We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't hesitate to stay here”
Review of Inn at Horn Point

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Annapolis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Horn Point
Ranked #4 of 25 Annapolis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Don't hesitate to stay here”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Our stay was simply wonderful. The inn is clean, beautifully appointed and the breakfast is superb. The hosts are warm, friendly and helpful while still maintaining the privacy of each guest. It is in a beautiful neighborhood, just a short stroll to restaurants and the water. You can't go wrong staying here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolynrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCory, Owner at Inn at Horn Point, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. We read every single response and (as necessary) make changes in our delivery of service and maintenance of the property. In your case, we appreciate the fact that you enjoyed your stay completely and always look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    29
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
27
200
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We only stayed one night on our way back to Columbus, Ohio after several days in DC. We had never been to Annapolis and wanted to visit. We will definitely return. Love the quiet of the Eastport area. The info sent in advance by Cory helped us to decide how we wanted to spend our time during our short visit.

Room Tip: Since we were the only guests due to our midweek stay, we got to view all of the rooms. Next time w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCory, Owner at Inn at Horn Point, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We so appreciate the fact that you took of your time to post your experience for others to consider. This is a huge deal to us. Thank you.

We are fortunate and thankful for the repeat guests that we see coming through our doors. But for our first time guests. nothing could be more important than having access to wonderful resources for planning their trip. Thank you for reminding us how necessary it is for us to include our "webliography" of sites and attractions: a list of web sites with a quick description, so that guests who are new to the area can get the most out of their visit.

Now that you are a pro on the area, we'll have to sharpen out skills to make your next experience even better. We accept that challenge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Innkeeper Cory runs a tight ship with rooms that are clean, quiet and comfortable in the historic Eastport section of town. Breakfast is a true treat with Cory's unique and delicious recipes. Superb coffee gets your morning off to a fast start. The inn's location is perfect; a 10 minute walk to a choice of six well regarded restaurants and another 5 minutes over the Spa Creek bridge to the heart of downtown Annapolis. This is the place to stay for your Annapolis adventure.

Room Tip: Room was on the street but there were no noise issues due to the quiet neighborhood location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank libertycall8107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCory, Owner at Inn at Horn Point, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. So glad that you mentioned the coffee. It took us three years to find the right cup, a mix of moderate flavors to please every palate while being organic, so as to support sustainable communities in the places where it is grown.

We read every single response and make changes in our delivery of service and maintenance of the property accordingly. How wonderful that we met your expectations. Please come see us again. We'll have more great coffee for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We reserved the top end room at the Horn Inn, the Sequoia. The location of the inn was perfect for us. The decor was very nice and fairly quiet. Other than that, not much to rave about. For the prices asked one would expect the availability of a cup of tea or coffee in the afternoon (or when ever) as well as some available snacks. We are used to seeing fresh flowers, news papers in the sitting rooms available non alcoholic beverages and snacks at a number of other B&Bs we have stayed at.The breakfasts were underwhelming, not bad but not great (Roasted Vegetable Fritatta and Lemon Ricotta Pancakes) and the coffee only OK. We had to wait for Saturdays breakfast, it was a bit late and no coffee was available before about 8:15. Corey was nice, we never saw his wife although his daughter helped with Sunday breakfast. While I would say our stay was OK, it certainly was not worth the almost $590 price tag for two nights! The somewhat forward attempt at a gratuity on the bill was also presumptuous. Basically you are renting a room in their house for a lot of money. We will check out some other offerings in the area.

Room Tip: If you stay here I suggest getting the cheapest rooms. They don't have a tub like the Sequoia bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacBode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCory, Owner at Inn at Horn Point, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We appreciate the fact that you took the time to tell us about your experience. Some of the items that you pointed out could have best been addressed if you had said something during your visit with us. That said, you did bring up a few points that will not change.

We appreciate that you shared your opinion about what you thought was missing or what could or should have been included. But you have to realize that there are costs involved in every one of the items you shared that you felt were lacking.

Afternoon snacks, coffee and tea, fresh flowers, free non-alcoholic beverages are all a matter of choice by the owners/operators of an accommodation. These are not required, nor are these items alluded to in the presentation of our property; therefore, guests who are familiar with us and our web site do not anticipate any of these things. You may find it helpful to learn that we actually had "afternoon tea" in our original plan, over 10 years ago; but guests did not show up. We came to learn through experience that Annapolis is too much of an outdoor, sightseeing town for guests to want to plan their day around snacks in the afternoon.

You mentioned that you did not like the price for what you got. Although we never like to hear that sentiment, could you imagine how disappointed you would be with the guest room rate if we jacked up the prices to cover the costs of all of the items that you wished were included?

We do try to offer a fair value for our guests, and clearly, we are not going to please everyone. We just hope that 99.9% of our guests find our pricing very competitive. We also strive to provide hospitality that our guest find is one of a kind and worthy of repeating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We were exceptionally underwhelmed. Hospitality was frosty. Bed was lumpy. And the breakfast? Well, their webpage advertised tasty morsels such as:

"Honey Glazed Pears"
"Roasted Vegetable Fritatta"
"Lemon Ricotta Pancakes"
"Creme Brulee French Toast"

We got white toast with the butt-ends and scrambled eggs. Could have gone to Denny's and done just as well.

But more disconcerting, the room was $20 more than we were quoted over the phone AND we were charged an additional "4.5% convenience fee" for using a credit card. After consulting their website, I could find no mention of such a fee.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank e a e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCory, Owner at Inn at Horn Point, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
Dear guest, please be aware that this review does not follow TripAdvisor guidelines. This is the second review by a guest using a second log-on name. This family stayed with us only one time for only one night. The original review is titled "Not Family Friendly". One of both of these reviews may be removed shortly. Thank you for considering our Inn. We look forward to hosting your stay in Annapolis soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed at the Inn at Horn Point in February. For the price, I think I was expecting a little more. We stayed in the Captiva room, which was exactly as pictured. The bathroom is very small but completely adequate if you're OK with minimal counter space. The shower was nice and hot, and there were plenty of towels. The Captiva room itself was also small, but nicely appointed and cozy. There was only one chair in the room other than the bed; luckily for us we don't mind sitting on the bed to watch TV (which we ended up doing because the weather was miserable while we were there). The Inn is in a very nice neighborhood and we enjoyed taking a walk through it in the morning. It's only about a block from the water, although it's not like there is a nice beach to enjoy. There is plenty of on-street parking.

Cory was plenty nice, and generally left us to our own devices. We did ask him about restaurants in the area, and he was both knowledgable and helpful. We ended up taking him up on one of his recommendations. Our communication with him both before our trip and after was easy and straightforward.

The breakfast was 3 courses and "fancy" -- we had pineapple to start, lemon yogurt (particularly yummy), and then a frittata/omelette thing. Cory was very accommodating to preferences -- for example, the other couple had some allergies and he remembered them and went out of his way to point out that he had "cooked around" those allergies. The food was good, the portions small but not too small (if you know what I mean). It was a little awkward making conversation with strangers at the breakfast table - there is only one - but luckily we got along well with the other couple. I suppose that's par for the course at a B&B but I would have preferred separate tables. Or maybe some music in the background - when no one was talking, it seemed very quiet in there.

All in all, a decent experience but just short of the mark.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DelawareGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCory, Owner at Inn at Horn Point, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
We will also be in contact with these guests; but we wanted to say, in a public way, that we regret delivering anything but a stellar performance at our Inn. The first snag maybe was the price. Our web rates are based on a two night stay. For folks like these who only want to stay one night, we explain that we charge more one night; and they accepted the rate. By the way, we charge less than web rates for three nights....and even less for four, etc.

The next snag was breakfast where our guests observed that sitting with strangers is unique; but at the same time they observe that it might be the nature of a B&B. For all guests considering our Inn, we have eight possible seats around one table as well as a two seater off to the side, if you prefer not to interact. In the spring and fall, we also have outside dining available.

Our guests were not happy; and we will be in contact with them to see what else we could have done and to welcome them back for an experience that might be better catered to their needs. And we look forward to welcoming our readers to our Inn....very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2012

My girlfriend and I just spend 2 nights at the INN at HoRN Point and had a phenomenal time. Cory goes above and beyond to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, plus he's a great chef so your breakfast will be a treat too. He's very knowledgeable of the area and it's history so I suggest you take him up on any suggestions he has. There's easy parking and tons to do within a mile of the inn and a few great restaurants just blocks away.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel1582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCory, Owner at Inn at Horn Point, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. We know how busy everyone is these days; so your post to this site means a great deal to us.

We are so glad that your experience was so positive. And we agree that our location allows our guests the opportunity to enjoy all the Annapolis has to offer without the difficulty of parking...and without the congestion and hubbub that one experiences in other parts of the down town area.

We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.8 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.5 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.1 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#11 of 21 in Annapolis
870 reviews
1.4 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
843 reviews
3.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Horn Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Horn Point

Property: Inn at Horn Point
Address: 100 Chesapeake Ave, Corner of First and Chesapeake, Annapolis, MD 21403-3306
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 2002, Cory and Carol have welcomed over 23,000 guests from around the world to their convenient location with a noteworthy brand of hospitality. You should make a plan to visit their refreshingly charming, upscale Bed and Delicious Breakfast! The INN carries recognition from National Geographic Adventure Travel, USA Today, Coastal Living Magazine, Washingtonian Magazine and other national and international publications. Green practices highlighted by US EPA, Maryland Green Travel and Annapolis Green organizations. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing