We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harry Browne's Restaurant

Harry Browne's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Harry Browne's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 347 Restaurants in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Maryland Ave.
Description: Rusty Romo, your host, invites you to experience truly fine dining in historic Annapolis, renowned since colonial times for its southern hospitality. Innovative cuisine featuring traditional Chesapeake fare, American, fusion and an exciting variety of seasonal items and regional specialties await you. Critically acclaimed since 1979 and overlooking the beautiful Maryland State House, we also offer elegant and distinctive catering.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

Had dinner here the first night of the US Sailboat show on a recommendation of someone who had been several times. I had shrimp and lobster rissoto which was quite bland. The lobster bique was good but something didn't agree later with my stomach. I would try somewhere different the next time I'm there.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank whatawonderful1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    124
    43
    21
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
963 reviews
679 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
“A bit stuffy (like a gentlemen's club) but food was good...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

We had the crab cakes and the scallops and both were very good. The southern style shrimp appetizer was delicious.

The restaurant itself was a bit stuffy and bit pompous; they are catering for politicians and groups of men primarily and it had that air of stuffiness about it that we just don't care for.

Overall, the food was good and I would recommend someone try it if they are in the area, but we wouldn't come back again...

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff and Jenni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
133 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Very good lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

This restaurant is conveniently located on the statehouse circle. It is attractive inside, clean, and upscale.

We had a certificate from our B&B for a small amount off during lunch.

The service and food items were both good. I thought my chicken salad-on-croissant was especially tasty and delicious.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spoiled experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Good food, great service and atmosphere. All was ok until a very large brown cockroach ran across my breadplate. The management was very apologetic and did not charge us for dinner...a very memorable 24th anniversary.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maestro74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
373 reviews
325 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Just OK!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

It was pouring rain and our plan to walk around town before deciding on a restaurant for dinner went down the drain. We went to Harry Browne's next door to the hotel because of the convenience and the hotel suggested it. A cozy place on a bad night. Service was good. Food about average. A little stuffy! Good wines! Nice atmosphere.!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gardner34285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry Browne's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Harry Browne's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing