We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love the innovative cocktails..”
Review of level

level
Reserve with OpenTable
level is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 350 Restaurants in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Calvert
Transit: Annapolis City Transit Bus Stop on corner of 69 West street & calvert street.
Description: Level is an award winning locally sourced small plates restaurant and cocktail bar. Our food is regional modern comfort food that is designed to be shared. We partner with local maryland farms to source our meats, seafoods, and produce. We ensure fresh, local, sustainable efforts in our kitchen and bar. We handcraft all our cocktails using fresh squeezed juices, house made mixers, tonics, sodas, and fine spirits. We invite you to Eat. Drink. Socialize!
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“love the innovative cocktails..”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This place takes Annapolis to a whole new LEVEL..that it desperately needs. The cocktail menu is amazingly inventive. The unique flavors they provide using natural herbs enhances any normal, everyday drink. Love the small plate idea since you can taste a lot of different menu options. The owner is sweetheart and makes sure you are well taken care of as one of his customers.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelChiclette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    83
    22
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Palos Park, Illinois
2 reviews
“Hard to choose my favorite dish!”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I went to Level based on reviews and it did not disappoint. Every dish we had was so good from the fried brussel sprouts to the scallops to the bread pudding! We had an outstanding, reasonably priced Cabernet and our waiter was great too. The ambiance is fun as well!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick
Level Contributor
166 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Local Sourcing Star!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The move to local sourcing brings marvelous food to the table. Couple local source with the small plate movement, and a star is born! This lively place focuses on foods from the area with dairy products & cheeses from western, central & The Shore in Maryland, oysters from Maryland, lamb from Pennsylvania, beef from Virginia's Shenandoah Valley - you get the picture.

Food choices are ingeniously grouped: from the field, from the pasture, from the water and accompanied by group plates to share (appetizers) or flatbreads. An ample selection of dessert plates tops off your meal if you choose.

Wine and bar selection superb. Rare to order a pisco sour without getting, "A what?" By the way, mine was expertly prepared.

We chose the hand cut fries to share (just the right seasoning - piquant), the special - a bison bolognese with gnocchi, fried brussel sprouts, and shrimp & grits: 1 from the field, 1 from the pasture, 1 from the water & 1 from group plates to share! While all were good, everyone thought the shrimp & grits superlative - spicy & colorful!

Our only disappointment was the French press bland and weak coffee. The luscious chocolate bread pudding and pot de creme more than wiped out memories of a lagging coffee.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Duvel11Frederick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great value and food!”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Loved it. We sat upstairs, in the corner table closest to the front window. Yes, it can be loud. It was loud (plus the obnoxious House Wives of Annapolis) table next to us didn't help, but that did not make it a less enjoyable meal at all. The plates were all amazing (except the duck/parm cheese risotto -- that was the blandest risotto I have ever had but hey nothing's perfect). But between our party of 8 we ordered a lot of small plates and the rest of the dishes were great. The value is great too, I'm not saying its inexpensive when I say good value, but you get what you paid for in the quality of food. I like the new farm-to-table places popping up and this one sets the bar pretty high. And they serve Moscow Mules! One of my favorite drinks ... you can't beat that! Definitely take a crew with you, order a lot, drink a lot (safely of course) and have a great night!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food but a bit loud”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

very popular spot for small dishes and fun, friendly place. In the summer, front opens up to the outside. Good location on inner West Street.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joanna29494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed level also viewed

 
Annapolis, MD
 

Been to level? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing