We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Academy, see the museum”
Review of U.S. Naval Academy

U.S. Naval Academy
Ranked #1 of 91 things to do in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1845, this undergraduate college for the Navy prepares men and women to become professional officers in the U.S. Navy and Marine Corps.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Academy, see the museum”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Recently refreshed/ expanded. Model ship exhibit extraordinary. See Mr. Cheevers for sure, he's the museum director, lots of tales.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joanna29494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,774
    357
    62
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A must see!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Very cool historic journey through the U.S. Naval history. Entertaining for all ages, so glad we took the time to walk around. If you are a history buff, or interested in the Navy at all, don't miss this!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
102 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Got to go!!!”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Had a trip around the Us Naval accademy, wow what a place. Very interesting and imformative, watching the students move about was amazing. They are so regimented and polite, a couple of students spoke to us and were really pleasant.
Definately a must see!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank theboy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, Maryland
Level Contributor
496 reviews
257 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Worth Your Time”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This place is beautiful and steeped in the history of our nation. I am lucky enough to live nearby and I have enjoyed the magic of midnight mass at the chapel where you feel the ghosts of the thousands of young officers who have gone off to fight in our wars. The museum is a delightful chronicle of our history in far off lands and the architecture is monumental and the grounds are always alive with current members of the brigade. The Academy is active and part of town so a little planning will enable you to watch parades or scrimmages or my favorite - the first sailing lessons for all the new class who have never sailed before. It is a wonderful place and not to be missed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
440 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Awesome Place to tour - Don't miss it if you're in the DC or Baltimore area”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We go out of our way to tour the Naval Academy whenever we're in the area. The guided tours are grea, but even just walking around is fun. Don't miss the Chaple and John Paul Jones' crypt and try to time your visit so you can see Noon Meal Formation.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U.S. Naval Academy also viewed

 

Been to U.S. Naval Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing