We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to eat in Annapolis”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Middleton Tavern

Middleton Tavern
Ranked #54 of 348 Restaurants in Annapolis
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
517 reviews
316 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Great place to eat in Annapolis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Six of us had dinner here on a Saturday night. Everywhere along the Annapolis dock was buzzing that night. We were lucky to have reservations.
The servers were very friendly and attentive. Our server helped us with a bottle of wine - offering to have me taste before deciding to take the bottle.
The food was very good; with nothing to complain about. One person had shrimp while most of us had crab cakes. They come either fried or broiled. Our server offered to have half of them fried and half broiled, so we could see the difference and decide for ourselves which we prefer. That was just incredibly nice and helpful. Anyway, most like the fried version. I preferred the broiled.
I had ordered the seafood mixed grill. It was excellent.

All in all, this is a place to put on your list of eateries for Annapolis.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    208
    187
    74
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burke
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great big disappointment!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Our family all ordered the fish and chips. The fish was greasy and definitely not fresh. The fries not great. Sat near the kitchen and got a glimpse of it when the door would open-- absolutely filthy! Such a shame for an old landmark! Obviously just a tourist trap. Lesson learned for our next trip to Annapolis!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachliferyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Looks fun, a bit slow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

This very old establishment has a nice front outdoor dinner area that attracted us for a late lunch. It was a fairly busy day as we were there during Naval Academy graduation week. Took a good while for us to get our meals; my wife remembered it was a bit slow the last time we were there several years ago (I couldn't remember that).

Our food was very good, service was friendly. I would go again but I would probably try a few places around before I did.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cpacad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great casual place for Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

The back porch is perfect for a casual meal -- one with lots of fried Seafood! They pour the water into plastic cups and and have paper napkins, kind of giving it a dive-type feel in sight of masts in the harbor. Inside looked a little fancier, but if the menu is the same I would keep it casual and sit out back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mgreenha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More history than quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Living locally, I ahve been to MIddletons a number of times. The atmosphere is quaint and the place reeks of history. Unfortunately, it also reeks of stale food odors also which is especially off-putting to my wife. Food is just OK. This is more of a place for tourists to have an interesting eating experience. Not a place to anticipate great eating.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foody1star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Middleton Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing