We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable pub with locals and tourists”

McGarvey's Saloon and Oyster Bar
Ranked #21 of 348 Restaurants in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Charlotte
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable pub with locals and tourists”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

A comfortable place near the waterfront with very helpful staff. There is movies, but it's a nice pub filled with alumni from the nearby colleges, older locals, and visitors to the city.

Reasonably priced raw oysters, and pretty good crab cakes. Some local beers on tap.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mgblrms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    169
    73
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
200 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Overpriced. Subpar Chowder.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

A nice building in a great area, but I found the food lacking and very expensive. I had clam chowder and it was more like potatoe soup. There was very little clam, and what there was were clam bits. The french dip was good, but the hamburger was very overcooked. Ate my first meal in the area there and did not return. There are much better options.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank gscar35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
373 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Cheap Happy Hour Wine; Good not great oysters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I stopped at McGarvey's for an early "light dinner" after a hardy lunch earlier in the day en route to Annapolis. We had an outside table on a wonderful, mild late afternoon. We each ordered glasses of Sauvignon Blanc wine for only $3 as part of their "5-4-3-2-1 Happy Hour". They were quite good and very generous pouring’s. We each ordered a "baker’s dozen" (13) oysters on the half-shell. Upon questioning, out server could not tell us what type the oysters actually were, only "local". The oysters were large, but only "good" in flavor, not excellent. My wife actually had a little stomach problem issue that night and next morning, but we are not sure it was the oysters. She did say she thought hers were a little "gritty". A good but not great meal, but generous pouring of good, cheap wine!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaroonDawg67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Loud and trendy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Went for a pre wedding drinks and appetizers event. Food and drinks were great. Crowded and loud. Crab balls? were excellent.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank markzink13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“McGarvey's Is A++ Hands Down”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

For over twenty years, McGarvey's, in downtown historic Annapolis, by the City Dock, has been my all time favorite restaurant, raw bar, and meeting place, with two great bars, an outstanding wait staff and super bar tenders, fabulous burgers, and special nightly mouth-watering dinner temptations. Capt. Mike Ashford, the proprietor, can even be sighted there in the evenings, greeting guests and spinning old sailing and aviation yarn. It's where everyone wants to be, for over three generations, along with the tourists...put it at the top of your list of must-go-to places in the heart of the Annapolis action.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to McGarvey's Saloon and Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing