We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff and very good Indian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Basmati

Basmati
Ranked #47 of 348 Restaurants in Annapolis
Cuisines: Indian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
MD
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and very good Indian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I think this restaurant has been open around 6 months. The staff is very friendly and helpful with recommending menu items. The decor is nice and a surprise since the restaurant is located in a strip mall. There is a decent size bar which has been busy both times we have gone. The tables seemed to fill by 6:30 on weekend nights. Everything we have tried has been very good and we will definitely be returning.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachbums87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    31
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pretty Darn Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was a long shot for us because finding good Indian Food isn't always easy. I am glad we tried it. The food was very, very good and the service was polite and attentive. It was a tad on the pricey side, but Indian Food always seems to be for some reason. Nothing to complain about value-wise though. Portions were generous and the food was exceptionally fresh well prepared. The ambiance was pleasant and clean. A winner in my book. We will be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank askulk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
202 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Friendly wait staff, decent Indian food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Very nice staff, decent food, clean place. Not the best Indian food I've eaten, but it was a nice evening and a pleasant introduction for my in-laws to Indian food. My main critique is that there was not enough breadth and depth with regard to the spices used.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gozzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Nice lunch buffet. Inexpensive but very flavorful. There are only two Indian restaurants in Annapolis. This is clearly the better of the two.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike21951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
1 review
“nica to see new indian restaurant in annapolis"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

we drive by the Basmati indian restaurant all most everyday but I notice two week ago that there is a another indian restaurant. So last thursday we celebrate our birthday there such a nice welcome by all the staff. we really enjoy the Tandoori mix grill, malai kabab, chicken tikka masala and paneer tikka with tandoori naan and garlic naan and nice bottle of wine. There was two girls who bring us nice desert. Such a wonderful dinner we had after bombay club. Thanks again for a food and most welcome service. We will be back next month.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basmati also viewed

 

Been to Basmati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing