We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best bar in City Dock. great staff. good times” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of McGarvey's Saloon and Oyster Bar

McGarvey's Saloon and Oyster Bar
Ranked #24 of 347 Restaurants in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“best bar in City Dock. great staff. good times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

this is an "old time saloon' I love it. Menu is very good, drinks are very quality. I have been going here for about a year. I go on Tuesdays a lot. It is Steamed Muscles night from 6-8, (i think) big plate for abut 6 bucks.

Dinning room is cool, but checkout the back room oyster bar.

I would recommend for families, singles and couples.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank love2traval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    164
    72
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chestertown, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A good Annapolis establishment that's well worth trying.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Visited here with friends this weekend -- ordered the burger w/ gorgonzola cheese; very delicious. They also have an excellent craft beer menu, but some of their selections are pricey. I'd come here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ks21620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis,MD
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“my favorite place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I am a 3rd generation resident. I frequent McGarveys 4 times a month for 30+ years. The quintessential Annapolis Oyster bar & Pub

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank EASTPORT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena MD
Level Contributor
161 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great local tavern”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I have eaten at McGarvey's many times over the last 10 years. My sons and I have a tradition of going at least once during the winter for the happy hour and oysters. Best price in town to get a bakers dozen fresh on the half shell. The atmosphere is very casual and friendly. The resturant is housed in a very old building that may have been a warehouse in the 1800's. The walls inside are exposed brick. The food is very good. Their burgers are big and juicy. Having eaten here many times, we have tried most everything on menu and have yet to be disappointed. Whenever we have family in town, the first resturant we take them to is McGarvey's.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AFsilverfox52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best Bar in Annapolis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

As an Annapolis native, I've been to nearly every spot multiple times. In a word, McGarvey's offers 'consistency'. It's consistently great; with perfect atmosphere, drinks, and food. It also has an excellent raw bar. Ignore the awful picture and visit whenever you are in Annapolis for lunch or (especially) a great nighttime experience.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGarvey's Saloon and Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to McGarvey's Saloon and Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing