We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in a long time”
Review of Lewnes Steakhouse

Lewnes Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Lewnes Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 355 Restaurants in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Severn Avenue
Transit: Water taxis drop off and pick up at the end of fourth street, less than a half block from the restaurants location.
Description: The Lewnes family has been serving fine food at this location since 1921. We trust that your dining experience with us will be a memorable one!
Pasadena, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best meal in a long time”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Three of us shared the same opinion that this was the best meal we'd had in a while. We shared the large filet, the garides (aegean shrimp) and the lump crabcake. We arrived at 5:30, so restaurant wasn't crowded. Service was excellent. Our dining room was delightfully quiet. My only disappointment was dessert. The only in-house made dessert if the brownie. The pecan square and the key lime pie were outsourced and not so great. My daughter-in-law loved the brownie, though it's not my type of dessert. We also had the creamed spinach--yum.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    45
    29
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A steak lovers paradise”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Lewnes Steakhouse offrers perhaps the best beef I have had, other than kobe beef in Japan. All of their beef is Prime and cooked to perfection. My wife is not a huge beef lover, but both time we have been to Lewnes she has raved about the taste and tenderness. All of their meals are a la carte, and the portions are large. Because of this, they have no problem with you splitting courses. In our case we split prime rib, yet had to take some home. We also split their creamed spinach (it is great) and their lyonaise potatoes. Their prices are very reasonable, particularly for prime quality.

The atmosphere is typical steakhouse - dark wood with booths. The wait staff is particularly knowledgeable about the offerings and the manner of cooking. Lewnes also has an extensivbe wine list, which is a bit on the pricy side. Nonetheless, it is fantastic food for steak lovers and a very good value. We have been to restaurants that do not swerve prime quality at higher prices.

Lewnes is located in Eastport, just across Spa Creek from Annapolis. After you cross Spa Creek turn left at the first light (Severn Ave.) and go 2 blocks. Lewnes is on the far right corner (4t & Severn).

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulSuzanneTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Do not miss this place on a trip to Annapolis - Crabcakes are best in town”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We have lived in Annapolis for 15 years and this is one of our very favorite restaurants. My husband loves the steak but I am not a huge steak eater and discovered many years ago that Lewnes has the absolute best crabcakes in Annapolis. I have tried many around town and theirs are truly the best. You can order order just one with a petite filet if you are a steak person who wants to give it a shot. Also try their Greek Salad which is very good- if you split it between 2 people, they bring it out on 2 plates and it is quite large as a half salad. Other favorites include their creamed spinach and garlic spinach and the garlic mashed potatoes! They also make incredible Manhattans. Leaps and bounds better than the nearby Ruths Chris.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vicg5349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Steak as it should be.”
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We live in Annapolis but only eat at a few of the local restaurants. One reliable place for more than two decades is Lewnes Steakhouse. We have never had a bad meal here in the over twenty times we have eater here and it is like a wonderful getaway when we just don't feel like cooking. The portions are large and the sides are served family style so we usually split the servings making the actual cost quite reasonable. In addition they have a great wine list so for special occasions you can treat yourself to some exceptional New World and Old World wines.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank napman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“My birthday dinner could not have been worse”
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We all carefully explained to the waitress how we would like the steaks prepared-one rare and 3 medium to med well (pink OK but no blood, please). Our "rare" friend's steak was perfectly rare, but ours were practically perfectly rare, too and my husband's had so much fat, he could not eat even 1/2 of it. No one wanted to complain. It was my birthday and we had already had a problem with the wine being sour. The waitress didn't like that we returned the bottle. She swiped it from the table like a spoiled child that didn't get her way. One of us took a doggy bag home for breakfast and cooked the steak as it should've been cooked. We are BIG tippers and eat out every weekend. We will not be back. What a shame and waste of time and money.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank pilgrimkr51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewnes Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Lewnes Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing