We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Creative foods and fun!”

Tsunami - Annapolis
Ranked #99 of 348 Restaurants in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Calvert/Cathedral
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Creative foods and fun!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Fun, friendly wait staff! Great sushi selections - and martini choices too! Must try the tofu appetizer... Can't tell you why, it would ruin the surprise!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackiB0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    49
    10
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Surprised”
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

My initial thoughts were this place could use an overhaul. It feels very barlike when you walk in. The menu is a bit limited but the food is AMAZING! The sushi menu is lengthy with a good variety. I had the massa chicken with snow peas, broccoli, and work fried upon noodles. Food arrived hot, well cooked, and attractive on the plate! Don't let the decor scare you, its worth it. Service is spot on as well!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikkip67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Located in easy walking distance from downtown Annapolis and the hotels on West Street Tsunami is a great choice. I love their popcorn shrimp. The kobe sliders were yummy too. We ate primarily sushi and First Bites on this visit. The food came out in an efficient manner and was well presented. A smaller menu but most should find something they'll enjoy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank epfreeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Glutton for punishment”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The avocado salad with miso dressing was wonderful, as usual. That said, the place, despite being only half full, was still as noisy as ever (hard to hear my companion's conversation, and we had asked for a window table, one of the quieter ones). And the sushi was... bland. We ordered sashimi after the salads--it's hard to screw up sashimi, and it was fresh. But then we ordered Dragon, Kamakazi, Tsunami, Dynamite, and crunchy tuna rolls. All but one had the same sauce-- and all tasted similar (except the one with eel-- it was distinguishable). The one with softshell crab was a disaster-- I would bet my next paycheck that the crab had been fried the previous day, the batter was so chewy (and cold-- it was chilled). When I mentioned it to the waitress, who questioned the chef, he offered to make me a "fresh" one. Am I wrong to assume that anything I order will be fresh?? All-in-all, it was, once again, a disappointment. We have been returning every 6 months or so in hopes that the sushi will return to the glory it once was (despite the ever-present conversational roar), to no avail. This was the last time. I give up.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cecily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Evening”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

What a lovely evening we had at Tsunami. Our server, Kate, was great and saw to our every need and allowed us to take our time with cocktails, apps, sushi, dinner and dessert. The inventive cocktails were fantastic. In fact everything we ordered was delicious and well presented. We had a roomy private booth with candles where we could enjoy good conversation and the cool music piped in which added to the hip ambiance.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulieBugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tsunami - Annapolis also viewed

 

Been to Tsunami - Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing