaurant. The location is unremarkable. The prices are ok, if a tiny bit high (a dinner will run about 40+ dollars with a drink and a dessert). The dining room is casual, comfortable, but plain. The service was polite, but not warm.

Maybe the next time I go to Annapolis, I will get the 4 circle feeling about this place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank arozylo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Main & Market also viewed

 
Annapolis, MD
Annapolis, MD
 

Been to Main & Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing