We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dive bar, but a good one” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Middleton Tavern

Middleton Tavern
Ranked #56 of 347 Restaurants in Annapolis
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dive bar, but a good one”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Had lunch here consisting of a beer and a great burger; my wife had the pork belly sliders. The food was good, but the view from the outdoor seating stole the show. Right in Market Square overlooking the docks. Just a block from the Naval Academy so lots of Midshipman walking by. Great people watching. Went in to use the restrooms and came to understand, this is a dive bar. No doubt about it. But looks to be a good one. Didn't try it at night, but I bet they're 3 deep at the bar and it's gotta be a great place to hang with friends. Give it a shot!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    204
    184
    74
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
139 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The back bar on the first floor - great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Fresh steamed shrimp - and I mean fresh - careful not to burn your finger tips. Nice selection of oysters. The crab cake is, of course, very good. For soemthign different, try the black bean soup. Often there is live music at night in the bar area - generally leaning to rock or blues. Fun crowd, with a wide age range. Old, historic building. Stop for a quick bite in the afternoon and enjoy an appropriate beverage.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hey, It's A Tourist Joint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Went for brunch on Sunday, Sept. 1, 2013. Okay, portions are small and expensive. The tables are crowded. Drinks were very expensive. Lots of unused room upstairs, but hey, staffing in the restaurant business is probably tricky. No need to open up another 50 seats upstairs if we have no wait staff to handle them. Overall, this place is what it is: a place where many people are not likely to come back because they are tourists. It's probably not about repeat business here, but more like how far can we push the pricing and minimize the portions. I get it. Everyone at the table enjoyed their food and drinks. No major issues other than wait staff seemed to either be spread too thin or just too slow. I can give it a thumbs up. Location is outstanding.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Michaels, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

It was actually a toss up. Middletons or McGarveys. I'm so upset that we chose this place. It was beyond disappointing. The hostess, who wouldn't stop whistling, (it's a pet peeve of mine SUPER ANNOYING) only gave us the option of two teeny tiny tables, when there was another side of the restaurant that was EMPTY. Why weren't we given that option? Moving on to the food. Ugh, ICK. my steamed shrimp were cold! My moms Oscar filet entree was ice cold. The meat was cooked to the right temp. The crab dip is all of 2 bites, served with stale crackers. Of course it was cold too. We had to ask for bread 6 times, even though the menu says it comes with all entrees. I counted 3 employees doing absolutely nothing, including one sitting at the bar watching TV, nice. The only good thing was the Hispanic girl running around, actually caring! She deserves a raise. Lindsey could use a lesson on customer service. I can't wait to NEVER come back here

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cmiller2588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Simply a great place to eat. Great location. Lots of shopping nearby. Highly recommend. I eat there every time I am in Annapolis. Great menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RJKDPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Middleton Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing