We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A steak lovers paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lewnes Steakhouse

Lewnes Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Lewnes Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 347 Restaurants in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Severn Avenue
Transit: Water taxis drop off and pick up at the end of fourth street, less than a half block from the restaurants location.
Description: The Lewnes family has been serving fine food at this location since 1921. We trust that your dining experience with us will be a memorable one!
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
110 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A steak lovers paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Lewnes Steakhouse offrers perhaps the best beef I have had, other than kobe beef in Japan. All of their beef is Prime and cooked to perfection. My wife is not a huge beef lover, but both time we have been to Lewnes she has raved about the taste and tenderness. All of their meals are a la carte, and the portions are large. Because of this, they have no problem with you splitting courses. In our case we split prime rib, yet had to take some home. We also split their creamed spinach (it is great) and their lyonaise potatoes. Their prices are very reasonable, particularly for prime quality.

The atmosphere is typical steakhouse - dark wood with booths. The wait staff is particularly knowledgeable about the offerings and the manner of cooking. Lewnes also has an extensivbe wine list, which is a bit on the pricy side. Nonetheless, it is fantastic food for steak lovers and a very good value. We have been to restaurants that do not swerve prime quality at higher prices.

Lewnes is located in Eastport, just across Spa Creek from Annapolis. After you cross Spa Creek turn left at the first light (Severn Ave.) and go 2 blocks. Lewnes is on the far right corner (4t & Severn).

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulSuzanneTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    44
    25
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Do not miss this place on a trip to Annapolis - Crabcakes are best in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

We have lived in Annapolis for 15 years and this is one of our very favorite restaurants. My husband loves the steak but I am not a huge steak eater and discovered many years ago that Lewnes has the absolute best crabcakes in Annapolis. I have tried many around town and theirs are truly the best. You can order order just one with a petite filet if you are a steak person who wants to give it a shot. Also try their Greek Salad which is very good- if you split it between 2 people, they bring it out on 2 plates and it is quite large as a half salad. Other favorites include their creamed spinach and garlic spinach and the garlic mashed potatoes! They also make incredible Manhattans. Leaps and bounds better than the nearby Ruths Chris.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vicg5349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
229 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Steak as it should be.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

We live in Annapolis but only eat at a few of the local restaurants. One reliable place for more than two decades is Lewnes Steakhouse. We have never had a bad meal here in the over twenty times we have eater here and it is like a wonderful getaway when we just don't feel like cooking. The portions are large and the sides are served family style so we usually split the servings making the actual cost quite reasonable. In addition they have a great wine list so for special occasions you can treat yourself to some exceptional New World and Old World wines.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank napman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My birthday dinner could not have been worse”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

We all carefully explained to the waitress how we would like the steaks prepared-one rare and 3 medium to med well (pink OK but no blood, please). Our "rare" friend's steak was perfectly rare, but ours were practically perfectly rare, too and my husband's had so much fat, he could not eat even 1/2 of it. No one wanted to complain. It was my birthday and we had already had a problem with the wine being sour. The waitress didn't like that we returned the bottle. She swiped it from the table like a spoiled child that didn't get her way. One of us took a doggy bag home for breakfast and cooked the steak as it should've been cooked. We are BIG tippers and eat out every weekend. We will not be back. What a shame and waste of time and money.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pilgrimkr51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best atmosphere. Don't whine about price, just go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

The best place within 25 miles for an old fashioned high end prime beef dinner. Period. Classy, not too bright, and just enough ambient noise to make you feel comfortable. Order a ribeye topped off with some pecan pie a la mode and you will practically be stoned with satisfaction. I would have my last meal here.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewnes Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Lewnes Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing