We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic window table” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harry Browne's Restaurant

Harry Browne's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Harry Browne's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 347 Restaurants in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Maryland Ave.
Description: Rusty Romo, your host, invites you to experience truly fine dining in historic Annapolis, renowned since colonial times for its southern hospitality. Innovative cuisine featuring traditional Chesapeake fare, American, fusion and an exciting variety of seasonal items and regional specialties await you. Critically acclaimed since 1979 and overlooking the beautiful Maryland State House, we also offer elegant and distinctive catering.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic window table”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Scallops with porcini ravioli and crispy leeks and sa outs cream sauce! The fried oysters with corn purée was delectable!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Neal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    124
    43
    21
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
151 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Classy and delightful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

I had lunch at Harry Browne's during Christmas week, 2012. The decor was beautiful and the Christmas decorations were tastefully done to fit the "historic" ambiance of the restaurant. The food was very good and plentiful. The service was better than OK and I assume it improves at the dinner hour.
I truly recommend Browne's to anyone visiting the historic State capital of Maryland who would like to take refuge from the fast food parlors and enjoy an upscale experience without the upscale price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimindc2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good food, good service but limited choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We really enjoyed dinner here with friends. The food was good although the choices were somewhat limited. The rockfish was excellent and the service was very good. The cream of crab soup could have used more cream and the shrimp bisque had some shells.

Just a few notes:

- Monday and Tuesday they have a lobster special.
- Half price appetizers in the lounge for happy hour.
- Nice bar with a couple tv's and relaxed settings.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SOAJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
144 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Delicious crab soup!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

This restaurant has my favorite creamy crab soup anywhere in Annapolis. It is rich and loaded with crabmeat. The crab cake sandwich at lunch is nicely prepared. My only disappointment is that sparkling champagne type wine is not offered by the glass. It is conveniently located to the State House. If anyone has mobility issues, please note that the rest rooms are located on the second floor, up a very steep flight of stairs.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mollyshumom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidsonville, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Owner needs a personality transplant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

After perhaps a year dined recently with great service and one meal (pork just fine) but scallops seemed dated. My wife was so enthralled with her pork she took our eldest grand daughter there today for lunch with a reservation for a window table as is our preference and as was confirmed. On arrival on time there was no window table and she was told that there was no guarantee in rather rude terms. After a few words she and my granddaughter left to dine elsewhere. On returning to get their car they stopped into the restaurant to obtain the name of the rude person and found the name to be Rusty Romo, the owner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Don Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry Browne's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Harry Browne's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing