We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, new hotel”
Review of Westin Annapolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin Annapolis
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel is a beautiful, modern, fairly new hotel, with open lobby, bar and two restaurants. Conference rooms on much of the first floor, with guest rooms on 2nd floor and up. About a mile from the center of Annapolis. We brought our dog and they were very accomodating and did not charge any extra fees to have a dog in the room. She really enjoyed the quiet end room that they gave us. Definitely worth a try.

Room Tip: Guest rooms are only accessible via elevator, so if bringing a dog you may wish to request a low flo...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranC-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (855)
There are newer reviews for Westin Annapolis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 855 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

The hotel from the outside looks better than from the inside. Whilst the main communal areas are well kept, the actual bedrooms and corridoors could do with updating, some look tired and in need of a few repairs. The tap in our bathroom was not secure and kept moving. There is a free trolley that serves the city and leaves from outside the hotel, so this is a good way of getting around if you cannot manage the half a mile walk to the harbour, which is an easy and nice walk. We were given a late check out which we were grateful for!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOD1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed at this property for on a Sunday night. Booked a standard room at a SPG cash and points rate. Arrived at 1:00 pm but room was not ready until 3:00 (which to be fair, is the posted check-in time.) The hotel is about a mile or so from the heart of historic Annapolis. A bit far for a late-night walk, but certainly doable. So if you are looking for a new large modern hotel that is close to the action, the Westin seems ideal.

We were in Annapolis for a family gathering, and a member of our group booked a corner king room/suite ($220/night), so they would have space to host a happy hour for our group. The suite was very spacious and their separate sitting room comfortably accommodated our 16+ people. The suite especially seemed a good value for the price.

There are a number of restaurants within a close walk to the property. Had a great brunch at the Fado Irish pub, right across the street, with $6.00 bottomless mimosas...what a deal!

Echoing others have said, the staff was friendly and professional. Strangely it seems the valet and bellman are the same persons. So if you arrive like we did at a time when there is a lot of parking action, you’ll probably be expected to use the luggage cart yourself if you have a lot of gear. (This was not a problem for me, saved me the tip, but might be an issue for some!)

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank globedecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We go to the sail boat show every year in October and always stay at the Westin Annapolis. It is an exceptionally nice hotel, numerous rooms that are modern, a short distance from the waterfront and they offer complimentary shuttle to water front. This past year we stayed at this hotel in October 2011 for the fall boat show, as well as in April 2012 for the first spring sail boat show. It feels like a home away from home. The staff are friendly, the rooms are clean and good size and the lounge is nice and open.

Room Tip: Every room we have stayed in is nice, whether overlooking front parking lot and condos across the wa...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAG1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stay at a variety of places, have never stayed at this particular property, which is brand new and beautiful. Disappointed to report, for what is effectively a tourist / vacation destination more than business, that this property has a service problem, relative to other properties we've stayed at very recently in other towns (and other brands). Staff - across the board (when you can find them) - are neither friendly nor unfriendly. Grudgingly helpful. Room was clean, but the pillowcase was put on pillow inside out (i believe housekeeping should pay attention to details)and the coverlet looked like it sat in the dryer too long, was completely wrinkled. I expect more from a Westin. This could be a local management issue where staff are complacent. No one went out of their way, and we won't go out of our way to stay there when in Annapolis next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clemence_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We spent 3 nights in Annapolis for a mini-vacation. We got an amazing rate (AAA) that was about $100 less per night compared to the hotels down on the waterfront. The Westin is further from the waterfront but with the free trolley that stops right outside the hotel, it didn't matter at all.
The valet parking was fantastic! They took our car, our bikes and our bike rack. They let us park in a special spot so we could get easy access to the bikes when unloading and loading.
The lounge area had great service and everyone was so friendly.
The pool is perfect for kids since the entire pool was very warm and only about 3.5 feet deep. So, if you have little ones, this works out great for them.
The room was clean, roomy and we just loved the double headed shower.
If I had only one complaint was that I actually had to call down to get toilet paper, shampoo and extra towels. I don't know if this is a hotel policy or the maid not doing her job properly but with three people in the room, give us more than 3 big towels and don't leave us with half a roll of TP for just one day. It was just a big odd.
Other than that, the service and friendly advice from the hotel was fantastic. I would definitely stay here again.
Also, remember to ask for the highest level. I know that if you are SPG member, you usually get the highest floor (6th).

Room Tip: Ask for the highest floor!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PokeMomNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

During the weekend of August 10-12, we invited many of our guests to stay at the Annapolis, MD Westin Hotel for our son’s wedding. We booked about 14 rooms including the beautiful Presidential Suite that our son and his bride were upgraded to. In addition, we booked a lovely brunch for 90 of our guests on Sunday morning. Your venue was chosen over the neighboring O’Callahan’s and Lowe’s Hotels.


The following are a series of incidents that took place before and during our stay:

• We had made arrangements for the wedding brunch on August 12 at the hotel, and were assigned the recently acquired Annapolis Restaurant that is adjacent to the hotel. We visited the hotel in early July to check on the facility and were surprised to see that this wing had not been remodeled, as was previously indicated to us when we booked the room. We told our contact that this was not what we expected and that we wanted the room assignment changed. He graciously agreed and assigned us a suitable room in the main portion of the hotel.

• My son received an email a few weeks before the wedding from his contact person asking if we were planning to give “gift bags” to our guests. She said she would take care of this and be sure that the hotel staff would hand out the gift bags. Almost immediately our son received an email from one of the managers, stating that there would be a charge for this service. I emailed Jeffrey complaining that this fee had not been indicated from his staff and that no prior mentioned of this fee had been mentioned. I listed several reasons why I felt this fee was not justified. It took another week-ten days before Jeffrey was able to inform us that there would not be a charge for this service. Then I received an email form the contact person I was using, asking me to give her all the names of the guests, and who was staying in a room together, and also give a detailed description of the bags. This step involved several emails giving information about the guests that was already in the computer system at the hotel. Why did we have to provide this information? We understand why a description of the bag was needed and that each guest was “flagged” to receive a bag upon check-in, but at the end of the weekend, during checkout, we noticed that 6 of the bags were not handed out to our guests. We took these bags back with us.


• About a week before we arrived we called to ask if we could check in early on August 10. The person we spoke to indicated that we most likely could and that we should call back on the morning of August 10 to confirm an early check in time. This would have given us enough time before the rehearsal for the wedding at 4:30 pm. We did so and were told that we probably could check in at 2 pm but it was not a guarantee. However, when we arrived at the hotel we were told that the rooms were not ready early and that we would have to wait until 3 pm. We waited and the rooms were not ready at 3 pm. Our room and my father in law’s room were not ready until 3:30 pm and my son’s room was not ready until 4 pm, but he had been told there was a guaranteed check in by 3:00. He received no compensation for this delay and inconvenience.

• Upon arrival, we checked the mattress in our room and found a yellow stain and soil that covered about 2/3 of the mattress cover. We called the front desk to have this corrected but asked that someone come up in 30 – 45 minutes so that we could continue getting ready for the rehearsal, that we were rushing to leave for since our room wasn’t ready at 3 pm. Instead, room service came in shortly after our call. Under normal circumstances this would have been great, but not this time. She said we would have to change rooms. We were already running late and this was not a choice. We had told the front desk this very same statement when we reported the stained mattress.

• When we arrived back at the hotel later that evening, the mattress top had been removed, but the mattress had not been replaced. We were left with a “Teflon” layer of the mattress to sleep on. At no time were we proactively contacted asking if the room situation was now satisfactory.

• In addition, the room had not been cleaned as evidenced by the thick layer of dust on the night stands and dirty carpet.

• We complained to the manager and were compensated in part for the rooms not being available at the guaranteed check in time and for the mattress situation.

• My son has been in contact with the accounting contact over several billing issues with his invoice and that of one of the groomsmen.

• After we arrived home, we received an email receipt for our stay. The first bill was correct, but for some reason, we received a second bill as well. The second bill charged us $3.75 plus $0.23 for a bottle of water we did NOT consume. We had to call the hotel to have our bill adjusted. This additional aggravation continued to parallel our dissatisfaction with The Westin.

To summarize this very long list of complaints, our observation of the Westin, is that the communication among staff members seems non-existent. Each individual was robotic in their manner and had to check with a “manager” before they could complete their job. They staff was not friendly and welcoming. The check-in desk employees were very unsure of procedures, fumbled with computer procedures, and seemed not sure of what to do in general. We have stayed in many top-rated hotels over many years, and must admit that The Westin hotel is the most disorganized and problematic hotel we have stayed at. We are very dissatisfied and will NOT recommend this hotel in any manner.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.4 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
1,250 reviews
1.0 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
882 reviews
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
2.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Annapolis

Address: 100 Westgate Cir, Annapolis, MD 21401-3379
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Annapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Annapolis
#8 Family Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range: $206 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Annapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest additions to the Maryland state capital, The Westin Annapolis hotel is the centerpiece of a European inspired mixed-use community that ripples with energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Starwood, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Westin Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Annapolis Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing