We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place for a quick get away!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Annapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin Annapolis
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for a quick get away!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

This is a return visit to Annapolis. The Westin is easy to get to and the location provides access to all the you need.
We upgraded to a king corner room for $25 more a night. Like this size room over my last one. Two big windows and chairs/chaise lounge chair. Bathroom is smaller than expected but clean. Glad to have a small fridge to put bottled water and drinks in. One pitfall on this visit, the sounds from the room next door and externally were quite noticeable. We could hear the conversations, laughter and ..... From next door. Made it a bit awkward during the night but we just turned our tv sound up.
Love having access to the trolley and breakfast was included with our stay. Overall a great place for a little get away.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneMThomas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefBarrett, Manager at Westin Annapolis, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your observations and review of our hotel. We work very hard to make every visit memorable.
Many of our guests enjoy using the trolley; it has been a wonderful partnership with the city.
Again, thank you for comments and know we look forward to serving you at the Westin when your travels bring you back to Annapolis.
Regards,
James Barrett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    275
    85
    46
    16
See reviews for
185
258
34
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed here last weekend for our Anniversary celebration and Jim & the entire staff made us feel like royalty. Front desk check in was super easy, fast and service with a smile. Amazing hotel lobby with a great bar/restaurant adjacent to the front desk with great food, drinks and service. Beds were heavenly. Room was quiet and any question or request we had, the staff was there to offer a lending hand with a smile. Highly recommend this hotel for leisure or business. Everything was so clean and as a business professional, this hotel has very good management. Running a smooth ship a mile from NAVY. Shower head was amazing as my wife loved the rain effect. The room itself was immaculate and very modern and clean. Valet was so helpful with restaurant recommendations and housekeeping was at our door within 2 minutes with an extra towel. Breakfast served to our room was heavenly as well. When visiting Annapolis, stay at the Westin Annapolis!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junebugsrbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefBarrett, Manager at Westin Annapolis, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Good afternoon to our friends in Baltimore.
Please allow me, and the entire team of the Westin Annapolis, to thank you for choosing to stay with us during you recent trip to Annapolis and for sharing your experience.
It is always wonderful to hear that we left a positive impression on our guests, that our staff took good care of you while staying with us and that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin when your travels bring you back to Annapolis!
Regards,
James Barrett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

So many nice things about this hotel-- loved the Aveda spa across the way, walkability to restaurants, the tram that ferries you to your destination etc... The room themselves were lovely on the interior, and the baths well-appointed too, though the view of the roof, not so great-- there are stoned paths that go nowhere, but some plantings might make the space more pleasant.
My main issue was the noise, and I'm a little hard of hearing! It was New Year's, and our dinner reservation wasn't until 9:30, so we returned late. Well into the wee hours the music continues to blare, not only from the ballroom, but also from the bar area of the lobby, located below our room. Not sure why the wedding party wasn't booked into a room that was clearly going to absorb the brunt of the noise. Second concern was that the desk clerk forgot to add our breakfast vouchers. just a small thing, and only annoying given our sleepless night. Seems a little re-training is in order.

Room Tip: Ask, is there an evening wedding? If there is, make sure your room is far away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SRSvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piccoli1, General Manager at Westin Annapolis, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Good evening. Thank you for taking your time to write a response to the Westin Annapolis after your stay on NY Eve. On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for your business. I appreciate your comments and will address them in our customer service training classes. I am happy that you and your party had a wonderful time. Thank you again for your comments. Have a great start to 2014. Sincerely, Jim Piccoli General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My daughters wedding was held at the Westin of Annapolis on Sept 21st and I was very disappointed with the service to say the least. The hotel wedding planner William Grace was very unprofessional; we only saw him once throughout the 5 hour reception. The left over wedding cake was no were to be found , coffee and tea was not served, and the timeline was not followed. We complained to the management of Westin but up until now, 3 months after the wedding, no one has gotten back to us. A lot of money was spent at this Hotel! We should have at least gotten a call back! I would not recommend this venue.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Theresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piccoli1, General Manager at Westin Annapolis, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Good afternoon. Thank you for taking your time to respond to our hotel after your daughters wedding in September. On behalf of the entire staff, I apologize for your comments regarding this event. Our Catering and culinary team consistently strives to exceed everyone patron's expectations. I am sorry we were unable to exceed your expectations. Thank you for your comments. We will continue to work on all facets of our social events using your review for training classes. I hope you have a very nice 2014. Sincerely, James J. Piccoli General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here on a few occasions. Very comfortable beds, and very friendly staff. For some people the location might be a disadvantage but for us it works fine. We don't have to deal with the traffic in town and they have a shuttle to get us there when we need it. There are a few good bars and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piccoli1, General Manager at Westin Annapolis, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Good afternoon. Thank you for taking your time to respond with a review of our hotel. On behalf of the entire staff, we appreciate your comments as well as your business. I apologize in advance for the delay in responding to your review. Thank you once again and I hope that you and your family had a wonderful holiday season and a great start to 2014. Sincerely, James J. Piccoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
428 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 563 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

My spouse and I stayed at the Westin Annapolis for 2 nights in late October 2013 so that we could attend a Navy football game and do some sightseeing. We booked our room months in advance, which was wise, because most hotels sold out quickly on the weekend that we visited (it was also Navy homecoming, so there were many class reunions). The hotel required a 2-night minimum, which may be standard procedure on fall football weekends.

The hotel is about a 15-minute walk to the Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium, and also a 15-minute walk to the harbor area; however, there is a free trolley system, called the Circulator, that operates from early morning until 12:00 midnight (2:00 am on weekends). The vehicle traffic is pretty congested in downtown Annapolis, so the trolley will only get you to your destination as fast as traffic allows (sometimes it seemed faster to walk where we wanted to go). The trolley stops at the bottom of the hotel driveway, and makes its loop every 15 to 30 minutes, depending on traffic (so you will see it every 15 minutes if there is no traffic, and closer to every 30 minutes if there is traffic); there are two trolleys that run the loop. The hotel offers valet parking for $24 per day (although the website said $23), or self-parking for $10 per day (the valets were extremely helpful in directing us where to park ourselves, which earned them a nice tip despite the fact that they did not park our car). The hotel is located in a residential and shopping complex called Park Place, which contains a spa (Varuna by Aveda), Italian restaurant (Carpaccio) and related take-out pizza shop (Carpaccio Pizzeria 2 Go), Irish pub (Fado), and breakfast café (Shirley’s). There is a 7-11 convenience store (with gas pumps) within 2 blocks, as well as another gas station with a smaller mini-mart. There are many restaurants and shops within easy walking distance of the hotel, and the USNA is a 15-minute walk toward the harbor area.

The hotel has a grand front entrance with a circular driveway, but the lobby is minimalist and modern-looking. The lobby area opens onto the Azure bar/lounge and restaurant, and there is a small pantry shop near the front desk. Outside the main entrance, there are a few teak tables and chairs that may be set up as a smoking section, relatively far from the front door so that most guests do not have to walk through others second-hand smoke. The part of the hotel that faces the traffic circle seems to have an entrance into the hotel itself, but the design is poor, and that back door is locked because it opens into a banquet room. Oddly, there are some teak tables and chairs outside of this entrance, but we do not know how people would reach those tables and chairs without circling around the building. The indoor pool is small and utilitarian; the area also contains a small Jacuzzi and a movable lift for the handicapped to use either the pool or spa. The pool is staffed by a lifeguard. The pool is open continuously from morning until night in the summertime, but in the fall/winter, the pool closes for a few hours in the afternoon. A fitness center is next to the pool with equipment like treadmills, Stairmasters, bikes, and free weights. (The hotel will loan you New Balance gear like shorts, T-shirt, socks, and sneakers if you forget yours.) This hotel has many function/meeting/banquet rooms, most of which were occupied on the weekend that we visited.

We reserved a room with two queen beds, which was all that was available to us when we made our reservation. We tried to switch to a room with one king bed when we checked in, but none were available. We were permitted to check in before noon, but that probably depends on availability the previous evening (which in our case, was a Thursday night). We were offered a late Sunday checkout up to 3:00 pm when we checked in, as long as we could give the reservationist some idea of when we would actually depart (this complimentary perk is part of the Westin Weekend plan). Our room was fairly compact – the two queen beds took up most of the available space, with a sort of sofa table in between them that functioned as a shared nightstand. The nightstand held two lamps, and a regular old-fashioned digital alarm clock (a rarity these days! Sometimes the new iPod docking station-type clocks are a bit hard to figure out, especially when you are tired and just want to go to sleep). Our room had a large window that had a roll-down modern privacy shade as well as blackout curtains. The bureau area featured a desk and chair, clothing storage space, and an empty refrigerator (there are ice machines on every floor, and an ice bucket and glassware are available as well). We did not have a comfy chair (or a divan or sofa) as we saw in some of the hotel photos – other than lying in bed or sitting on the hard, rolling desk chair, there was nowhere to watch TV from comfortably. One robe hung on the back of the bathroom door. The bathroom was a decent size, although it contained only one sink in the vanity area. Westin Heavenly Bath signature toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, body lotion) in a white tea aloe scent that were present when we checked in were not replaced on the morning of our second night (one tiny bottle of each item for two people for two nights just is not enough!). Plenty of fluffy towels were provided on the open wooden racks below the sink, as well as a hair dryer (not attached to the wall). The bathroom mirror was a bit unique – framed in a lighted rectangle, the lights caused a similar lighted rectangular reflection in our pupils every time we looked in it (which could be a little freaky if you had a few drinks). The bed linens were great – Westin offers nearly everything that they use in the rooms for sale (Heavenly Bed mattresses, sheets, duvet cover, pillows, shower curtain, double shower head, mirror, toiletries, and so on). Coffee service is provided in a single-cup machine. The closet contained an iron and ironing board, electronic safe, and TWO luggage racks (much appreciated, because generally there are two people per room, and just one luggage rack). Internet is NOT complimentary (approximately $10 per day). Some previous guests report connecting their devices in the lobby, where Wi-Fi is free, and then taking them up to their room without turning them off, in order to maintain the free connectivity. Evening turndown is by request. The hotel tries to be “green” - there was a good-size recycling trash can (in addition to the regular trash can) in our room, and the hotel offers a $5 credit per night of your stay to be used in the bar/restaurant if you decline daily maid service (which means absolutely NO service, not even trash removal or towel replacement); this offer is not available for 1-night stays, because obviously the room must be cleaned prior to the arrival of the next guest.

We loved Annapolis, and the location of this hotel suited our needs perfectly. There are not many large lodging options in the historic area - just the Westin, Loews, and Marriott, as well as an independent hotel called O’Callaghan’s – and given the chance to visit Annapolis again, we would probably pick the Westin for our next stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank fluffnfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piccoli1, General Manager at Westin Annapolis, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Good evening. Thank you for your detailed review of your visit to Annapolis. On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for your business as well as your candid comments. I appreciated your detailed recap of our hotel, services, and staff. I will share your comments with our entire team at our customer service review. Have a wonderful holiday season and again thank you for your time, comments and business. Sincerely, James J. Piccoli GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is not the best I've ever stayed at, but for the rate it is a steal.

The main facility is in good shape and the staff was attentive. The rooms were wonderfully spacious and the bathroom was terrifically finished and extra clean.

One if the big negatives for me in cheaper hotels is usually water pressure in the shower, but in this Westin it was great.

I would definitely stay here again if I'm looking for a very affordable but nice hotel. One of the best values I've seen!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piccoli1, General Manager at Westin Annapolis, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Good morning. Thank you for taking your time to send a review after your stay at the Westin Annapolis. On behalf of the entire staff, we appreciate your business as well as your candid comments. Thank you for the note about the water pressure. Our hotel is currently installing the Heavenly Shower Head as part of the guestroom renovation. Have a wonderful Holiday season and thank you once again. Sincerely, James J. Piccoli General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.3 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 1,026 reviews
1.0 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
Historic Inns of Annapolis
#3 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 770 reviews
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Annapolis
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Annapolis

Property: Westin Annapolis
Address: 100 Westgate Cir, Annapolis, MD 21401-3379
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Annapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Annapolis
#8 Family Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Annapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest additions to the Maryland state capital, The Westin Annapolis hotel is the centerpiece of a European inspired mixed-use community that ripples with energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Starwood, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Annapolis Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing