We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Annapolis

“Great food and lively atmosphere”

Boatyard Bar & Grill
Ranked #9 of 382 Restaurants in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Description: The Boatyard is where local sailors, fishermen and lovers of the Chesapeake enjoy pint drinks, great crab cakes and the freshest local seafood. Specialties include smoked fish of the day (on premise), cream of crab and Maryland crab soups and an extensive list of crab and seafood specialties. The First Lady came from the White House to enjoy our crab cakes. The Boatyard has the most extensive raw bar in the area including a variety of oysters, clams, shrimp and mussels. The Boatyard receives awards for being most family friendly and having the best burger on the Bay. Its weekend brunch is the best in the area. The Boatyard is located in the historic maritime district of Eastport-a short walk or water taxi from Annapolis City Docks. Its photo boat films the local sailing races and shows them nightly. Named by Coastal Living, Sailing World and Sail Magazine as one of world's top sailing/boating restaurants.
Reviewed January 21, 2020

This was my first time in Annapolis and I chose the Boatyard Bar and Grill which was recommended by a friend. We got there at about 5:30 and it was already hopping. The bar was filled and people were also seated at tables, but we got a table right away.

You can tell they worked on the decor very carefully. It is well designed and gives the restaurant character.

The waitress was very nice and took care of us very well. There was a lot of staff there and I think this helped things to run smoothly on a busy night. We ordered the Franyo style ahi tuna sandwich and crab cakes. We had sides of Caribbean coleslaw and sweet potato fries. I thought everything was really good. The tuna was cooked really nicely and had a tasty sauce. The crab cakes were equally delicious. I’d say the side dishes were typical, not any better than other places.

Overall, we really enjoyed the meal and the atmosphere and the service was excellent.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank elainebC9344WB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,721)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 1,721 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2020

We went to the Boatyard twice this last week. The first time was great! My wife had the crabcakes, and I had the black and blue tuna - both were delicious.
The second time we went my wife had the lobster rolls, and I had the fish and chips. Both were "average" at best. We both agreed that had we had the lobster/ F&C the first night we would not have gone back.
So, take care what you have.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank TerryElvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2020 via mobile

Fantastic food and service!
All dishes were great- crab coupcake, crab soup. I am amazed by oysters- stunning! Staff was very kind and helpful. Fully recommended:).

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Anna8606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020

Sorry, the crabcakes are really good but this is Annapolis so it's not hard to find good crabcakes. The location is funky (not near the water) and parking is difficult if it's crowded, which it usually is, but just about everything in Annapolis is difficult to park at. I will say that the service is EXCELLENT, but I just cannot stomach over $20 for a crab cake in a casual bar/restaurant, every if it is award winning. BTW, The caesar salad romaine was brown-edged (yuck), so I just had to say the meal was "average" at best.

Date of visit: October 2019
2  Thank JLCFN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardf435, Owner at Boatyard Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2020

JLCFN Thanks for coming to the Boatyard and your comments. We take all comments to heart. We wish we could sell our crab cakes for less. The price for our 6 oz crab cake with the very best jumbo lump crab money can buy is actually underpriced and is our lowest margin menu item by far. You can find sometimes find lower priced crab cakes using inferior (Indonesian crab meat or not jumbo lump) crab meat or smaller in size. Some restaurants sell 4 and 5 oz crab cakes. We keep our crab cakes underpriced to allow our many family customers to enjoy them and we choose not to lower the quality. We are sorry about the Caesar salad. Please send back any dish that doesn't please you-here or anywhere- we want you to. We hope you will come again so we can make sure your visit is superb. DF Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020 via mobile

We came after the Military Bowl on a Friday late afternoon and the place was packed. We had about a 10-15 minute wait to be seated which was shorter than we expected. We had a nice table by a window. Waitress was helpful and they had a full bar and a selection of local beer.

We stated with a half dozen of the oyster selections for the day and then had a soup. The oysters were fresh and plump. The chowder was excellent. Then we had the famous crab cakes and a scallop pasta special. Again both were excellent and the sides were also very good.

Parking is a bit scarce at the restaurant so be prepared to look for options with a short walk. It is worth the walk.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank tarheeltraveler4509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boatyard Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Annapolis, MD
Annapolis, MD
 

Been to Boatyard Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing