We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All around nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westin Annapolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Westin Annapolis
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
washington, dc
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“All around nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend when in Annapolis for a wedding. The good: Rooms were spacious, with very comfortable bed and sofa-chair. The bad: The rug in the hallway was very worn, and the HD TV in the room looked pretty old. But it was all good enough.
The hotel bar in the lobby has a huge 72-inch TV, with friendly bartenders & a good food/drink menu. There's a couple of other good restaurants within a block of the property, too.
The hotel is a good 15 minute walk from the state capitol and harbour. The walk is pleasant, but there's also a free shuttle that goes to the harbour regularly if you're not inclined to walk. The hotel is also within walking distance of the Navy football stadium.
I've stayed at a couple of hotels in Annapolis, but this was the nicest all around and easily the best value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piccoli1, General Manager at Westin Annapolis, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Good afternoon. Thank you for the very nice comments. On behalf of the entire staff, we appreciate your business. I hope you have a wonderful upcoming holiday season. I will forward your comments to our team in our next customer service meeting. Sincerely, Jim Piccoli General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    293
    93
    53
    20
See reviews for
201
271
36
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrow, Alaska
Level Contributor
149 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Hotel valet is stressed, however you can easily find space in the lot that is near an elevator. Check was handled professionally, however the person was clearly squirrelly due to multitasking. Tried to be professional and welcoming as best as he could but clearly understaffed. Room was quiet and clean, however on the worn side with stains and wear on just about everything including one of the bed sheets. Bathroom was suburb with a shower to die for. There was an event in the lobby area and off to the side with refreshments and food for the event, however it was not marked at all as to who the free refreshments were for. We went up to it and were barked at by security. We then sat in the lobby and observed this security simply waiting for people to go and try to get refreshments rather than telling them before they attempted he was getting more of a thrill at waiting to pounce and become condescending with the hotel guests. Very classless. Overall the staff and rooms were way below the Westin brand. We will stay away from the brand after this. Too bad, however there are plenty of great brands out there that still stick with their past standards.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fuzzi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piccoli1, General Manager at Westin Annapolis, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Good afternoon. Thank you for your detailed response after your visit to the Westin Annapolis. On behalf of the entire staff, we appreciate and value your business as well as your comments. Please know that your letter will be reviewed with our customer service training class associates. I am sorry to hear that we, the Westin staff, disappointed you and your experience was below expectations. I understand and appreciate your candid comments on our front office service team and the security guard service. I apologize if your were offended. I will follow that up. There are no excuses. Thank you once again for your comments. I hope you have a great upcoming holiday season. Sincerely, Jim Piccoli General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girardville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

A group of us bicycled to Annapolis and spent 2 nights at the Westin. The hotel generously provided a room for us to store our bicycles. That was above and beyond, but the room, location, and staff service were all first rate as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank radfahren48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piccoli1, General Manager at Westin Annapolis, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Good afternoon. Thank you for taking your time to respond to our hotel after your visit in September. On behalf of the entire staff, we appreciated the opportunity to host your lodging needs as a member of the cyclist group. I hope your travels are safe and you enjoy the upcoming holiday season. Thank you again for your business. Have a great day. Sincerely, James J. Piccoli General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

The room was clean, the carpets were old and dirty with spots. The shower was hot. The sheets were clean and that's about all I could say. The amenities just are not there. They don't even provide q-tips in the bathroom anymore . The heavenly bed wasn't too heavenly anymore. The food at the banquet was just ok. The service from the staff was helpful courteous and professional. For the price you pay and the name of the chain I just was not impressed this time. It was just ok

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank eda123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piccoli1, General Manager at Westin Annapolis, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Good afternoon. Thank you for taking your time to write a review after your visit to the Westin Annapolis. On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for the opportunity to serve your lodging and hospitality needs. We appreciate your business. I sincerely apologize that our team failed to meet your expectations. I will certainly review your comments with our operational team and work towards providing better customer service with housekeeping heavenly bed services. I understand and appreciate your frustration with our guestrooms. Thank you again for your time and understanding. I appreciate your candor. Have a wonderful upcoming holiday season. We hope to see you again if your future travel plans include Annapolis. Sincerely, James J. Piccoli General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We made reservations for a room with a king bed a full year (Sept 2012) for a class reunion in Oct 1013. We called and reconfirmed the reservation Sept 2013, a month before the reunion.
We arrived at 8:30 pm, to be told there were no rooms available. We produced both the 2012 and Sept 2013 confirmation e-mails. The staff said they were sorry but all rooms were occupied, but would definitely have a king room room for the next night. She then said she could put us in one of the hotel's salons for our first night, and would comp us two free drinks. Seeing we were not pleased, she added complimentary bunch buffet on Sunday.

The valet took us to "The Salon" which was difficult to find because the room was not numbered. We finally found the room, which had a wet bar, credenza, and a huge table and eight chairs, a chair grouping and a couch, but no bed. The valet was puzzled until I found a double-size Murphy Bed in the wall!! The valet had never seen/heard of a Murphy Bed, so I had to show him how to open it. It had no sheets, so the valet called for house staff who brought linen and pillows and by 10:30 we had a bed, although a double, not a king.

The hotel did have a nice pool and hot tub, which we used. The hotel has a shuttle that does runs into downtown Annapolis and to the USNA football stadium.

The Sunday Brunch Buffet was good, with a wide variety of breakfast items including yogurt parfaits and really good fresh fruit. However, after being seated, the waitstaff ignored our table, no beverages offered. My husband went to the wait station and picked up two coffee cups and a pot of coffee. We left the two comp tickets on the table when we left.

We got another surprise at time of checkout. The bill was over $200 more than anticipated.
When I questioned it, the staff told me it was because we had stayed in a Salon room, and since it was a bigger room, it cost more. We had a long discussion regarding year-old confirmed reservations for a king bed, a double-sized Murphy bed, and no bed linen. She offered me a free drink in their lounge. I got the bill reduced to the original price, and still feel short-changed as we spent a night on a double bed, and the king room's bed was well worn.

The car valets were great, the car always arrived promptly and they always offered two chilled bottles of water to take with us.

This is a really mixed review, good location, the valets were helpful, but check your bill, and be prepared to serve yourself at breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HTLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piccoli1, General Manager at Westin Annapolis, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Good afternoon. Thank you for taking your time to write a review after your visit to the Westin Annapolis. On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for the opportunity to serve your lodging and hospitality needs. We appreciate your business. I sincerely apologize that our team failed to meet your expectations. I will certainly review your comments with our operational team and work towards providing better customer service in the front desk and rooms areas mentioned in your letter. I understand and appreciate your fusrtation with the room type and the billing errors. Thank you again for your time and understanding. We hope to see you again if your future travel plans include Annapolis. Sincerely, James J. Piccoli General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel seems to be more concerned with being "Green" than having happy guests. The room was clean, but the carpet had ugly stains. The food served at a reception in the hotel was terrible. The beef was so tough it wasn't possible to chew it. The rest of the food was mediocre. The servers were untrained, and unprofessional. The bar has no waitresses, you have to stand in line to order drinks, then carry them back to your table yourself. The amenities in the room are chintzy. I had to call the front desk to get toilet paper, as the maid did not leave any. The double shower head has to be manipulated to turn on the second head, if you actually want decent water pressure. Too bad if you are short and can't reach the lever.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindanaples1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piccoli1, General Manager at Westin Annapolis, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Good afternoon. Thank you for taking your time to write a review after your visit to the Westin Annapolis. On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for the opportunity to serve your lodging and hospitality needs. We appreciate your business. I sincerely apologize that our team failed to meet your expectations in so many operational areas. I will certainly review your comments with our operational team and work towards providing better customer service in the areas you mention. I hope you have a wonderful upcoming hotel season. Thank you again for your time and understanding. We hope to see you again if your future travel plans include Annapolis. Sincerely, James J. Piccoli General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I chose the Westin because it is a dog friendly hotel! We were there for her birthday weekend. It is easy walking distance to the main street in Annapolis. We booked our reservation thru Booking.com and were surprised to learn on check-in that the hotel had not recieved the reservation. Thorns to Booking.com. Luckily the hotel had availability although not a king room we had booked. They honored the price and put us in a two double room for the first night. They comped breakfast and free wifi for us for our stay as compensation. They had dog treats at the front desk, so other than fear of getting into the elevator, our Aussie was entirely happy with his stay. We were lucky there were rooms because there was a Navy reunion at the hotel that weekend. Our room was spacious, clean and the beds comfortable (although the king on our second night was way better). The staff was accommodating, even comping some yogurt and berries for me to take up for breakfast in bed for her birthday morning! The location is a bit down the street from the main street/shops of Annapolis...about a 10-15 min walk, but is quite doable. I also enjoyed their pool, although not a true lap pool, I was able to swim some short laps there. Overall, other than the snafu with Booking.com site, the Westin was very nice! Note to self....alway double check with the hotel prior to arriving that they actually have your reservations booked through outside sites!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irondoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piccoli1, General Manager at Westin Annapolis, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Good afternoon. Thank you for taking your time to write a review after your visit to the Westin Annapolis. On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for the opportunity to serve your lodging and hospitality needs. We appreciate your business. I am happy that we were able to meet your needs regarding being pet friendly. This is a huge initiative for all Westin hotels. I hope you have a wonderful upcoming hotel season. I will review your letter in our customer service meeting tomorrow morning. We hope to see you again if your future travel plans include Annapolis. Sincerely, James J. Piccoli General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.3 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
1.0 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
2.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Annapolis

Property: Westin Annapolis
Address: 100 Westgate Cir, Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Annapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Annapolis
#8 Family Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Annapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest additions to the Maryland state capital, The Westin Annapolis hotel is the centerpiece of a European inspired mixed-use community that ripples with energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Annapolis Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing