We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crab Lover's Favorite”

Cantler's Riverside Inn
Ranked #9 of 355 Restaurants in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Somewhere west of here
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Crab Lover's Favorite”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We've been going to Cantler's since for at least 30 years and its on the short list every time we make it back home.

Jimmy Cantler's is a great crab house on the Magothy River where you can sit inside or outside as the boats go by eating blue crabs from the land of pleasant living. If you're somewhere south of snob, you'll love it. Best quality and service!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    281
    97
    61
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Crabhouse”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Craving crab? Go to Cantler's Riverside Inn i Annapolis, MD. The friendliest staff and best fresh seafood await you. Dine outside as you shell your Maryland Blue Crabs, and you will remember this restaurant forever!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrplatinumtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A great local place for crabs”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Cantlers has done a great job of expanding their menu. We have always loved to go for crabs, but now we like going for their salads, crabcakes, etc. It's a little tough to find, and usually really busy so if you are too hungry to wait for an outside table, you'll get stuck inside and miss the ambiance.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Something Just Off”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

When Hubby and I go up to visit our little God-Niece and God-Nephew, we tend to like to stop for seafood somewhere around Annapolis. After giving Cantler's three tries, we will just suck it up and go across the Bridge to Harris' from now on. On a beautiful Saturday in late February, we had stocked our car with groceries for our aforementioned goslings, and stopped for lunch at Cantler's. Hubby got the fried haddock I had the rock fish. Both were just average. I had asked for my rock fish stuffed, and the crab stuffing was not cooked properly and was oozing with uncooked egg and mayo combination. A pretty significant health issue. Sides were pretty bland. Prices here are high considering the quality of the food prep and the venue. We've stopped before for crabs -- they were expensive and light weight -- in fact when I was a kid they would have had to throw them back due to their size, and Cantler's called them Larges.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SidelineObservant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We were quickly seated on a Saturday night, which was surprising. One in our party ordered the restaurant week special, the rest were told they were out of crabs. That was fine, we had crabs last time and were ready to try something else! Crab cakes were LUMP and delicious. Onion rings were FAT and tasty. They were out of key lime pie but the chocolate cake was delish, our waitress was even a good sport (her b-ball team lost while we were there, fun rivalry!)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Missleslib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantler's Riverside Inn also viewed

 

Been to Cantler's Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing