We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Lunch!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boatyard Bar & Grill

Boatyard Bar & Grill
Ranked #5 of 347 Restaurants in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Boatyard is where local sailors, fishermen and lovers of the Chesapeake enjoy pint drinks, great crab cakes and the freshest local seafood. Specialties include smoked fish of the day (on premise), cream of crab and Maryland crab soups and an extensive list of crab and seafood specialties. The First Lady came from the White House to enjoy our crab cakes. The Boatyard has the most extensive raw bar in the area including a variety of oysters, clams, shrimp and mussels. The Boatyard receives awards for being most family friendly and having the best burger on the Bay. Its weekend brunch is the best in the area. The Boatyard is located in the historic maritime district of Eastport-a short walk or water taxi from Annapolis City Docks. Its photo boat films the local sailing races and shows them nightly. Named by Coastal Living, Sailing World and Sail Magazine as one of world's top sailing/boating restaurants.
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for Lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stopped in for lunch, and ended up eating at the bar as they were quite busy. I had a crab soup, chicken tenders and sweet potato fries. Everything was of expected quality however the chicken tenders were delicious. I'm not sure if it was the seasoning or manner they were cooked, however they were crispy outside and incredibly moist inside. The bar is inviting and seemed to be populated with locals who were all friendly. Atmosphere is nautically themed and tastefully decorated. I enjoyed my visit and would not hesitate to return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SJBandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    511
    388
    105
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I like this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I like the atmosphere in this restaurant very much. The wait staff is top notch and friendly. I think the menu is generally above par, but there is some room for improvement. We got a baked oyster appetizer which was a little disappointing - the oysters were really smothered with cheese, so you didn't really feel like you were eating oysters at all. The open face crab sandwich - kind of the same problem. Just smothered with cheese.
On the other hand, I have been to this place many times and ordered specials that were fantastic. Any fresh fish entrees, salads, fresh oysters, things like that are going to be great. Anything with aa lot of preparation involved, may go off the tracks in the direction of too much cheese, too much sauce, just a smothering of the kinds of ingredients that please crowds but often are not the best preparation of the underlying food.
It's a wonderful place to sit at the bar and have drinks.
Friendly crowd.
I will return many times, and just be a little more careful picking from the menu, because I like this place much better than many of the places in the touristy part of Annapolis.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Recommended by hotel hostess...outstanding. Not fancy but great food and family atmosphere. Good variety of seafood dinners - had Cajun tuna, very nice.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CTBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Favorite Restaurant in Annapolis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is one of my family's favorite restaurants in the Annapolis area. Great fish, crab, specials in a casual atmosphere. The fish on the walls and hanging from the ceiling keep the little ones occupied for awhile. Our grandsons love the calimari, so do we. It's very popular so be prepared to wait or go a bit early. Never have had a meal that we didn't enjoy.

Out of the bustle of downtown but not far from the Naval Academy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“My favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Everything on the menu is delicious, but I'd recommend you just go and order something off the specials menu. You'll end up with something a little off of normal, but it'll certainly be great food. I have never, ever been disappointed. Brunch - delicious. Lunch - delicious. Dinner - delicious. Drinks - I just go for beers, so "delicious" wouldn't really be on them... but they're well priced and the bar is never packed.

This is my go-to place when guests are in town. If I ever leave Annapolis this will be my go-to place when I drive back through town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boatyard Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Boatyard Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing